We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with a fatal flaw”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very clean almost like new with very friendly staff, easy to ghetto from I95 and close to lots of restaurants. Comfortable bed. Fast Internet, refrigerator and microwave in the room and quiet, for hotels, a/c. Bathrooms are spacious with a nice sized shower. But alas, there are the flaws. The shower doors are very hard and noisy to open/close...they seem to be very inexpensive flimsy, outlet quality doors. But the biggest flaw is the adjustable shower head that many cannot reach. I am 5'9" and I could barely reach the adjustment ring..my shorter wife had no chance at all. If the spray pattern is set poorly by the last occupant, you are stuck with it. The hotel would be improved by just installing cheap non adjustable shower heads. In summary, a very nice hotel, but if you stay, check your shower doors and spray before you accept the room or you may be sorry in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

ghstudio,

Thank you for your recent comments. We thank you for your praises and suggestions. If in our area, please stop by to see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 250 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

We recently stayed at this property and was very pleased with the accommodations. Staff is friendly, helpful, our room was very nice and the hotel over all is exceptionally maintained. The bed was very comfortable, bathroom looked brand new, I was impressed with the overall presentation of this hotel. They offer a full hot breakfast included in the price of the room. Definitely would do a return stay with them in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serenaesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Serenaesb,

Thank you for choosing and enjoying our Express Hotel recently. We are glad to hear of your satisfaction. Please come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We had stayed at this location once before and had a great experience. This time was just as pleasant. The staff is helpful, the lobby and rooms are tastefully decorated and the entire property is spotless. The bed was very comfortable and all the linens where much more plush than I would expect from a HI Express.
A hot breakfast was also included in the room rate. A great added bonus that is almost impossible to find in this price point.
We stayed for 2 nights and I will certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlyssaO1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

AlyssaO1976,

So glad to hear you have enjoyed our beautiful hotel and have experienced the great quality and value that we offer. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel during our recent road trip; it was ideally suited for museums and Art Galleries in the Wilmington area and well located as a base for exploring parts of Delaware. The staff were extremely friendly, we appreciated the free hot breakfast and use of guest laundry. Our room was to a high standard and included a microwave and fridge. As a bonus, rather than a shower over a bath, we had a large walk in shower. Ample free parking was available.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRU2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

DRU2C,

We certainly appreciate your kind words regarding our hotel. We take great pride in our property and are excited to hear that our guests enjoy all that we offer. Hoped you enjoyed your entire road trip. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

In the 4 years my daughter has attended University of Delaware, we have stayed in most of the hotels in the area. Because it was graduation weekend, this was the closest place we could get to the university.

It was a little far from the university, but it was clean, up-to-date and the staff was great. There were 3 of us and I wanted a non-smoking room with 2 beds. There were none available when we made the reservation but the staff, especially Jimmy, went out of their way to make it work for us even though the place was packed.

They have a very nice breakfast for a mid-priced hotel which included a "pancake maker". I've seen the waffle machines before but this was the 1st automatic pancake maker.

I would recommend this hotel to friends, though I doubt we will need one in the area again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BILLG3505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Hello BILLG3505,

Thank you so much for your review and your acknowledgement of our staff member Jimmy. He is very happy that he was able to leave a positive impression of our hotel and service with you. Knowing we were able to meet your expectations is the best result of our commitment to you and all of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were in town for an ice hockey tourney and our team was able to get a decent group rate which also included an absolutely wonderful breakfast. Room was clean, spacious, and the hotel had an indoor pool(small),mini workout room, nice lobby seating area and a laundry room. The plus was the full buffet breakfast with eggs, bacon, sausage, yogurts, juice, milk, coffee, fruit, and a really cool machine that doses out pancakes at a push of a button. Having a good breakfast within the hotel saved us both time and money when traveling early to a game at the nearby Pond ice rink. Also free wireless Internet . Next time in town will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmcdUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Hello rmcdUSA,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We have stayed at this Holiday Inn location about 8 or 9 times in the past on our trips down south.
We always have had a great experience.
This visit we used out Holiday Inn points for our room.

The room was next to the vending and ice machines and besides the noise from the machines, we could hear a very loud rumbling motor noise all night going off and on . When we are traveling long distances we really count on a good night's sleep on the way and we did not get that.
The front desk was very professional in all our dealings. The hotel was sold out so we didn't want to ask to change rooms .

Room Tip: Do not get a room next to electrical equipment or vending/ice machines..rumbles all night and it wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M200789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

M200789:

Thank you for being our recent and returning guest. We certainly appreciate your comments and will look into the rumbling noise you experienced. we certaily hope we have the opportunity to have you as our guest again many more times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
280 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
1.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
4.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Newark South
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark

Address: 1201 Christiana Rd, Newark, DE 19713-3503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newark
#6 Business Hotel in Newark
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range: $110 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington - Newark is located directly off I-95 and State Highway 273. Our Wilmington - Newark hotel is conveniently accessible and is ideal for the corporate or leisure traveler. Our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 900 square feet of flexible meeting space, as well as free high-speed Internet access in all public areas and guest rooms. Other amenities include a 24-hour business center, buffet breakfast, indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi, fitness center and our very own Suite Shoppe. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, our hotel is centrally located to Astra Zeneca, Diamler - Chrysler, DuPont, Bank of America, Christiana Hospital and General Motors. We are minutes from the Christiana Mall and Delaware Park Casino & Racetrack as well as the University of Delaware and downtown Wilmington and Newark. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington - Newark strives to make every guest feel welcome, comfortable and at home. We are certain you will want to return again and again. When visiting the Wilmington - Newark area, select our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites as your preferred choice hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Wilmington-Newark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing