We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very nice place to chill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Senai
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here 4 years ago and to stay here again. Was pleasantly surprised to see that unlike many JB places that deteriorates over time, this resort has actually improved.

Most significant plus was the new pool facing gym - a huge improvement. One of the squash courts was converted into a nerf gun battle zone for kids below 12- really cool. The bowling works and having the choice of lap pool and freeform pool with a poolside Barbie great. The staff are very helpful, respectful and friendly.

Unfortunately, the rooms are in need of attention. The toilet flush in my room works intermittently and the wardrobe lamp cannot be turned off. Most inconvenient was the frequent failure of the room card key - over my 4 night stay we had to seek help many times just to get back to the room. Also interesting that they have stopped providing toiletries such as toothbrushes and combs.

Nevertheless, I had an enjoyable time and made good use of the amenities. I hope the next improvement would be to the rooms.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the freeform pools are nice and near everything. Try to avoid June as there are man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jangtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Grandeur P, Manager at Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

We have noted your comments in the Trip Advisor with regards to your room and regret that that you did not have an altogether perfect experience while staying with us. Undeniably our hotel is due for an upgrade and plans are now in the pipeline to commence at the soonest possible. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in future.
Thank you for your review for it is through such feedback that we are able to maintain our service and product standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 513 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

As many reviewers had shared, hotel is dated but management is doing a fairly good job at trying to keep up with its maintenance.

We travelled with family and friends and there are plenty of facilities and activities to keep the young ones occupied - Cartoon Network, bowling, swimming, nerf guns etc

What I like about the hotel:

- great sound proofing! Staying next door to each other with a bunch of noisy kids, it was quiet bliss when we are back in our rooms. We don't hear any noise coming from the outside at all!
- the black out curtains, coupled with the sound proofing is a great boon for those who want to sleep in.
- near to eating places which are about 10min drive away. Breakfast, lunch and dinner was easy as we can either drive to nearby small town or Senai Airport during meal times for the many different options. For eg we enjoyed our dinner at Secret Recipe at Senai Airport with its friendly and prompt services and great dessert, and had breakfasts and lunch at 3 different eateries in the town.
- those who like their shower strong and heavy will definitely love shower time at Le Grandeur.
- the spa rooms were converted from hotel rooms and they are huge and allow for couple/friends to do treatment at the same time. There is a great promotion where one can get 6 full body massages at RM660, with footbath and ginger tea thrown in.

What could be improved on:

- we did not enjoy the Japanese dinner we had. Food was not cheap, which was expected of hotel pricing, at close to RM500 for 4 adults and 5 children. But serving took a long time, nearly 10min between each person served, and it was not value for money (which is why we went out for the rest of our meals). For eg, the sashimi that was served was not thawed properly and still had ice in it.
- I was lounging by the free form pool watching over the kids and insects (mosquitoes or flies) were buzzing around me, and I had to keep swiping them away
- While the spa rooms were great, out of the 3 masseurs who did the massage for us, only one was of above average skills. The other two didn't seem well-trained and were just squeezing our muscles. And while it is a full body massage, the focus was on the legs so we are not sure what type of massage it was. However, the masseurs all provided friendly services. So the spa management should seriously look into proper training for their staff as there is great potential for customers to keep coming back.
- my husband complained about the state of the bowling balls, that they are dirty, oily, cracked and chipped, not well-maintained at all. I was concerned about the hygiene but a good wash of hands with soap at the end of the game should suffice.

Overall, it is a convenient getaway for those of us staying in Singapore, and it fulfills all my requirement of having activities to occupy the kid, clean room, and good eating options nearby.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank MummyJY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Grandeur P, Manager at Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

We have noted your comments in the Trip Advisor and rest assured we take your comments seriously and will take the necessary corrective action to rectify the problems.
We apologise that you have had a less than pleasant experience at the resort and hope that you will give us an opportunity to present a better impression to you the next time.
Thank you for taking the trouble to provide your feedback. We value it as it tells us what we are doing right or wrong and helps us to maintain or improve our standards at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Resort appeared dated but was still good for a short family getaway. Freeform pools, sports activities ranging from tennis, bowling, archery and squash kept the kids occupied for a day or two. Staff from the security at the entrance to the concierge and front desk were friendly, courteous and offered advice on nearby eating haunts/shopping readily. Keep up the good service and I'm sure you'll be seeing more guests at your resort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Xiaofeiwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Grandeur P, Manager at Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

We have read your comments on the Trip Advisor and we would like to express our appreciation to you for taking the trouble to review your stay here.
It is important for our business as it is also a means to knowing how satisfied our customers are and where we can improve.
We look forward to welcoming you to our resort again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I just got back from another business trip to Malaysia and again stayed at Le Grandeur. As usual I spent a fair amount of time at the bar with my friends in the band. It was great to see them as usual, but this time was even better. Since my last trip they have redone the sound system which is much improved. The band (Diamond Head) sounded better than ever. My preference is rock, but they play a wide range of music so appeal to anyone. The new speakers have a crisp sound and don't crack or drop out like the old ones.

The band doesn't play on Monday nights, so I seldom go to the bar on Monday but am there nearly every other night so I can listen to them play while I relax. It's the same for others, the bar is nearly empty on Mondays. I like that the hotel has kept the same band throughout the five years I've been staying there. It wouldn't be the same without them.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BElwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Grandeur P, Manager at Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

We have read your comments on the Trip Advisor and we would like to express our appreciation to you for taking the trouble to review your stay here.
It is important for our business as it is also a means to knowing how satisfied our customers are and where we can improve.
We look forward to welcoming you to our resort again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Love staying at the le grandeur whenever I am transiting through the city. Its located very close to airport and doesn't take long to reach PTP. The rooms are airy and quite with a balcony. Could do better by upgrading the crt tvs to led tvs.
On both the occasions that I used the travel desks services to go to the nearest TESCO or JUSCO, the rate quoted was different from the rate suggested by the reception. Reception could infact assist better by just calling a taxi instead of directing to the travel desk.

Found all the hotel staff very warm, friendly and helpful at all times.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Marshall E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Grandeur P, Manager at Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

We have noted your comments in the Trip Advisor and rest assured we take your comments seriously and will take the necessary corrective action to rectify the problems.
We apologise that you have had a less than pleasant experience at the resort and hope that you will give us an opportunity to present a better impression to you the next time.
Thank you for taking the trouble to provide your feedback. We value it as it tells us what we are doing right or wrong and helps us to maintain or improve our standards at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

1) Stay almost for 3 weeks for business
2) Environment is calm and serene, suitable for relaxing after hard day at work
3) Quite number of restaurants to choose from
4) Very near to the Senai Internatioanal Airport (less than 5 minutes)
5) Hotel for golfers and have very good recreational facilities (i.e. 2 swimming pools, spacious gym, indoor games, driving range, golf course and you can jog around the resort)
6) Suitable for team building activities
7) Breakfast spread only change on every alternate day and it will be the same if you stay there long
8) Far from Johor Bahru (capital city) about 20+KM
9) Nearest town will be Kulai Jaya (which have new shopping mall with cinema)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeenShamshuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Grandeur P, Manager at Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

We have read your comments on the Trip Advisor and we would like to express our appreciation to you for taking the trouble to review your stay here.
It is important for our business as it is also a means to knowing how satisfied our customers are and where we can improve.
We look forward to welcoming you to our resort again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The property had been rebranded but not refurbished. Rooms and the premises look dated but service and food is acceptable. The surrounding fairways are calming to say the least and the rectangular swimming pool is at least Olympic sized, if not bigger. There is another landscaped pool that is smaller (but still large) with water features - great for kids or just lounging around on deck chairs.

Room sizes are decent and most if not all come with a balcony. Most of the propoerty is no more than 4 stories high as its located next to Senai Airport. Strangely and fortunately, I didn't notice any jet screams of planes landing or taking off.

The restaurants such as the Japanese and Chinese ones aren't worth writing home about although the food was passable.

This resort is not far from the Johor Premium Outlets and Legoland, if you're so inclined for some bargain designer wear shopping or a day out at the most celebrated plastic brick toy theme park.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Density
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Grandeur P, Manager at Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

We have noted your comments in the Trip Advisor with regards to your room and regret that that you did not have an altogether perfect experience while staying with us. Undeniably our hotel is due for an upgrade and plans are now in the pipeline to commence at the soonest possible. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in future.
Thank you for your review for it is through such feedback that we are able to maintain our service and product standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Senai
14.7 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
14.4 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,311 reviews
2.5 mi away
Perth Hotel
Perth Hotel
#2 of 3 in Senai
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#3 of 109 in Johor Bahru
905 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
13.3 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 109 in Johor Bahru
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor

Address: Jalan Persiaran Golf | Off Jalan Jumbo, Senai 81250, Malaysia (Formerly Mercure Johor Palm Resort & Golf)
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Senai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Senai
Price Range: $46 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor in Senai, Johor is one of the most complete resort destinations in the country, with a luxurious deluxe-category hotel, award-winning golf courses, spa, M.I.C.E., adventure village, sports and leisure facilities and much more. Veritably, it is where you can do anything and everything, or simply do nothing at all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor Hotel Johor Bahru
Mercure Johor Bahru
Mercure Johor Palm Hotel
Sofitel Johor Bahru
Johor Bahru Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing