We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whimsical atmosphere, creative cuisine”

Krazy Kat's at The Inn at Montchanin Village
Reserve with OpenTable
Krazy Kat's at The Inn at Montchanin Village is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Montchanin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rockland Road
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
434 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Whimsical atmosphere, creative cuisine”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

This was our second visit to Krazy Kat's, the on premises restaurant at the Inn at Montchanin Village. The prices were comparable to upscale restaurants in the area. The atmosphere is unusual and inviting. Waitstaff was attentive, and knowledgeable in describing the dishes. We shared an excellent eggplant appetizer, followed by excellent, creative entrees. Crab cakes were great, with no fillers. We returned the next morning for breakfast, which was served in a different, bright, cheerful room. Should mention that the restaurant is housed in an antique, restored blacksmith's shop. Breakfast also offered interesting options, and for those with a smaller appetite, side dishes of two eggs for just $3.00. Coffee, however, seemed disproportionately priced at $4.00. However, all in all, a good dining experience, both dinner and breakfast.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyQu15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    64
    22
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not just for Kat Lovers!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Had dinner at Krazy Kat's based on a recommendation from a staff member at Winterthur. It was very good. The atmosphere was casual and the service was good. They offer two sizes of their entrees. The smaller option with a salad or soup is a light yet filling dinner. After a day of touring Winterthur, the quiet relaxed dinner was a welcome end to the day. If you find yourself in the area, check it out.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not worth the money.”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Had dinner recently at Krazy Kat's. While the food was certainly adequate, it was nothing special and was quite pricey. I had the salmon dish with shaved asparagus, mango quinoa salad and a tropical salsa. The amount of asparagus was equivalent to about half of a spear, I tasted no mango in the salad, and there was about a teaspoon of salsa. In the end, I went home hungry. For entrees in the $30 price range, I certainly expect a lot more. Definitely not worth it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smbrown86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriottsville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If in Wilmington, DE don't miss this!”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Very nice restaurant on the Inn at Montchanin property. We had poached lobster on a bed of farro and corn. The the taste of the dish was spectacular, so subtle and delicate. The lobster was cooked to perfection. We liked that they offered a smaller portion for those that have a smaller apppetite. Breakfast was also excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breakfast surprise”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Stumbled upon this quaint Inn on our way and stopped for breakfast at Krazy Kats. Had pecan crusted French toast with peach compote. Yummy! Eclectic decor and gorgeous gardens.

Helpful?
1 Thank gsteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krazy Kat's at The Inn at Montchanin Village also viewed

 

Been to Krazy Kat's at The Inn at Montchanin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing