We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeds expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Wilmington South
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Castle
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Sheraton Wilmington South has a very well-appointed rooms that resemble those found in Starwood’s companion Westin brand. The front desk and bar staff are very friendly and I was very pleased with my junior suite. The hotel is located by itself just off I-95, so be aware that there is nothing walkable around the hotel. Although TripAdvisor sorts the this property as a New Castle hotel, if you are driving, it is one exit on I-95 and minutes way from downtown (and giving Wilmington's poor cab service, virtually all business travelers will need a rental car). Given the limited dining options in downtown Wilmington, this hotel is a very good option.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TouringLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Wilmington South
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 360 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

With Frontier Airlines starts service to Wilmington New Castle Airpot, I need a hotel with shuttle service that is closed to the airport. Sheraton Wilmington South is not disappointing and the staffs are very friendly. I had a nice chat with the driver on the way to the hotel and on the way back. The restaurant inside the hotel serves decent food and the staffs are reasonably friendly. Wilmington/New Castle Airport has limited food options and Frontier does not sell fresh food on board anymore, so food in this hotel becomes very important. I had two meals here and was not disappointed. The price was a bit high but it was an hotel. The only negative aspect is that there are really nothing much doing on around the hotel and nothing was within walking distance. This hotel also hosts the crews of Frontier Airlines, and when the shuttle is carrying the crews, they are not allowed to pick up passengers. I hope the hotel is able to work out the issues now, but there might be a bit of wait for shuttles, and departing passengers may have to head to the airport earlier. New castle airport is really small with nothing so most passengers will want to wait till the last minute before heading over. The room is nicely decorated and look very new. Wifi works pretty well! A good Sheraton!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just returned from a one night stay at this property. All I can say is BRAVO! This was easily the best Sheraton or even Starwood property I have ever stayed at, and I've been to quite a few within the US. Although its location is odd, right off I-95 in the middle of nowhere, there are plenty of stores, businesses, and restaurants within a 5-10 minute drive. Not a big deal. As far as the hotel, it was classy and five star all the way. Everything with superbly clean, tidy, and in great condition. The lobby was expensive, with glass elevators and a 6 story ceiling. The rooms were a very fair size, and come with free wi-fi (rate for a Sheraton).

Overall, the rooms were immaculately clean, and the bed was to die for. The best linens and sheets I've ever slept on!

I got access to the SPG lounge level for being a Gold member, and the breakfast was superb--plenty of choices like eggs, bacon, pancakes, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit, etc. There was even an Starbucks espresso/latte machine in the lounge which was a great touch. For the evening reception, they had steaks, crab cakes, vegetable platters, fresh fruit, and more. Very well done. Most importantly was the staff.

Every staff member was happy to be working for that hotel, and was proud of its accomplishments. In fact, this property was rated the best Sheraton in the 50 United States last month! In the middle of Delaware. I enjoyed talking to Michael at the front desk, who helped me out a few times with questions, an upgrade, and telling me more about the hotel. He was a real asset to the company and hope he is recognized for his obvious dedication to Sheraton and this property in particular.

We'll definitely be back in a heartbeat--especially since there is no sales tax in Delaware. Great shopping nearby!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room to keep the noise down.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WDWFan1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I was here over a series of 5 days with a group. To say that we were treated like royals would be an understatement. The best thing about this was that looking around, other guest were treated the same exact way. The food was great, service, and the beds VERY comfortable!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We love to stay at this venue when in Wilmington, Delaware. Recently, due to Frontier Airlines' improved service to the nearby airport, this hotel has become even more popular. The staff is excellent. Maggie Farren at the front desk always has a great smile and welcome! We can only hope that they keep up the high standards for professional, yet friendly, service!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lheifetz33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I had the opportunity to visit this hotel as I served as a musician for a "Wedding" on Sunday September 1, 2013. I had never been to this Sheraton hotel but it is now on my list of places to stay. When I arrived on Saturday I was Greeted by a young lady named Ms. Abha, she was very welcoming and friendly to me, and very knowledgeable about the facility in addition local area. My room was very clean and located directly over the location of the court yard where the wedding was to take place. Upon checkout I managed to meet Ms. Abha again whom once again had a winning personality and I had a smooth and easy checkout. Great Place to stay when visiting the PA, DE, NJ, MD area!!!!! Did I mention the I had a Suite Awesome!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the courtyard the view is much better then that of the Highway
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Syn4nyb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stay at this hotel frequently as my daughter goes to the local university. Ms. Murthy, a front desk representitive has consistently remembered my family, my preferences (Gold Starwood) and has even given us some great local restaurant choices. The hotel overall is excellent, clean and very friendly staff.

Ron

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Reuven_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington New Castle
5.0 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
5.1 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#2 of 13 in Wilmington
127 reviews
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Wilmington South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Wilmington South

Address: 365 Airport Rd, New Castle, DE 19720-1007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range: $118 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Wilmington South 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Wilmington South Hotel is near I-95 and Newark, Delaware. Our hotel has 143 guest suites; an indoor pool; and 9,000sq ft of meeting/event space, complemented by a gorgeous outdoor terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Starwood, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Wilmington South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing