We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serene place to chill” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Regency Jerai Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Regency Jerai Hill Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gurun
Port Dickson
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Serene place to chill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Been to Gunung Jerai about 17 years ago. My 2 nights stay in the Regency recently were most peaceful. I love the magnificent scenery of Kedah coastal area and the island. I find the reception staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant food was delicious and the staff and F&B Manager are friendly too. I would recommend anybody who wants to relax from the hustle bustle of working life to go there for a few days.
But I strongly recommend the management to look at the condition of the rooms. Repair damages immediately and get the cleaners to vacuum and wipe sliding door, and the floor everyday. It's a pity if this beautiful resort is not maintained properly. Please take care of the beautiful plants at the chalet and don't let grass overshadow the plants.
Lack of privacy. Public has access to the facilities.
Overall, I plan to go there again one day.

Room Tip: If you love stunning view of the sea, choose room 206,205,204 etc. Check first that the sliding door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ZuraidahKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear ZuraidahKualaLumpur, Thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
36
10
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

The room which we occupied was nice although rather small for a family of five. Should have booked a bungalow instead. But the view was very nice. Just slide the glass sliding door and in front of your eyes is the never ending view of the state of Kedah with the Malacca Strait on the left side. The air was cool. An excellent weekend gateway for those who is looking for a place to escape the hustle of a busy weekdays. Downside, the F&B was very slow to serve what we have ordered and a bit unfriendly. Improve please!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Boncafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Boncafe, Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. We are so sorry about F&B Service . We Will Improve the F&B Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Book 2 nites. A premier & an executive room.
No privacy, public can access to the resort and use the facilities.
Crowded during the holidays with non staying guest.
Room is not well maintain. Housekeeping need to go for cleaniness course as the room is not properly clean. Reception is worst, don't bother to offer direction to where the room is located. Buggy service mostly for their staff own use and guest have to carry own luggage.
There's nothing great actually about this place except its nature view. Do not expect to watch any movies on the tv as it is hardly viewable.
A total disappointment.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank hermansudil78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear hermansudil78,
We apologise for the unsatisfactory stay that you had with us. We are truly sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect stay with us. Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Took a long time to check-in. More than 1 hour as the rooms were not ready. It was 3pm.
The restaurant service was not good...the person who appeared to be the restaurant manager, looked very unhappy to greet guests and was certainly not welcoming.

For my room,the bed linen were not changed- I noticed a red stain on the bed sheets on first night but ignored it. On the second night the stain remained and when I called house keeping, they said that bed sheets were changed daily. Obviously this was not done and I shuddered to think that I might have been sleeping on bedsheets used by previous occupants.This dented my confidence in the resort. However, the surroundings looks good: cool mountain air, great vegetation, with lots of orchids planted by the Ooi Nursery.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ThongSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear ThongSingapore,
We apologise for the unsatisfactory stay that you had with us. We are truly sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect stay with us. Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gurun hotels

George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
294 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Gunung Jerai is a very simple hill resort where basically there's nothing up there, except for the great view of Straits of Melacca, some unique flora, fauna and bugs. The resort design blend in effortlessly with the environment. People who love great nature will love this place.
We went there for a one day getaway for unofficial team building. The kids having fun with bugs catching, the girls having fun with photography, and some just enjoyed the peacefulness.
We booked 2 Superior rooms, where they are connected at the balcony. The room is quite roomy and comfortable. The balcony is facing Straits of Melacca where you can enjoy great sunset.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UnderBigHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear UnderBigHill,
Thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

I was traveling with my husband and 6 month old daughter. We requested for the most quiet part of the resort and was given room 201. We paid MYR240 (MYR278.40 after tax) for 1 night on 1st Sept a non-weekend, non-public holiday.
The room. First thing to noticed is the leaking pipe that supplies water to the toilet tank, but to me it was not much of a bother because it leaked straight into the drainage system without flooding the entire toilet. The toilet is only 4 feet wide so anyone taller than 5 feet (or 45 inch waist or more) would have to answer nature's call with the door open because you won't be able to close it while inside! The shower unit is also 4 feet wide and there is no point of having a hook for your clothes when they will surely get wet! There is a flat screen TV, but the channels available are hardly viewable. Those with laptops or smart phones will be pleased to know that FREE WIFI is accessible in the entire premise. There is tea and coffee making facilities with instant coffee (I forgot the brand) and Lipton tea. They also supply bath towels (clean and white) soaps, conditioning shampoo, shower cap and also bath robes. But the bath robes looked rather dirty so I didn't use it. There is also a prayer mat for Muslim guests. The balcony is quite spacious (fits 2 chairs and a small coffee table with my child's stroller) but our view was blocked by trees from the jungle outside the resorts perimeter. The beds are comfy. Not too soft, not too hard.

The biggest disadvantage of this resort is people treating it like a public park! Non-staying guest will park their car at the car park and stroll along the gardens and walk into the verandah regardless if there is anyone staying in that room or not. Worse when these people bring children along that run and scream from one end to the other. The security guard by the gates do not scrutinize everyone that goes in or out of the resort. Some of those non-staying guest arrive at the resort as early as 9am! It's very annoying for late bloomers like my husband. The resort gardens is very well maintained as it is an attraction on it's own. Many couples come here to take their pre-wedding photos. And usually it's these people who make a mess by leaving their rubbish strewn - I've seen one group just leaving their rubbish on the grass. I was too far away from them or I would have told them off! Another disadvantage is that the entire resort is NEITHER DISABLE FRIENDLY NOR BABY FRIENDLY. To access the restaurant (and some of the rooms) you must walk up a flight of stairs. Some rooms have slope access but I find it too steep to push my child's pram. And when I was at the restaurant there was no baby chair available.

There is no swimming pool or spa. I did not try their room service. But staffs at the receptionist and the restaurant are a great bunch of helpful and friendly folks! Two thumbs up for them!

Room Tip: Standard rooms 206-212 have the best view of the rice paddy and Straits of Melaka and relatively qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wwaileng196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear wwaileng196,
We apologise for the unsatisfactory stay that you had with us. We are truly sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect stay with us. Thank you for your feedback and we will address these issues in the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gurun
9.6 mi away
Swiss-Inn Sungai Petani
Swiss-Inn Sungai Petani
#7 of 15 in Sungai Petani
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
23.3 mi away
Holiday Villa Alor Setar
Holiday Villa Alor Setar
#15 of 23 in Alor Setar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
12.5 mi away
Park Avenue Sungai Petani
Park Avenue Sungai Petani
#1 of 15 in Sungai Petani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
T Hotel Sungai Petani
T Hotel Sungai Petani
#12 of 15 in Sungai Petani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
24.6 mi away
Grand Alora Hotel
Grand Alora Hotel
#1 of 23 in Alor Setar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Regency Hotel Alor Setar
The Regency Hotel Alor Setar
#11 of 23 in Alor Setar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regency Jerai Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Jerai Hill Resort

Property: The Regency Jerai Hill Resort
Address: Jalan Kaki Bukit | Lebuhraya Gurun, Gurun 08300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Gurun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gurun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Regency Jerai Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Jerai Hill Resort is a welcoming change for the stress-drenched soul of city dwellers. For those seeking to relax and unwind, our spa will be a soothing haven for you to rejuvenate and heal your mind and senses. Pamper yourself with massages or indulge in therapeutic facials while drifting into the abyss at our spa. With world-class facilities, it will definitely be an invigorating experience. Make your way to our open-concept coffee house- Puncak Kedah where an airy, light-filled area mingled with rich, appetizing aroma welcomes you. Let our chefs entice you with tantalizing dishes from our delightful menu, from local cuisine to Western fare, all cooked in front of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Regency Jerai Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing