We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic buffet without the crowd”

Michael's Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 356 Restaurants in Newark
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A dining oasis - Breakfast Served All Day. Upscale Salad & Buffet Courts, Brick Oven Pizza, Salads, Burgers, Clubs, Specialty Sandwiches, Lighter Plates, Chicken & Dumplings, Stir Fry, Fajitas, Crab Dip, Stuffed Mushrooms, Steaks, Broiled Seafood, Crab Cakes, Pasta, Fried Chicken & Ribs, Ice Cream, Bananas Foster, Water Ice. Cocktails, Martinis, Wines & Ice Cold Draft Beers. Sports Bar with 8 big screen TV's. Take Out. Delivery 4-9 pm. DELICIOUS FOOD!
Delaware
Level Contributor
161 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Fantastic buffet without the crowd”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went on a Wed night and the restaurant had about a dozen tables around 5:30pm. The buffet was kept sparkling clean, tons of options including a perfectly cooked steamship round. Nothing like the crowd at old country buffet where you have to fight people to get food. Michael's food was better and the dinner buffet was only $13.99. You can eat that amount in just fried shrimp. For desert you can order bananas foster that comes with a mini waffle & ice cream. It was delicious. Me & my friend loved everything. The server was VERY nice & attentive. We didn't want for anything. They have a specialty pizza that I want to go back for. You should give it a try if you are looking for a dinner buffet and don't want people elbowing you. I also hear they have a great breakfast buffet that I want to try. Lemme know if you thought this review was helpful by clicking the YES button below. Thank you for reading!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ILuvVacationing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    56
    28
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fripp Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
218 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Wow, Never even got to Eat!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

There is no marked entrance to this place. After deciding to try it out ( Only a few cars in the lot ), We picked a door and entered. Wrong Door! Banquet entrance. OK, kept walking down the hall to the Host/Hostess station across from an EMPTY BAR at 3:30 PM! A Woman, whom I thought may be the hostess walked right by us as I said "Hello". She mumbled and kept walking. A minute later, a server walked right by us as I said "Hello", She said "Hello" and kept walking. A few minutes later, a Gentleman appeared at the Host Desk and stared at us. I said "Hello, we have never been here before, Do you have a Happy Hour?", He said, " Yes, we have Happy Hour Specials at the Bar", I said "Do you mind if we check out your buffet station, and salad bar?" , he said "Feel Free to". We Check out the Buffet, Dried out Fried Chicken, Dried out Beef at the Carving Station, half empty food trays, and a Woman turning over the Salads at the Salad Bar. We returned to the Host, Being Hungry, we thought we would sit at the bar, and order appetizers, and try their drinks. We took 3 steps from the Host, stood at the bar, Stared at the Host for 2 mins. No Bartender, No patrons, No "LET ME GET SOMEONE", Not even a "Get Lost!". Just friendly stares at the host. We decided to it was time to leave. SORRY FOLKS, NEVER GOT A CHANCE TO REVIEW, AND I KNOW I WON'T COME BACK! CHEF GARY

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChefGaryCurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great surprise!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Wish we had been hungrier. The service and the food were great. They were very busy, but took great care of us.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Good food and location to the hotels in the area. Amanda was our waitress and she was very efficient and friendly.
We had breakfast which is served all day, but I am sure the other meals are equally as good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kaaala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, Delaware
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's OK”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

the hot buffet is average.Their salad bar is wonderful however. The Tuna dill salad was delish ! I'd go back just for that.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Michael's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing