We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best in Delaware”

Krazy Kat's at The Inn at Montchanin Village
Reserve with OpenTable
Krazy Kat's at The Inn at Montchanin Village is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Montchanin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rockland Road
Beckley, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Probably the best in Delaware”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I had wanted to eat at Krazy Kat's for over 20 years. It did not disappoint. It is not for people in a hurry--it is an elegant meal served in the traditional way. However, the menu is eclectic and features many items never seen before on a menu --my brother ate wild boar. The thing that I really loved is that they featured a full size entree and a half size entree. That allowed a small eater (me) to eat without guilt. It would also let a big eater try two different fabulous entrees. Note that if you have a large party, they add the gratuity. I never even looked at the check and just gave a credit card, but my ever frugal father immediately keyed into this. They were very gracious about straightening it out and I even left a tip above their minimum 18%--don't tell my father. This place is definitely not for children and would be a wonderful place for a romantic occasion dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    65
    23
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantasy new menu”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The new chef has a great updated menu. We had a exceptional meal from start to finish and the service was outstanding. The bloody marys are fabulous and the new desserts are excellent. The wild game dishes were perfectly done.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant at Inn”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Charming restaurant at Inn. Decor country French and cozy. Great Cat and Dog paintings. Food is very good. Great breakfasts. Need reservations even for breakfast as restaurant is small and very popular. Reservation system for restaurant is not very reliable--only problem we had at Inn. Waitstaff very good.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The French style fare is excellent and the ambience is first rate. The wine list and service are also great. There is a separate breakfast room with lots of open view and light. The front desk/reservation system for this restaurant is a bit confused and accordingly, I recommend that you double check your arrangements. The service once inside is far better than the reception one receives when entering the restaurant.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmo144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A side trip”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Krazy Kat's is a little out of the way but still on our way to DC. We normally stop for a good meal at lunch time both for the food and to break up the trip. This trip we went out of our way a little and are glad that we did. We have eaten here several times over the years and have never been disappointed. Service is excellent, décor outstanding and the fare is fantastic. I would recommend this place without hesitation

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank harold66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krazy Kat's at The Inn at Montchanin Village also viewed

 

Been to Krazy Kat's at The Inn at Montchanin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing