We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We like to stay here on our way north and south on Rt 95. A very comfortable stay each time in a quiet area. Lobby and breakfast bar areas clean and inviting. Saw the pool but didn't have time to enjoy it....maybe some other time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

SusanP869,

Thank you for being a faithful guest to our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you continually enjoy staying with us while traveling on I-95. Please be sure to keep a little time aside on your next visit to enjoy our pool and jacuzzi.

Thanks again and see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 253 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed during UD Graduation weekend. For what it is, this hotel is virtually flawless. Feels like new construction, so rooms, lobby and breakfast area are all up to date.

Pool and hot-tub along with a small gym fit the needs of most travelers, and there's even an outdoor patio with couple of round tables and umbrellas.

For those wanting some late night grub, there's a 7-Eleven right across the road and Main Street by the school is only about 10 minutes away.

Room Tip: Vending machines are located on every floor except the 1st - so if that's a must make sure you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Chris V:

Congrats to the recent Grad and thanks for choosing our hotel for your accommodations.

We are so happy to hear that your family enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments are much appreciated.

Please come back again, if you visit Newark in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I came to visit with my wife for memorial day. We had a bike event we had to attend. The room was very comfy and clean even though it was a little warm when the staff was very polite one of them even remembered me when i stood there a few months back! That made my day i would definitely come back when i am in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TGlendswood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

TGlendwoods1,

Thank you for once again choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington-Newark. We always look forward to welcoming our extended family members back home! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a soccer event. It was clean, comfortable and good for kids. Breakfast bar was very well stocked and clean. Lots of good choices. Grounds kept up nicely. Pool looked inviting.
Not much to do in surrounding area of town, but the hotel was fine.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank MyAkitaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

MyAkitaBear,

We are glad that you chose our Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington-Newark! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again next soccer season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This hotel is very up to date, well appointed and with attractive décor. The room was large with a fairly spacious bathroom. It was very clean and well equipped. We were impressed by the friendly desk and b the reakfast room staff. We always try to stay at hotels with breakfast included and this location had a very good food selection. A plus for us was the windows could be opened a bit and allow the fresh spring air in to the room. This also presented the only small negative. There is considerable highway noise for the rooms facing freeway. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dan W,

Thank you for being our recent guest at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington-Newark. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were relocating for a new job and driving long distance. We had never stayed in a Holiday Inn Express before. We were pleasantly surprised by how nice this particular H-Inn-Exp was. Beautiful lobby, very nice room - clean, neat, well appointed, roomy, comfortable.

The staff couldn't have bee nicer or more accommodating. We'd stay again and did, in Smithfield, NC. Same thing. A bit smaller than the Wilmington-Newark, Delaware property but same as Wilmington.

You can't go wrong at either of these proerties.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micheal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Michael M,

Thank you for recently selecting our Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington-Newark Hotel. We are honored that you speak so highly of us. We hope you do come back to visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hotel is not horrible by any means. The room was pretty nice & clean. However, I had a poor first impression because we arrived around 3pm when we are supposedly allowed to check in, and when the one lady was helping us check in, her coworker said (to her), "That room isn't ready yet." She didn't say anything to US, or apologize, and kind of left the first lady to deal with it. We had to wait about 25 minutes in the lobby. This was not acceptable to us since we had a reservation - it wasn't a surprise that we were there. And I could have handled it better if they had been apologetic or acted like they cared. The only other comment I have is the breakfast was kind of gross. The pancake maker was out of service, and they had some kind of supposedly southwest omelets that were not freshly made and the stuff in the middle looked really unappetizing. Even the cinnamon roll I ate wasn't good. I hate to leave a nasty review - like I said the room was just fine.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Kelly L:

Thank you for being our recent guest. We have taken note of your comments and are continually looking into ways in which we can improve our guests experience. We hope you come back to see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
284 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
1.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Newark, DE
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall
4.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark

Address: 1201 Christiana Rd, Newark, DE 19713-3503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newark
#6 Business Hotel in Newark
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range: $110 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington - Newark is located directly off I-95 and State Highway 273. Our Wilmington - Newark hotel is conveniently accessible and is ideal for the corporate or leisure traveler. Our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 900 square feet of flexible meeting space, as well as free high-speed Internet access in all public areas and guest rooms. Other amenities include a 24-hour business center, buffet breakfast, indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi, fitness center and our very own Suite Shoppe. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, our hotel is centrally located to Astra Zeneca, Diamler - Chrysler, DuPont, Bank of America, Christiana Hospital and General Motors. We are minutes from the Christiana Mall and Delaware Park Casino & Racetrack as well as the University of Delaware and downtown Wilmington and Newark. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington - Newark strives to make every guest feel welcome, comfortable and at home. We are certain you will want to return again and again. When visiting the Wilmington - Newark area, select our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites as your preferred choice hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Wilmington-Newark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing