We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family style seafood”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Arner's Family Restaurant
Ranked #86 of 131 Restaurants in New Castle
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Family style seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have been going to Arner's for at least 20 years and don't even have to look at the menu today as their broiled crab cakes are superb. They also have a combo crab/scallops/shrimp entree which is excellent, but NObody else has crab cakes like Arner's.
Years ago the waiting lines stretched out into the parking lot but I-95 has taken the traffic away from US 1-13, so,, ,sadly, that is nio loginer so. Their seafood would still be worth a wait.
Pies are also choice, we almost always bring home a coconut custard because with the well stocked salad bar we never have room for dessert.
They also serve a mean breakfast.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank starberry2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    24
    18
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsville, New Jersey, United States
1 review
“Set the GPS!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and i go to Arners every Monday for lunch, and everytime we go there we have a wonderful experience. Service with Cheryl is always a pleasure and the food is excellent or we would not be regular customers. Definatley should be a permanent stop on you GPS if you aare travelling or a local!! Great food and great fun!!

JT and wife

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JT1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsville,nj
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“horrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have tried to give this restaurant try after try and every time I am very disappointed. The hostess no matter who it is is always rude and gives bad customer service. The food is ok. The service at this place stinks.For example, I asked for the prices of the desserts in the front and the girl behind the counter told me I can look the prices up on line. So much for buying something right then and there. These people would not know good customer service if it bit them on the butt.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank katkev2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Forget it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Tried it out as a possible alternative to the Golden Dove when driving between Washington and New York. I could swear I ordered a fried-fish sandwich with french fries. What I got was literally fish and chips -- a fish sandwich (small, on a burger bun, poorly presented with the piece of fish warped) and a handful of potato chips on the plate. That's all. The bill said Fish and Chips for $8.99. Ordered a piece of pie to try to salvage the visit. It was ok, and generous in size, good enough to raise the rating from Terrible to Poor. Service was good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suburbanmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

The only Arner's left that is properly run. They were sold off a few years ago. The new owners of the one on Route 13 in Delaware do a good job. They were running while it was still really an Arner's Restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rev_Dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arner's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Arner's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing