We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“except for the location everything was pretty awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Senai
Reviewed April 16, 2006

I had actually read some of the reviews already, but decided to stay at the Palm Resort anyway because we needed to catch an early morning flight from Senai airport. Looking back I had better left from home the same morning than staying here.

As other reviewers pointed out, the rooms were dirty. Huge leakage stains in the bathroom, no tissues, the sink was broken. The minibar was raided and not refilled nor cleaned (remnants of nut lying all over the place).

I called housekeeping to tell them that there were items missing from the minibar which I didn't take. They told me they would come right away (they never came).

The TV reception was pretty bad so we had to call maintainance to come and fix it. The bedlinen was full of old stains. There were also mosquitos in the room, so we didn't sleep very well.

Finally, when we checked out in the morning, some cats were prowling in the lobby, eating of what seemed to be yesterday's buffet, which was just left there, along with dirty glasses on the tables.

The only good point was that it was very near the airport and that there was a shuttle bus to take us there.

Otherwise, I'm afraid I would not want to spend the night here again.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank tissueprata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 532 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Singapore
110
Reviewed November 24, 2005

Checked-in on a Monday with a group for swim training at the resort.
Rooms were not ready though it was almost 1pm. Proceeded for the
buffet lunch at the Cafe/Restaurant. Food had flies all over them but
the staff were oblivious about it and went about their chores. Decided
to eat just the hot food, no salad, no bread, no dessert, not wanting
risk my stomach. Checked-in after lunch. The whole swim team of more then 10 rooms were located all over the gh after resort and not in 1 block as agreed. Rooms reeked, bathroom ventilator was faulty, towels were grey and torn.
Dinner was bad. Rice was uncooked and flies werestill hovering over the uncovered food though compliants have been made. Stuck to hot food.
Tuesday, woke up with upset tummy and diarrhoea. Skipped the equally
bad looking breakfast. Had some fish and beef from the buffet spread at lunch around 1pm. At 4pm, started vomiting severely and nasty diarrhoea.
Vomitting continued til 5am next morning.
Throughout the 3 days we were there, no effort had been put in to prevent flies from invading the food, though after repeated warning.
There's so much about a 4star hotel.........................

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London, England
426
Reviewed August 5, 2005

The hotel was an overnight stop as we had an early flight the following morning. It was incredible and I could really see it being a place for honeymooners. The rooms are ample and they are very clean. I have never slept in such an enormous bed. The facilities were great and we enjoyed bowling and swimming and the sauna. It is a very friendly environment and the food is delicious. My husband and I ate a deluxe platter for 2 and shared a bottle of wine for about 15 english pounds. The hotel is a real must and I cannot understand what prompts the other reviews. It was an amazing A class hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2005

Was there for a short getaway during the weekend. I was rather disappointed as it doesnt look as attractive as seen in their website. Rooms are spacious but not very clean. Their restaurant doesn't have much to offer. I would suggest you catch their free shuttle to go downtown (abt 30 min ride) for a better meal.

  • Stayed: December 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank whisker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed at Sofitel last January 2004. We were there for a golf tournament. At first things went well, the room was spacious, nice bathroom and good balcony overlooking one of the golf courses. During our stay we made numerous complaints. We did not get fresh towels for our bathroom each day, the room was barely cleaned on a daily basis - not hoovered and crumbs still lying around from where we had eaten in the room. Because of the crumbs we had an ant infestation (apparently we were not the only people staying there that suffered the inconvenience). We left dry-cleaning to be done and some of it came back shrunk and destroyed. We complained and they tried to fix it, but it was destroyed. Also even if you do have the "do not disturb" sign on the door, staff will walk in on you, so use the chain lock. On arriving home I noticed on my bill that we had been double charged for part of our stay. This took weeks to overcome with numerous midnight calls from Malaysia (they do not understand time differences). All in all a troublesome stay. Air conditioning is good, the staff moody and lazy, food is good (especially the ham and cheese toasties from room service). Hotel is a bit isolated but the hotel will do a free drop off to the local airport if you feel bored.

18  Thank Maguire2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ahjack2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Grandeur P, Manager at Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibravacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcommexec, Marcom at Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Senai
4.1 mi away
Impiana Hotel Senai
Impiana Hotel Senai
#1 of 3 in Senai
41 reviews
14.7 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
1.2 mi away
Perth Hotel
Perth Hotel
#2 of 3 in Senai
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,365 reviews
13.3 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#11 of 109 in Johor Bahru
693 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#15 of 109 in Johor Bahru
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor

Address: Jalan Persiaran Golf | Off Jalan Jumbo, Senai 81250, Malaysia (Formerly Mercure Johor Palm Resort & Golf)
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Senai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Senai
Price Range: $55 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor in Senai, Johor is one of the most complete resort destinations in the country, with a luxurious deluxe-category hotel, award-winning golf courses, spa, M.I.C.E., adventure village, sports and leisure facilities and much more. Veritably, it is where you can do anything and everything, or simply do nothing at all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor Hotel Johor Bahru
Mercure Johor Bahru
Mercure Johor Palm Hotel
Sofitel Johor Bahru
Johor Bahru Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing