We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% Hell Hole!!!”
Review of Budget Inn

Budget Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Budget Inn
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in New Castle
Reviewed July 14, 2008

My mom and I recently stayed at this property on our way to Philadelphia. From the moment we pulled into the parking lot, we were very creeped out. This motel is located in a very shady part of town (we didn't know this ahead of time). The guy attending the front desk did not have a record of my reservation, but I showed him my confirmation number and rate quote, so he did oblige me. He then handed me a remote control for the television for me to take to our room (I've never seen this done before). As I was at the front desk, a dirty looking guy came into the lobby with what appeared to be a prostitue in tow. At this point, I should have canceled my stay and looked for somewhere else, but it was already 11:00 p.m. Our room smelled horrible (very musty and dank). The bathroom was very unsanitary in appearance and neither of us showered there because of the bad appearance. The carpet looked nasty, the bathroom sink was not cleaned properly and the bed linens on my mom's bed had a tear in one of the sheets and a cigarette burn on one of the pillow cases. There were several street walking women in the parking lot and they were there again in the morning when we checked out. I placed a wake-up call with the front desk attendant, but our telephone never rang the following morning! We felt very unsafe there all night long and couldn't wait to check out the next morning. Needless to say, I will be contacting the Choice Hotels group to complain about this property.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AlabamaTraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed June 14, 2007

It is not a 5 star hotel, nor does it claim to be. True, it is next to a relatively busy highway and is correspondingly noisy. My son plays premier soccer in PA and we travel all over the East Coast (New Hampshire to North Carolina so far with a FL trip planned for Feb '08). We have stayed in some very nice places and some VERY bad places. This Rodeway had everything we NEEDED - beds, shower, fridge, microwave and it was AFFORDABLE.

In fact, we are staying there again this coming weekend (June 16 & 17).

Stayed: October 2006
2  Thank BobSul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2007

My girlfriend and I were going up to Philadelphia to see her family for the holidays. When we got to the hotel, the person behind the desk was coughing so much, we both feared that she has a major cold or flu. After coughing in her hand, the person behind the desk grabbed our keys and remote with the same hand she coughed in and gave them to us. Needless to say, we used a can of Lysol to disinfect the items. when we got to the room, the floor was sticky, the refrigerator was dirty, the room was absolutely disgusting and the door was rusty and did not close properly. The next night we stayed, I walked out to my car to get something, and I was approached by a gentleman offering me something to "make me feel good". The next morning, I went to get our "continental breakfast" and pulled 2 stale doughnuts out and got coffee out of a machine that probably was never cleaned. when I went to grab the doughnuts, I saw two little antenna sticking out from under the pastry. It was a cockroach looking back at me, and needless to say, I lost my appetite. Because of this experience, I will never stay at a Rodeway Inn, and will never pay for a hotel that I have to clean myself before I walk into the room. It was the most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mic99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2005

Don't stay here EVER. It's in a horrible part of town. We were kept awake by the sounds of people arguing and fighting all night, not to mention the police who came by to break up a fight. The room smelled. The continental breakfast we were promised were a handfull of stale donutes. Not only will I never stay in this hotel again, I'll never, ever stay at another Rodeway Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jcarnes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Skyways New Castle
0.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel - The Belle
Clarion Hotel - The Belle
#6 of 12 in New Castle
160 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington New Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Days Inn Newark Wilmington
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Wilmington South
Sheraton Wilmington South
#1 of 12 in New Castle
362 reviews
5.5 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn

Address: 3 Memorial Dr, New Castle, DE 19720-1310
Location: United States > Delaware > New Castle
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range: $64 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Budget Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn New Castle
New Castle Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing