We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Wow - just wow!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We really didn't need to stay overnight so close to home, but decided to extend our trip in the Philly area and stayed here to do some shopping the next day at Christiana. Each staff member was unbelievably friendly and helpful. The hotel looks more like a lodge in the woods. Spacious lobby with comfortable seating and a nice warm fire. The breakfast was delicious and plenty of it too! Our room was enormous and spotless. We never heard any noise all night long thanks to their no tolerance noise policy.

I used to stay with another brand exclusively, but I think I will be making a switch permanently. The hotel was exactly as shown on the site. The pool is large, the workout room in good order. We even found a private patio out back to sit and enjoy their rose garden. Nice touch!

Thanks for the lovely stay!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Groovina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Groovina B,

Thank you much for enjoying our hotel recently. Although you did not have to stay so close to home, we are glad you did. Please come back in the spring to see our tulips out by the patio. They are more beautiful than the roses. See you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    78
    14
    1
    6
See reviews for
91
55
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
E. Stbg
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The desk service was great, We only stayed overnight but the room was not up to par. The bed linens were stained & the mattress was really hard. The pillows were very uncomfortable. I did not sleep at all that night. My husband checked out the "Free Breakfast" while I loaded the car with our luggage. He said it was not at all appetizing & refused to eat there, so we went to a nearby restaurant. I am sorry to say, I will not stay at this chain again.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dawn T,

Thank you for recently choosing to stay with us and for advising us of your displeasure. We certainly welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly, so we may discuss further these issues. I hope to hear from you soon and again we are truly sorry we did not live up to your standards.

Anthony Petro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed here for a week for business, and we were only 1 mile from the office and got a great price. Hotel was new and clean. The breakfast was good with a lot of variety. I enjoyed talking to the night desk clerks, who gave me a lot of information on local restaurants and helped our group book a reservation. They were amazing! There's a w/d on the premises and a fitness club. Great for me with the treadmill and TV, but it is very small. There's also a pool. I lost wifi and wasn't happy about that but found out that the password is changed every week, and I wish I'd known that. Also, the room temperature was fine, but it was getting a bit cool the last night, and only the fan worked. Not sure if the heat is turned off seasonally. I would love to return as it was clean, efficient, and had lots of free parking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Lisa A,

Thank you for your recent stay and for your great comments regarding our hotel. We certainly hope your business brings you back to Newark soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was my first stay at a Holiday Inn Express and I was pleasantly surprised. The service and quality of the hotel exceeded other similarly priced chains, in my opinion. The room was very clean and comfortable - loved the small fridge in the room. The staff were kind and welcoming - particularly Jimmy at the front desk, who made check in pleasant and easy. Breakfast was standard fare, but very good with a nice dining area to relax. The only small downside that I found was that there are not very many tv channels in the rooms. Not a major issue, but would have been nice to have more options. I will definitely return to this hotel in the future - clean, convenient, and friendly!

Room Tip: Try to avoid being near the ice machine if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jml433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
jml433,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for the first time recently. It is great to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Room was very clean and quiet. Location near highway, yet far enough to be free of the hwy noise. Breakfast average. Missed having a waffle machine and hot bacon/sausage(only warm). Turned off the HVAC system as we were in between seasons and unit was noisy and not working at the temp. desired. Turned out to have perfect room temp for the two days spent. The European systems for individual rooms are much superior to those so commonly found in our hotel/motels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnjd53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
johnjd53,

Thank you much for your comments. We appreciate you choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your comments and concerns.

We would certainly hope to see you again in your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel is all about the details. We've stayed in a lot of HIE hotels, and this one rates 12 on a 1 to 10 scale. The beautiful lobby greets you on arrival. The lovely spacious breakfast room is behind the fireplace with plenty of room for everyone and a high ceiling that reduces noise. The breakfast menu was excellent and had unusual selections that were well above standard. It has leather chairs for reading and relaxing at other than breakfast. The bathroom has built-in shelves for all your stuff so it's off the counter, and this is a personal favorite - soap dishes (no mushy soap all over). The room was super clean, bright and airy. The location is perfect for attractions in the Wilmington-Newark area. We highly recommend this inn and will be back for another stay!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Nancy S,

Thank you for your kind words. We are so happy to hear of your enjoyment, not only our hotel, but our Brand in general. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I have stayed in several HI Exp hotels and they are all about the same. That's why I keep going. The only complaint I would have that's consistent is the A/C unit. When it's on, the fan stays on whether it's cooling or not. Otherwise, I found the state of the room, staff, and breakfast on par for what I expect from HI Exp. I will plan to stay there if I find myself in that area again.

One comment, they are stuck in an odd location (dead end street), so you have to deal with a traffic light every time you want to go somewhere.

Room Tip: I liked being on the front side of the hotel, but I doubt there is a bad room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gadget665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Gadget665,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently. You comments are much appreciated and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
268 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
1.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
4.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Address: 1201 Christiana Rd, Newark, DE 19713-3503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newark
#6 Business Hotel in Newark
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington - Newark is located directly off I-95 and State Highway 273. Our Wilmington - Newark hotel is conveniently accessible and is ideal for the corporate or leisure traveler. Our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 900 square feet of flexible meeting space, as well as free high-speed Internet access in all public areas and guest rooms. Other amenities include a 24-hour business center, buffet breakfast, indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi, fitness center and our very own Suite Shoppe. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, our hotel is centrally located to Astra Zeneca, Diamler - Chrysler, DuPont, Bank of America, Christiana Hospital and General Motors. We are minutes from the Christiana Mall and Delaware Park Casino & Racetrack as well as the University of Delaware and downtown Wilmington and Newark. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington - Newark strives to make every guest feel welcome, comfortable and at home. We are certain you will want to return again and again. When visiting the Wilmington - Newark area, select our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites as your preferred choice hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Wilmington-Newark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing