We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Comfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Delaware
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights recently while my husband was having surgery at nearby Christiana Hospital. One of the nicest hotels I’ve stayed in: clean, comfortable, cheery and quiet. Great breakfast buffet with a very large and pleasant eating area. Breakfast buffet was kept well-stocked by two very pleasant ladies. I’m a bit puzzled by a recent review saying there was not a big selection of restaurants and shopping nearby. Maybe because I’m familiar with the area having lived there until a few years ago, but, while not in walking distance, there are plenty of shopping and restaurants close by, including the Christiana Mall. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you need to stay near the hospital (you can get the hospital’s corporate rate with a voucher from the hospital), are going to a UD football game or have a student there (about 5 miles from campus), or planning an overnight shopping trip at Christiana Mall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cswy822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear cswy822:

Thank you for recently choosing our hotel while coming back to the area. We hope your husband is recovering quickly. It was great hearing your praises about our hotel and staff. We hope to have you as our guest again when you visit Newark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    77
    14
    1
    6
See reviews for
87
53
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here overnight on our way back from a wedding. We had a late check in due to the partying at the wedding, and after being IN the wedding, it had been a long day and we were exhausted. The hotel was a little tricky to find, but really not that hard, close to the highway (although I never heard it).The front desk staff was very nice, very understanding. The hotel itself was very clean, the beds were comfortable. I'm pretty sure I fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow, and I was so comfortable, I didn't want to get out of bed in the morning. The breakfast that was served was very impressive, mostly tasty, and hot. I wish every Holiday Inn Express was like this one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhinopotaphant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear rhinopotaphant:

Thank you for choosing our Express Hotel while in Newark. We are very delighted to hear of your satisfaction. Our management and staff strive to be one of the very best. Please stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Being a senior, I have used Trip Advisor since first getting a computer a few years back. The results are always the same - GREAT!! This was our 1st. visit to this Holiday Inn Express and everything was above our expectations. Front desk staff, room, breakfast and location suited our purpose well. We now have more than one choice for our trips to Delaware. Thanks Trip Advisor and Holiday Inn Express!!

Room Tip: Second floor, non-smoking king worked fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorieban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Hi Dorieban:

We are so glad you chose our hotel as your home away from home while in Delaware. It is our goal to exceed all expectations and ensure total guest satisfaction. We look forward to many more of your stays when visiting Delaware.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penngrove, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The rooms were clean and pleasant. The breakfast buffet was fine. I was there for 6 days, and the kitchen staff varied the items. The employees at the front desk were friendly and helpful, including giving good driving directions and letting me know which restaurants they frequented.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurahikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
laurahikes:

Thank you for sharing your feedback on our hotel. We appreciate hearing about the things that matter most to our guests. We hope you choose to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
155 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Our room and the hotel in general were very clean. This is probably the quietest hotel I have ever used! Had we not seen other guests we would have thought we were alone! Good breakfast although I wish there had been some fruit. Only complaint - and certainly not their fault - is that this hotel is hard to find using GPS!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notsogold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear notsogold,

Thank you for the kind words regarding our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your "clean and quiet" stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our weekend stay to visit our son at UD could not have been better. The faclity is new, clean and comfortable. The staff, from Nick at the Front Desk to the general manager could not have been more accomodating! Short ride to campus too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Kevin O:

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Newark. We are delighted to hear such kind words about our hotel and staff. We look forward to your next visit to Newark!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway, MA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked the room through hotwire and received a great rate. The hotel was very clean and the staff was helpful. The room was nice and the beds were comfortable We stayed here so we could move our son into University of Delaware the next day. It was about a 10 minute drive from the college. The breakfast was not very good. Your basic scrambled eggs, toast, biscuits, gravy, sausages etc...buffet style. I would give this hotel 3 1/2 stars if allowed but slightly better than average. I would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetsusan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
sweetsusan3:

Thank you for enjoying our hotel recently. We thank you for your comments and look forward to you choosing our hotel for many more future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn
1.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
4.1 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Address: 1201 Christiana Rd, Newark, DE 19713-3503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newark
#6 Business Hotel in Newark
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington - Newark is located directly off I-95 and State Highway 273. Our Wilmington - Newark hotel is conveniently accessible and is ideal for the corporate or leisure traveler. Our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 900 square feet of flexible meeting space, as well as free high-speed Internet access in all public areas and guest rooms. Other amenities include a 24-hour business center, buffet breakfast, indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi, fitness center and our very own Suite Shoppe. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, our hotel is centrally located to Astra Zeneca, Diamler - Chrysler, DuPont, Bank of America, Christiana Hospital and General Motors. We are minutes from the Christiana Mall and Delaware Park Casino & Racetrack as well as the University of Delaware and downtown Wilmington and Newark. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington - Newark strives to make every guest feel welcome, comfortable and at home. We are certain you will want to return again and again. When visiting the Wilmington - Newark area, select our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites as your preferred choice hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Wilmington-Newark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing