We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and updated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very clean and updated”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express was much like the other "new" ones- beautiful lobby with TV/fireplace, bigger breakfast area though standard food, and clean rooms with nice bathrooms. Enjoyed our night there. Front desk was also very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lawa306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Iawa306:

Thank you for your comments. After being open for just over 3 years, we enjoy hearing and pride ourselves in the cleanliness and "new" atmosphere we are still upholding. We hope you choose our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    78
    14
    1
    6
See reviews for
91
55
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chile
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My family and I stayed overnight and had a good nights sleep. The room was clean, had 2 queen sized beds and a hide away couch, all of which were comfortable. The room was large and the bathroom was clean. The hotel has two swimming pools as well as laundry which were helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
JamesDorchak:

Thank you for recently visiting our hotel and sharing your comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our indoor pool and Jacuzzi, and found our on-site laundry facility helpful. We hope that in the future you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Holiday Inn
1201 Christiana Drive
Newark, DE
Manager on Duty: Marcy Vaughn

I'm a priority club platinum member who decided to use my points for an overnight stay at the above location. My family and I travelled to Delaware for a wedding. We left our North Carolina home early enough to arrive for a 2PM wedding. Due to traffic we arrived at the hotel at 2PM.
At the service desk I was greeted by a gentlemen who took my information only to tell me "We had a full hotel last night and your room is not ready". On the wall next to the gentlemen was a sign displaying that check-in was at 3:00pm. I fully understand what the sign means but I did ask if he had anything other than the room I requested available. I explained that we were going to a wedding and my family needed to change and freshen up after being up since 5AM. He told me "We don't have anything but you can use our hotel bathroom to change". I asked him if he could ask housekeeping to fast track a room for me and he stated "We're not allowed to do that." I let the gentlemen know I was not going to let my family change in the hotel lobby's bathroom and we'd be back. We went to a local mall to grab a few things (we realized we missed the wedding and hoped to make the reception) and went back to the hotel. At this point it was 2:35PM and Marcy Vaughn the hotel manager was at the desk. I knew she was the hotel manager b/c it was displayed on the wall. I asked Marcy if our room was ready and she stated NO, it wasn't ready and that check-in was at 3PM. I told her I knew when check-in was but was hoping to get into our room to get changed for a wedding. She "looked" in their system and according to her "there are no rooms ready". I let her know she could cancel my reservation. She went into the system and cancelled my reservation and allowed me to walk out without a confirmation number. I took my family across the parking lot to the Comfort Inn, where we got a room, freshened up and changed for the wedding. (Here's where it gets interesting)
The next day, I was still steaming for the lack of customer service. Not to say I wanted a room right then but from the fact that neither individual seemed like they were even willing to try to help my family. Besides looking in the "system" nothing else was done. So I went back to the hotel since it was across the parking lot to make sure I got my cancellation confirmation number and Marcy was at the desk. I asked her for the confirmation number but this is how the conversation went.

Me: Excuse me yesterday when I came in my room wasn't available at 2PM and we left and came back at 2:30PM and it still wasn't ready.

Marcy: I know, I looked in the system and it didn't show anything available.

Me: So you mean to tell me that your house cleaning staff is going to clean an entire hotel in 30 mins b/c check-in is at 3PM?

Marcy: I don't know what housekeeping does down there. I look in the system.

Me: (Funny Look) But you're hotel manager and you don't know what your housekeeping does?

Marcy: I don't deal with housekeeping... Plus our check-in isn't until 3PM. They clean the overstays (people staying over) first and then clean the departures.

Me: (Funny Look) Don't you think that's a little backwards?

Marcy: <No Response>

Me: Thank you have a great day <walk out>

Now I'm not the smartest on the planet but there was A LOT wrong with this entire situation. The customer service was horrible. Not to say that I should have gotten a room but the fact that neither individual tried. What I would've done was call house keeping and asked if there were any rooms that were cleaned that hadn't been put in the system. I'm sure there were but neither individual tried (probably b/c they're not permitted to talk to housekeeping, now that's a problem).

So not only do they lose a sale of a room but they also get listed as having horrible customer service b/c they were lazy and didn't want to go the extra mile for a platinum member from out of town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DAS030994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
DAS030994:

Thank you for taking the time to explain your dissatisfaction with our service. We appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests and apologize for the inconvenience this situation caused you.

We attempt to provide superior service and accommodations to all our guests. We have taken the necessary action to ensure similar situations such as yours can be avoided in the future. We welcome the opportunity to improve in the future.

We sincerely hope that if you are in our area again, you choose to give us another opportunity to serve you.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Very very clean, immaculate! Attentive front desk staff, guest room was in perfect conditon. and the best breakfast (free!) in years. The scrambled eggs were freshly made, home made taste and texture.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Bernice S:

Thank you for the great review and for enjoying our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and the immaculate shape our hotel is in. We hope you choose our Express hotel again when in the Newark area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed here while we attended the NASCAR races in Dover. We couldn't have enjoyed our stay more. The staff we encountered were all very professional. The culinary staff gave great care to preparing and serving the complimentary breakfast. The dining area was always kept scrupulously clean. The desk staff provided great directions and tips for sightseeing. The housecleaning staff was very thorough and timely with their duties. Bravo!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bigheadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear Bigheadman:

Thank you for your recent comments about our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the races in Dover and hope you choose our Holiday Inn Express & Suites again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This place is superb. It is pretty new and it shows. The place is spotless, the rooms are plenty big and the bed is....OMG......seriously the best night sleep I had for months, and I have a good bed at home.

There is no bar or evening restaurant, but it does include a buffet hot and cold breakfast. It is amoung the best I've ever had at a hotel.

The local area doesn't have alot close by, but it is more geared towards business so that's fine. Saying that, a 10 minutes drive down the road you hit the "main strip" of newark and it is a pleasure. Pubs and restaurants delivery any need you are looking for.

Check in and check out were easy, this is my second visit and have never had to queue, the hotel is quiet, almost as if it's Delaware's best kepp secret (hotel wise).

It also has a Gym and Swimming pool, what more could you want?!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Chad C:

Thank you much for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are certainly delighted after reading how much you enjoy our hotel. We look forward to your next stay in Newark!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

The main purpose of my trip was to visit Delaware Park Casino and I noticed this property was a lot cheaper (50%) than the Hilton alternative for the dates I wished to visit.

Location:
There is also plenty of parking and is within 2-3 miles of the main entrance to Delaware Park so is ideally situated.

Bedroom:
Very spacious (in fact, I'm not sure they even need to big that big!), large comfortable bed and decent size tv with a few HD channels. Bathroom had a walk-in double shower and plenty of toiletries. I was pleasantly surprised to see that Wi-Fi was included in the room rate.

Facilities:
Walked past the pool to get to the gym. Was empty when I went and had 2 treadmills, 1 cross-trainer and (I think) a bike machine. Water machine and plenty of fresh towels, air-conditioned and a large tv all to myself.

Breakfast:
Buffet-style included in the room rate and eaten in the large dining area (which kind of reminded me of a large lodge/cabin). Bacon and omelettes were the hot food supplied along with lots of pastries, youghurts, breads, fruit, muffins, etc. What was even better was that I was able to take some food away in a take-away bag in preparation for my long drive.

Staff:
Pleasant staff. In the morning at breakfast, the member of staff was very courteous and even recommended I take some food away (I can imagine some staff in other hotels not being happy at guests taking away breakfast buffet food!!!). I managed to get a late check-out as I was running a little late - I was not made to rush.

Overall:
Excellent value. I have rated this 5, not because it is comparable to a 5* hotel (because it isn't), but for the category it lies in (a 3* hotel), it represents exceptional value for money and exceeds my expectations at that level.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pandaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear pandaexplorer:

Thank you much for the kind words and for enjoying our hotel. We hope you return and enjoy us everytime you are in the Newark, DE area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
268 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
1.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
4.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Address: 1201 Christiana Rd, Newark, DE 19713-3503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newark
#6 Business Hotel in Newark
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington - Newark is located directly off I-95 and State Highway 273. Our Wilmington - Newark hotel is conveniently accessible and is ideal for the corporate or leisure traveler. Our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 900 square feet of flexible meeting space, as well as free high-speed Internet access in all public areas and guest rooms. Other amenities include a 24-hour business center, buffet breakfast, indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi, fitness center and our very own Suite Shoppe. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, our hotel is centrally located to Astra Zeneca, Diamler - Chrysler, DuPont, Bank of America, Christiana Hospital and General Motors. We are minutes from the Christiana Mall and Delaware Park Casino & Racetrack as well as the University of Delaware and downtown Wilmington and Newark. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington - Newark strives to make every guest feel welcome, comfortable and at home. We are certain you will want to return again and again. When visiting the Wilmington - Newark area, select our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites as your preferred choice hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Wilmington-Newark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing