We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great”
Review of Super 8 New Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 New Castle
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in New Castle
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    26
    30
    19
    10
See reviews for
42
25
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Easy to find but off a very busy highway. Plenty of restaurants off the highway. Gas stations and shopping strips off side roads. If you need to go the opposite direction on the Dupont Highway from the motel you will need to take a U-turn which is fine early before traffic and on the weekends. Parking lot is a bit of a tight squeeze backing out of the spaces. The staff is friendly and nice. They do not have area maps available tho so you will need to stop at the tourist center or download your app.
The rate included a continental breakfast of choices of 2 types of cold cereal and milk, oatmeal, oranges, apple or orange juice, Activa yogurt, pastries, toast and jam besides coffee or tea. There are only a few tables in the breakfast area; however, you can always take to your room. Our room was clean and spacious with a king size bed. Window overlooked a parking lot. Nice size working refrigerator in the room. Also had a microwave. Regarding the tv, be aware that after you watch it the first time and then shut it off, each time that happens you need to call the front desk to learn how to reprogram it again for the direct tv to work or you will only get channel 3. We aren't big tv watchers so we didn't bother. The mattress was very firm and the pillows were very plumpy. This is great for a back sleeper so hubby slept well, not so much for a stomach sleeper like me tho. The bathroom was fine with everything in working order. They give you 2 small soaps and one bottle of shampoo. It is nice they are name brand toilettries.
There is a fire station next door and the one night early in the AM the siren did go off. It woke us up but not in a startling sort of way. I did hear the person staying across the hall from us open and shut their door loudly a few times so I don't know if they were freaked out by it or not. The front desk does warn you about the siren before checking in. We didn't think it was that bad.
What we liked the most about this motel was how convenient it was to everything. The Delaware Park casino was a short ride and historic New Castle was only a few minutes away. Driving to Nemours and Hagley Museums were reasonable as well as long as you didn't travel during rush hour. Downtown Wilmington was also an easy drive.
Wishing you safe travels!

Room Tip: They take Triple A discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank joyceTL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramesh P, General Manager at Super 8 New Castle, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thanks for your review and once again I am look forward to host you again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Adams, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The rooms were clean and neat, Nicer than we expected for a such a good price. Siren wasn't that bad at all. Right in the downtown. Close to restaurants and gas stations. Friendly staff and service. Will be staying there again soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramesh P, Manager at Super 8 New Castle, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thanks for staying with US. We will keep improving our hotel.
Ramesh Patel (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Hotel is off the beaten path and I was expecting it to be quiet. The first night at 11 PM a siren went off for about 45 seconds. Woke me up and wondered what it meant. The next moring at 5:30 AM, the siren went off again. When we returned from our trip to Philadelphia and upon returning, I asked what the siren was about. It appears there is a fire station next door and when they get a call, they sound the siren. Second night was without incident, but beware of this challenge.
Also, the road is heavily traveled and it is hard to get turned back to I-95 or to go North if that is your destination. Other than that, the room was clean, although small, maybe 4 people maximum in the two beds.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank x666dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramesh P, General Manager at Super 8 New Castle, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
As we know we are next to volunteer Fire Station so we expecting Siren went off but only when
Big Fire erupt in neighborhood as you said it was for first night only, next night was quite for you..
Believe us it wasn't everyday issue...and thanks for complements for clean room...and we are
now Refresh our property as per Super 8 Innova8te standards...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Skyways New Castle
3.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel - The Belle
Clarion Hotel - The Belle
#4 of 12 in New Castle
157 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington New Castle
6.5 mi away
Super 8 Pennsville/Wilmington
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Wilmington South
Sheraton Wilmington South
#1 of 12 in New Castle
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 New Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 New Castle

Property: Super 8 New Castle
Address: 215 S Dupont Hwy, I-95 Exit 5A to Rt 141, New Castle, DE 19720-4141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > New Castle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 New Castle 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do Not Allow PET in our Hotel. This Property is not PET friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Super 8 New Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Castle Super Eight
New Castle Super 8
Super Eight New Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing