We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Wilmington South
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Castle
GreenLeadersGold level
richmond
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

What can I say, but beautiful hotel....we were upgraded to a junior suite. Not sure why but why question it? The hotel itself was beautiful inside and out. Not sure if this was a new hotel but if not, it did look like it. Very friendly and personable hotel staff and the bed felt like sleeping on a cloud. What kind of mattress is on the bed? Would really like to know. Got this off of hotwire and the price was right!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaGreta a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy C, General Manager at Sheraton Wilmington South, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear LaGreta a-
Thank you very much for staying at the Sheraton Wilmington South! We are very glad we were able to surprise you with a upgrade to a Junior Suite, all upgrades are based upon availability so we are more than willing to upgrade our guests as long as we are able! To answer your question, we are a new hotel, next week will actually be our 1 year anniversary! The shell of the building is over 10 years old, but the hotel has never seen guests until December of 2011 when we opened, after we completely re-constructed the inside of the hotel.
I am very glad you felt welcomed to our property, our goal is to make our guest feel part of a warm and welcoming community. The mattress you inquired about is the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed by Sealy, if you enjoyed it as much as it seems, they are available for purchase at www.Sheraton-hotelsathome.com!
I am excited to hear you had such a great experience and I hope we are able to provide that again for you in the near future!

Warm Regards,
Jeremy C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    97
    36
    15
    17
See reviews for
90
87
19
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here due to Hurricane Sandy on 10/29/12. My job is in the area and critical employees had rooms booked for them. Not really much in the area, but there is really no reason to leave the hotel. First of all, this hotel Is beautiful. I live in Wimington and was curious to finally get to see what this hotel had to offer(this building was built about 12-15 years ago and never opened until recently). Staff was pleasant, rooms were huge and clean. Great pool, gym, and the lobby sells just about anything you need. The on site restaurant/bar was excellent. I had the best jerk buffalo wings ever! The only downside was the ceiling in a section of the lobby did have a leak due to the terrible storm. A co worker of mine also had to be moved to another room due to winds and water splashing in a window in her room (window wasn't installed properly). Also we had to drive through the grass due to the road being shut down from flooding (this hotel is in marsh area). I would definitely stay again.....the double rooms are fantastic, they include a living room area between the adjoining rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drob1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinaker M, Manager at Sheraton Wilmington South, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear drob1121-
Thank you for staying with us at the Sheraton Wilmington South, despite the circumstances. We are glad that we could be a refuge to the workers in the Wilmington area amongst Superstorm Sandy. We appreciate all the kind words you have about our property, amenities, and our associates.
A guest of our hotel said once "the true mark of a hotel is not their issues, but how they handle those issues," and you saw firsthand how Superstorm Sandy effected our hotel and your stay, but my hope is that our staff handled the situation in a manner that still made your stay as well as your co-workers stay still enjoyable!
Thank you for staying with us, and we hope you can stay with us again soon, without the drastic weather conditions!

Warm Regards,
Dinaker M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed here Saturday night October 20th for the first time. I thought I made reservations to stay at a night club-sarcastically speaking of course. My room was literally shaking from the loudest music you could ever imagine and I was on the fourth floor. I had to get up at 4 am to drop my daughter off at the train station in Wilmington DE. If I didn't get there at 10:00 pm as it was, I would have left in a second. They had a reunion that had the music BLASTING until 1 am. I got 3 hours of sleep!!!!

I should have stayed at a MOTEL 6 or HOLIDAY EXPRESS. It would have been cheaper and I would have been able to SLEEP which is the reason we stay at a hotel isn't it!!!???

WORST EXPERIENCE EVER!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynco82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinaker M, Manager at Sheraton Wilmington South, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear lynco82-
I am very sorry for your experience with us! It was not acceptable for your stay with us to be unpleasant, as a guest of our hotel you are entitled to Peace and Quiet.
Many weekends we do have events occurring in the hotel due to the 9,000 sq feet we have of banquet space. Our Front Office team strategically tries to place our guests not affiliated with the events away from the banquet spaces. I am sorry, we did not anticipate that being on the 4th floor was not high and far enough away.
We agree with you, hotels are for guests to relax and sleep, and we ask that should you come to Wilmington again, that you would give our hotel another try. Aside from the noise, we hope that the rooms met your expectations, and that our amenities were up to par. Should you choose to stay with us again, please reach out to our Front Office team and we would love to help make your future stay meet yours and our expectations!

Thank you for staying with us!

Warm Regards,
Dinaker M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownsmills, nj
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

the rooms were very roomy, large screen tv in beedroom and living room as i call it. plenty of space. did not hear any noise in halway. not that there was any out there. theres really nothing around the hotel store wise have to travel 5-6 miles. front desk very helpful with directions and printing them out. (rt-13 has all kinds of stores) there was a blind spot on one side of hotel if driving to the parking lot. use the back side and you avoid that. there was plenty of parking. the front desk area opens right to the 6th floor. a sittting area with a very large screen tv. if you want to sit there to watch sports. there is a restaurant there. i didnt use it. check in went quick and easy. the gym area very roomy and has a fair amount of equipment and bottled water for free. the pool water was cold. ask the front desk they will send a mait. person to turn up the heat. but does take a little time. plenty of towels there. the hot tub more set up like a spa. i would expect the jets to be better. water was hot and i did use that. there was a pool party the night we were there. the adult did keep them under control. still a lot of noise.the only real negative i had. the refrigerator door feel off when opened. overall was a very nice place to stay and with the internet travel web site price i got. it made everything perfect. i would stay there again

Room Tip: stay on the top floors. less traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinaker M, Manager at Sheraton Wilmington South, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear armydriver-
Thank you for staying with us! I would say you gave one of the most detailed summaries of our hotel I have seen besides our website! It sounds like your experience was very smooth and memorable for yourself.
I am glad you were able to enjoy all the amenities of our hotel, from the 37" LCD TV's in our rooms to the ample parking. I apologize for the guests in the pool area and the fridge, please feel free to reach out to our Front Office team with any concerns at any time, we are more than willing to assist you however possible!
We are glad that you would stay with us again and we hope you do so again!

Warm Regards,
Dinaker M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel rooms are big and nice and well equipped. The service is good. The only issue it's an hotel where people are passing by. Most of the time there is no life in the commun area. But in general I would recommand this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doms1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinaker M, Manager at Sheraton Wilmington South, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Doms1977-
Thank you for staying at the Sheraton Wilmington South and giving your feedback about our property! We are glad you were able to enjoy the accommodations of our rooms and our guest service. Our sales team has been hard at work for your feedback about the common areas of our hotel, Sheraton as a brand has the same concerns as yourself. To help enjoy your stay with us more, especially as a business traveler, we have started a daily event called "Sheraton Social Hour." Every week, Tuesday through Thursday, our guests are invited to come to the bar to enjoy Sheraton Social Hour from 4:30-7:30pm. Sheraton has teamed up with Wine Spectator to offer 90+ variety wines at 2oz. tastings, it has definitely improved the overall experience for our guests! If wine is not your preference, Like us on Facebook "Sheraton Wilmington South" and we frequently post events we are having in the hotel, hopefully while you are staying with us, like Karaoke nights!
Thank you very much for your feedback, and we hope you choose to stay with us in the future to enjoy these events we are hosting!

Warm Regards,
Dinaker M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We travel quite a bit and find that reasonable hotels in the smaller towns are just adequate. We were pleasantly surprised that this is a very nice, new modern hotel. It even has a pretty view --
if you look past Interstate 95....
Abha at the front desk, as others mentioned, was so nice and welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hinda3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinaker M, Manager at Sheraton Wilmington South, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear hinda3-
Thank you for letting us be an accommodation to your frequent traveling!
As you mentioned we are a newly opened hotel, it will be our 1 year anniversary in early December, and we are glad you were a part of this journey we have been on! Our guests love that our rooms can overlook the Wetlands, the Wilmington skyline, and some guests have even enjoyed the view of I-95, to each their own! We appreciate the feedback you give to us, especially about our associates, Abha is a very personable Front Office Associate, and we appreciate her truly! Thank you for taking the time to point her out!
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Warm Regards,
Dinaker M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have been coming to Sheraton South for Four days a week for past 3 Months. it is an excellent hotel to stay in. The staff is wonderfull specially Abha Murthy always has a nice smile and ready to check you in no time. Sheraton South has nice swimming pool and a gym. I would recmond this hotel to everyone whoever are visiting DE.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akhlaq a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinaker M, Manager at Sheraton Wilmington South, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear akhlaq a-
Thank you for being such a loyal customer of the Sheraton Wilmington South! We appreciate guests that are loyal to us, in hopes we can be their "home away from home."
Our Associates are the pride and joy of our hotel, our goal is to give you the best experience possible! Abha is a fine Guest Service Associate and we appreciate her willingness to care about our guests!
Thank you for your nice words about our hotel and our associates, we look forward to seeing you next week and the week after!

Warm Regards,
Dinaker M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington New Castle
2.2 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
3.8 mi away
The Westin Wilmington
The Westin Wilmington
#5 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
3.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Wilmington South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Wilmington South

Property: Sheraton Wilmington South
Address: 365 Airport Rd, New Castle, DE 19720-1007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Wilmington South 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Wilmington South Hotel is near I-95 and Newark, Delaware. Our hotel has 143 guest suites; an indoor pool; and 9,000sq ft of meeting/event space, complemented by a gorgeous outdoor terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Wilmington South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing