We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This review is for the 16 Mile Restaurant & Pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stone Balloon Ale House

Stone Balloon Ale House
Ranked #25 of 353 Restaurants in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Brew Pub, Bar, Gastropub, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Center St, Near Academy
Description: The Stone Balloon Tavern and Concert Hall opened its doors in 1972 and rapidly became, as Playboy magazine once noted, “One of the 100 Top College Bars in America”. Delaware's premier live music venue, “The Balloon” hosted such iconic American bands as Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, The Allman Brothers, The Dave Matthews Band, and Metallica, as well as local favorite George Thorogood and the Delaware Destroyers. Fast Forward 42 years to the NEW Stone Balloon Ale House. Built on the sight of the iconic rock hall, the Stone Balloon Ale House features a unique blend of crafted food, exceptional beer, classic cocktails redefined, and an array of spirits – all flavored with a dash of nostalgia. Our culinary mantra is "Comfort Food Playfully Reimagined" and we prepare seasonal favorites that strive to please the palette and resurface a memory. Through local partnerships and genuine hospitality we offer an experience that honors both community and time. Stop by to see us on Throwback Thursdays, an homage to the old legendary Stone Balloon MUG NIGHTS. We may be new, but we haven’t forgotten our roots! Comfort Food…Playfully Re-imagined
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This review is for the 16 Mile Restaurant & Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I stopped in for a first time visit last weekend. We sat at the bar and found the beer menu to be very good. My husband ordered a bottle of the Corsendonk Agnus Tripel
which he enjoyed very much. $15 was reasonable. I opted for the 16 Mile Night Stalker Stout that comes in a snifter glass. This beer deserved to be sipped, not gulped. Beer price to me was average for craft style beers.

We did order lite fare from the bar - Asian Spring Rolls (2 small rolls for $9), and I had an Asian Salad (also $9). It had a lot of interesting ingredients, but I couldnt seem to find all of them. I'd say the price was most definately too high for the spring rolls, and slightly high for the salad. But I would say the menu was very interesting and worth a look.

Bartender was wonderful - he is getting married soon. We met some other - much younger - patrons that were friendly and sociable. We will certainly come back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrendaJean316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    35
    19
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
newark, delaware
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic upscale pub in Newark”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

If you are looking for an upscale pub in Newark with great ambiance, excellent beer, and very flavorful pub fare , look no further than 16 mile. It's a missing gem that Newark sorely needs. We had the Kettle Fries with crab, fondue, crab, and pulled pork..and it was absolutely awesome. Service was great. Enjoyed the seating. I do think the entree selection is limited, but the pub fare is where it's at. Go here & enjoy !

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank francoisdaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretentious Snooty Barman”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

I have never been to a pub where the barman made me feel it was a privilege for me to be in here and to be served by him. My first visit to this establishment was 2 years ago when looking for a friendly pub while on a
temporary job assignment for a local corporation. I found this place and the barman Joseph to be top notch and frequented the pub 3 or 4 times a week during my stay.Joseph was a great chap and excellent barman. So I decided to pop in on short visit to Newark to see my old friend Joseph. To my regret he was not working. So I decided to order a pint

anyway.The snooty barman on duty made me feel I was lucky to be able to drink in there.....I will not be back. Charles London.UK

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank linedog777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We were there last weekend for parents weekend and were hoping for a really nice meal. We were not impressed as we waited a long time for our food and half of their special pours of the night were already gone. It was a very limited menu for vegetarians and overall the food was just so so. Clearly NOT worth the prices charged. Our butternut squash soup came so thick it seemed like a dip. I do like the atmosphere, but perhaps over time the menu and management will improve !!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank j7d7f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We WON'T be back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a wonderful meal years ago at the Stone Balloon Winehouse...so we suggested to friends that we give 16 Mile a try. Positive comments...the brussels sprouts on dish were delicious, beet salad was good, I heard the burger my friend had was good. Negative...we are upstairs and it was way too loud. My friend ordered the corn soup...it never came til the meal arrived. When it arrived, it was red, so he questioned the waitress as to the soup and she insisted it was corn....it was most definitely not. When we told the waitress of the mistake she seemed puzzled as to what we were saying. The crab cake I had was a lot of filler. We ordered coffee which came out cold and bitter. We told the waitress who replied that it was just made and was steaming when she poured it. It was not drinkable. She did come back and offer us another cup, but by then we had had enough.
It is rare for me to feel that it is difficult to find something to eat, but that is how I felt when I saw the menu. If we were not with another couple, we would have left. There was not one dinner salad, or one with meat or chicken. The odd behavior of the waitress is something I have never experienced. What a disappointment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DelDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Balloon Ale House also viewed

 

Been to Stone Balloon Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing