We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Regency Jerai Hill Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gurun
Reviewed January 2, 2014

a quite and cool getaway from the busy, noisy and concrete jungle. The only resort on Jerai Hill. Don't expect to do anything at this resort apart from just enjoying the scenery, the greens, the cool weather, the quietness.

If you are into jungle trekking or MTB, yes, this should be a great place to go. Other than that, relaxing is the order of the day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ezhamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Ezhamk,

Thank you for your feedback with regards to our Resort. We are pleased to know you and your family had a wonderful stay during your visit to our Resort. Indeed, Jerai Hill is a very relaxing and scenic place to unwind and relax.

However, there are several attractions and historical sites that you may visit as well as outdoor activities which can all be arranged from our Resort. Do drop by again and next time inform our friendly staff with your request to visit such sites or undertake such activities.

We hope to see and serve you soon. We thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 72 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

Off the typical touristy beaten track is Kedah Peak (or Gunung Jerai in the local lingo). The highest peak in the state of Kedah, at 1,200m, this isolated rock massif on the coast is Malaysia’s richest archaeological site, and the Regency runs a hotel just below the peak.

I stayed two nights in Nov 2013, to experience the stunning views of the ricefields on northern Malaysia. And stunning they are indeed. The (only) restaurant serves nice food, albeit a bit pricey, allowing diners to take in the vistas freely. Night views are equally impressive.

The rooms are clean and reasonably well-kept for such out-of-the-way hotels in Malaysia. Only those frequented by foreign tourists tend to be maintained to the highest standards… perhaps Malaysians feel locals don’t need the same levels of service and maintenance others demand? I hope this is not the case, or if it is, it changes very very soon.

Rooms are in chalets, most of which adjoin. Only some have unobstructed views of the coastal plains. All have quaint balconies, where one tends to spend the most time at… the clouds, fresh cool air and vistas are a draw that is hard to fend off!

The drive up to the resort is very nice, but sharp hairpins can be a bit scary, so take note if you’re self-driving. There is a nice road up to the telecommunications facility at the actual peak (the resort is at 950m), which you can either drive or walk… I recommend walking…. Its about 3-4km, and most rewarding.

It has free internet.

Room Tip: ask for rooms with unobstructed views of the coastal plain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldCitizenMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear WorldCitizenMalaysia,

First and foremost thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort. We are truly glad that you enjoyed your trip up Jerai Hill. Please do come and stay with us again and perhaps this time visit the few attractions and historical surrounding the Resort and Jerai Hill itself.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see and serve you soon in the near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My trip back to Gunung Jerai after 10+ years was not disappointing. The haphazard mess up there back then is gone, and the hotel has been spruced up, looking very neat. Flowers are planted everywhere and the grass was kept neat and short. The views from up there is still beautiful.

Now, the room. We booked an Executive Room for one night, and we were first astounded by the beautiful room furnishings and beautiful views we got. Upon further inspection, I noticed there was no AM/FM Clock or Radio as promised on the website (not that we needed it anyways). The TV only offered local and the occasional Thai TV channels (cable movie channels not provided). There was also mould (kulat in Malay) in the room, which was a no-no to me. The windows to the balcony was extremely difficult to open! I couldn't connect to the WiFi either (not that I needed it anyways - forgot to charge my smartphone) and it took a while for the shower to provide heated water. All this happened in room 127. Because the room was a challenge for my mum to go to, we changed to room 123. Took 1 hour plus to change the room due to housekeeping works. The situation wasn't much different in room 127, except there was no mould and the setting was much warmer.

There isn't much to do up in Gunung Jerai but to swim in the pool or go jungle trekking, which the hotel can help arrange for a fee. The Gunung Jerai Flora Sanctary turns out to be a private orchid farm, off limits to visitors - they even welded the main entrance! (but there's a locked side entrance) Other than that, there was a pool table and two foosball tables, of which we spent the night playing. We had a regular a la carte dinner at the Puncak Kedah Restaurant, of which the 'wild mushroom soup' was devoid of any mushrooms, and the pizza looked like one which you can buy from the night market (but it was good!). There is also no alcohol up here (Kedah is generally a 'dry' state but alcohol is still sold), so go get them before your drive or ride the van up. The weather was misty and cold at night, so go get them sweaters!

Breakfast was just decent with regular Malaysian fare. But despite all the flaws of this resort, I overlooked all of them and had a good visit with the fresh and cool air, beautifully manicured lawns (you can see someone pruning and cleaning something everyday), a disconnect from the outside world (very poor mobile phone reception up here) and I left a happier person.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank albernardo_kung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Greetings Albernado_Kung,

First and foremost thank you for your recent visit with us at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort. We thank you for choosing to stay with us. With regards to your comments and feedback, may we put forward our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and your family.

We would like to inform you that action has been taken pertaining the matters raised such as internal repainting of all rooms. We have also contacted the service provider regarding the issue of our satelite channels.

With regards to the water heater, it is functioning however as the climate up on the hill is very cool and cold, it does take some time for the water heater to reach its peak nonetheless, we shall investigate further on this matter.

Regarding the Orchid Plantation and Nursery, unfortunately it is a privately owned orchard that is not under our jurisdiction. However, prior booking for a tour around the nursery can be arranged as it was permitted before. The reason the owner has closed and opt to halt the tours was due to irresponsible guests that had damaged and dirtied the orchard when it was opened to the public.

Nontheless, once again Albernado_Kung, we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused. We value your feedback and will ensure all matters raised are rectified. We strive to provide ultimate guest satisfaction and service that is second to none. Do visit us again and we will ensure you have a better and much pleasant experience. We hope to see and serve you soon in the near future. Thank you.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

First ever visit to Gunung Jerai and was taken away with the view full of mist and clouds. Simply stunning views and breathtaking especially if you are a nature lover.Stayed at the Regency Jerai which is the only hotel on the hill. The place gets a bit chilly and cold at night,bring your sweater! The hotel also has an orchid plantation and we could see many wild orchids around the hotel. The bedroom was nice but needs a bit more attention to detail. Would recommend to visit especially those nature lovers and don't forget to bring your camera.

Room Tip: Premier room or superior facing the padi field and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fitreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Greetings Fitreen,

Thank you for visit to The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, Gunung Jerai. We are pleased to know you had a wonderful time taking in the sights and sounds at our Resort. We have also taken into account your comments pertaining our Resort and shall improve our services as we strive to provide guests with service that is second to none.

Once again, thank you for your visit and feedback. We hope to see and serve you soon in the near future.

Thank you and have a pleasant day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had a relaxing weekend with my family at here. The view of paddy fields is awesome!
There have 2 swimming pools with slide, my cousins are enjoyed the pool so much. But the weather is cold, make sure you won't get cough after swim in the cold water.
The bed and pillow are smelly, maybe they need to apply some deodorizer on in, I can't really have a nice sleep with the smell. We booked total 3 rooms, one of the room with a lot of ants across the bed frame, it make me feel uncomfortable. The others was OK.
We called reception for a club car to pick up my grandparent when checked out, there are some up hill path, is tough for them to walk through, club car service is for luggage pick up too :)

Room Tip: Avoid visit during public holiday, it was crowded in the pool. Standard room's balcony have a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sayki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Greetings Sayki,

First and foremost thank you for staying with us at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, it was a pleasure having you with us. We hope you and your family had enjoyed the beautiful scenery and surroundings at our Resort.

With regards to the inconveniences that occurred, we would like to forward our sincere apologies to you and your family. We have noted all your comments and will act on your points raised. We truly appreciate all guest feedback and comments to further improve our services.

We hope to see and serve you soon at our Resort. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night for a teambuilding program. The views from this place is beautiful. Toilet and room was ok eventhough not so clean. The wifi connection was fast. We had a bbq dinner which i am satisfied with the food. The weather was cold at night. The water from shower takes time to heat. The current in my room tripped due to fault in one of the switches in my room. Called the receptionist to complaint and the technician came within 10 minutes to fix it. Breakfast was just ok. Nothing much to do at night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Suren R,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. We are so sorry about the room and not so clean. we will take note and improve our room service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Prior to making a reservation at The Regency Jerai Hills Resort, I called to enquire about the maximum occupancy for each unit and was told that it could fit 6 people. Since there were 10 of us, I made a reservation for 3 units, but when we checked in, to our horror, there were only 2 single beds in each unit. We had to squeeze in uncomfortably overnight. Our stay at the resort was disappointing as there weren't anything to do and the only restaurant at the resort was expensive and below average. Each unit had poor TV reception, smell, torn and stained furniture upholstery, and very dirty, which I think is unacceptable for a relatively new resort. On the plus side, it has a lovely view of the sea and paddy fields.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YeeLingT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear YeeLingT
We apologise for the unsatisfactory stay that you had with us. We are truly sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect stay with us. Thank you for your feedback and we will address these issues in the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gurun
10.2 mi away
Swiss-Inn Sungai Petani
Swiss-Inn Sungai Petani
#6 of 14 in Sungai Petani
87 reviews
22.6 mi away
Holiday Villa Alor Setar
Holiday Villa Alor Setar
#11 of 24 in Alor Setar
118 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Pure Hotel
The Pure Hotel
#1 of 14 in Sungai Petani
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Grand Alora Hotel
Grand Alora Hotel
#1 of 24 in Alor Setar
136 reviews
10.1 mi away
T Hotel Sungai Petani
T Hotel Sungai Petani
#12 of 14 in Sungai Petani
57 reviews
13.1 mi away
Park Avenue Sungai Petani
Park Avenue Sungai Petani
#2 of 14 in Sungai Petani
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regency Jerai Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Jerai Hill Resort

Address: Jalan Kaki Bukit | Lebuhraya Gurun, Gurun 08300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Gurun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gurun
Price Range: $78 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Regency Jerai Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Jerai Hill Resort is a welcoming change for the stress-drenched soul of city dwellers. For those seeking to relax and unwind, our spa will be a soothing haven for you to rejuvenate and heal your mind and senses. Pamper yourself with massages or indulge in therapeutic facials while drifting into the abyss at our spa. With world-class facilities, it will definitely be an invigorating experience. Make your way to our open-concept coffee house- Puncak Kedah where an airy, light-filled area mingled with rich, appetizing aroma welcomes you. Let our chefs entice you with tantalizing dishes from our delightful menu, from local cuisine to Western fare, all cooked in front of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Regency Jerai Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing