We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Wilmington South
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Castle
GreenLeadersGold level
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
“Good value”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night for our trip to Philadelphia and DC. Compared to the hotel prices in Phil and DC, this Sheraton was apparently a good deal.

Abha helped to give us two quiet rooms. We were also upgraded to Junior suites, which are really sweet for a family travelling with a baby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jokertsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    97
    36
    15
    17
See reviews for
90
87
19
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed Monday August 19th. We made late reservation via internet using our phone at close to 8pm. We were able to reserve a room with no problem. The lobby was busy with business travelers and guests eating at the open eating area not far from the front desk. We were checked in without a problem. The rooms were clean and with nice decor. The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! Didn't encounter the staff after check in. The hotel was quiet. Overall, I have no complaints and would definitely stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FirstStateLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were making our way up 95, and decided to stay here so we could explore historic New Castle just a few minutes down the road. We had a beautiful, quiet corner room on the side of the hotel overlooking the marsh and the sunrise. Great beds, bedding, furnishings - new and clean. Only minor complaint: the staff seemed totally unfamiliar with the historic Swedish-Dutch settlement down the road, and this was spectacular as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one, on the marsh side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesStFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Nice and relatively new hotel, with large rooms and several suites. Not much to complain about. However be aware that traffic noise can be an issue due to the proximity to several highways. In addition we found the club lounge rather dull, e.g. no windows/views, loud 80s music, minimal offerings (some yogurts in the fridge - but no spoons or other utensils) They did not even serve breakfast there, but as starwood platinums we were given coupons to the main restaurant.(where we had a decent breakfast.) And lastly, the water pressure in the shower was REALLY weak.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jens h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I recently was visiting our office in New Castle, DE and had the wonderful opportunity to stay at the Sheraton Wilmington South in New Castle for 3 nights. My room was beautiful and quite! The food in the restaurant was so delicious! The decor was fabulous! The elevators were quick! My co-worker traveling with me worked out every morning and enjoyed the fitness center. She said the treadmills were great! Free bottled water in my room was a pleasant and unexpected surprise but very welcomed! The best part......complimentary Starbucks coffee station near the front door! Wow...this says it all! Thanks!

Room Tip: The service in the morning was outstanding in the restaurant. First Class!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Wilmington is one of those cities that has strong business workings but totally dies on the weekend. Thus some good deals are to be had. Nice hotel, nice pool and facilities. Clean and overall great place to stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teejaywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family and I were looking for the best place to stay for our family reunion this past weekend! We found this hotel and man! From the time we checked in they were continually cleaning! This is one of the cleanest hotels we have stayed in and believe me we have had our share throughout the years! The suite was spacious with one of the kewlest carpets I have ever seen! Staff awesomely friendly and made you feel welcomed each time you returned from a short journey in town! Access to each highway was great.....I am from Wilmington but enjoyed the fact that I could get anywhere relatively easy from the hotel. Great Job of bringing a new standard of quality to the greater Wilmington area!! You should be proud!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klhawkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington New Castle
2.2 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
3.8 mi away
The Westin Wilmington
The Westin Wilmington
#5 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
3.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Wilmington South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Wilmington South

Property: Sheraton Wilmington South
Address: 365 Airport Rd, New Castle, DE 19720-1007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Wilmington South 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Wilmington South Hotel is near I-95 and Newark, Delaware. Our hotel has 143 guest suites; an indoor pool; and 9,000sq ft of meeting/event space, complemented by a gorgeous outdoor terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Wilmington South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing