We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great hotel near the highway. Nearly brand new, with fridge and microwave in the room. I often stay in the Holiday Inn Express and this location did not disappoint. The rooms are a nice size, the breakfast and business area were nice. It was also a much better value than the hotel next door. Jim at the front desk was extremely professional and courteous although I asked him a million questions. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UltimateTravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Ultimate Travelista,

Thank you for leaving such kinds words in your review. We do hope that you stop by again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 251 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were here for a Lacrosse Weekend at the University of Delaware so the Hotel was booked solid. We arrived earlier than planned and our room was available..The staff was first rate and the ammenities were terrific..The hotel was newly renovated and beautiful..We had asked for someone ot check our air conditioner as the tempertures were in the 90's when we were there and they were prompt to our request..Will stay again next year!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laxmomof3jboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

laxmomof3boys,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We certainly appreciate your comments and are very happy to hear you will be back next year. We look forward to seeing you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here while on a road-trip to North Carolina from Boston. I can say that this is the nicest Holiday Inn Express i've stayed at so far. The hotel looked newly renovated both on the outside and inside. The lobby was open and bright, and the breakfast room/sitting area was huge.

The staff at the front desk were courteous and very helpful. They also went out of their way to thank me for being a Priority Club Rewards member, which goes a long way. The room was very modern and clean, and the beds were comfortable.

We ate breakfast downstairs the next morning, and it was excellent. This wasn't just your muffins and juice continental breakfast. They had everything. There were eggs, sausage, biscuits, bagels, muffins, yogurt, fruit, and anything else you could want. Everything was hot, and nothing was empty. The woman in charge of breakfast that morning (7/6/2013) deserves a raise because everything was full, presented well, and delicious. Well done.

Easy on and off the highway, and a great value for the level of comfort and service that you receive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Evan M:

Thank you for visiting us recently. We appreciate your business and your kind words regarding our hotel and our staff. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I'm not normally a fan of Holiday In properties, since they can be inconsistent. I'm a Marriott Platinum and Hilton Honors Diamond member; they're my brands of choice since I travel almost full-time for work. But this property sets a new standard for the Holiday Inn brand. The property is new, which makes it nice, but the real charmer here is the staff. From the front desk guy who offered to let me into the exercise room after hours to the gentleman from the housekeeping staff who was vacuuming and stopped to smile and say hello, I was really impressed with this team. Kudos to their leadership team for encouraging (dare I say "allowing") employees to put customers first. A stand out hotel, this team won me over. IHG should be proud of this site!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstenmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Hi Kirstenmart,

Thank you for taking the time to speak so highly of us. We certainly appreciate it. It is great to hear that we have set a new standard for you and our Holiday Inn Brands. Please share your experience with coworkers and send them our way. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We booked 9 consecutive nights at various Holiday Inn Express hotels as part of our round trip from Toronto down to the Washington DC/Philadelphia area and back...

We spent nights 6, 7 and 8 at this Wilmington Newark DE location which had a room with 2 Queen beds as we were looking for (with 4 in our party)...

We had also reserved a roll away/cot so we could 'spread out a bit' and all have a more comfortable sleep; fortunately this was once again available on the night we arrived.

The one small improvement could have been a bit less `serious` front desk staff
- While they treated us with respect and relatively decently (especially as compared to the Clearfield PA location), it would have made a difference to our overall comfort at this location if they would have `lightened up`a bit!

Room Tip: Be sure to order an Italian meal from the restaurant recommended for room service - Our food was gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dave D,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel. Our management team has taken note of your recommendations. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very clean almost like new with very friendly staff, easy to ghetto from I95 and close to lots of restaurants. Comfortable bed. Fast Internet, refrigerator and microwave in the room and quiet, for hotels, a/c. Bathrooms are spacious with a nice sized shower. But alas, there are the flaws. The shower doors are very hard and noisy to open/close...they seem to be very inexpensive flimsy, outlet quality doors. But the biggest flaw is the adjustable shower head that many cannot reach. I am 5'9" and I could barely reach the adjustment ring..my shorter wife had no chance at all. If the spray pattern is set poorly by the last occupant, you are stuck with it. The hotel would be improved by just installing cheap non adjustable shower heads. In summary, a very nice hotel, but if you stay, check your shower doors and spray before you accept the room or you may be sorry in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

ghstudio,

Thank you for your recent comments. We thank you for your praises and suggestions. If in our area, please stop by to see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We recently stayed at this property and was very pleased with the accommodations. Staff is friendly, helpful, our room was very nice and the hotel over all is exceptionally maintained. The bed was very comfortable, bathroom looked brand new, I was impressed with the overall presentation of this hotel. They offer a full hot breakfast included in the price of the room. Definitely would do a return stay with them in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serenaesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Serenaesb,

Thank you for choosing and enjoying our Express Hotel recently. We are glad to hear of your satisfaction. Please come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
281 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
1.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Newark South
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark

Address: 1201 Christiana Rd, Newark, DE 19713-3503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newark
#6 Business Hotel in Newark
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range: $105 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington - Newark is located directly off I-95 and State Highway 273. Our Wilmington - Newark hotel is conveniently accessible and is ideal for the corporate or leisure traveler. Our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 900 square feet of flexible meeting space, as well as free high-speed Internet access in all public areas and guest rooms. Other amenities include a 24-hour business center, buffet breakfast, indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi, fitness center and our very own Suite Shoppe. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, our hotel is centrally located to Astra Zeneca, Diamler - Chrysler, DuPont, Bank of America, Christiana Hospital and General Motors. We are minutes from the Christiana Mall and Delaware Park Casino & Racetrack as well as the University of Delaware and downtown Wilmington and Newark. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington - Newark strives to make every guest feel welcome, comfortable and at home. We are certain you will want to return again and again. When visiting the Wilmington - Newark area, select our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites as your preferred choice hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Wilmington-Newark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing