We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Senai
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just returned from another stay at Le Grandeur. This time the weather was kinder and we had plenty of golf. I cannot find much to complain about at this resort. The food was wonderful, staff accomodating and friendly, golf courses in great nick and overall another great holiday. After reading some of the reviews not so friendly reviews one wonders if we were staying at the same place! Overall another great holiday and we'll be back again soon. A special thanks to the ever smiling Norizan for looking after us so well

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 515 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

You know the sense you have when you see a beautiful old person past their prime? Some still take care of themselves and display an elegant, dignified aged beauty. For others, the cracks, lines and greyness make their prior beauty all the more depressing. Le Grandeur is the latter.

I arrived in my room to find 3 cigarette butts in the unwashed toilet. Grime coloured the bathroom mirrors and glass. The waking scene above my bed was black mould on the ceiling. The standing water outside my room provided a sickly dank musty smell. And for the second night, I had the pleasure of sharing this with a local family of mosquitoes thanks to housekeeping leaving the sliding door open.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank JPTAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were in Singapore and decided to have a short visit of Johor Baru (Malaysia) by Bus ( take note of this tip: the terminus of the Yellow Bus named Causeway Link in Singapore is situated on Queen Street,corner of Rochor Street,not far from the MRT Bugis because nobody there seems know where is this terminus!!.It'll cost you $2.40 Ringgit to go to the Larkin Terminal,where you can take a taxi ( 45 RM) to this hotel which is close to the Senai Airport,30km from the Woodland Checkpoint in Singapore,or for a more budget restrict people,take the Bus Causeway Link again from the immigration malay checkpoint,go to the Bus Bay #24 downstair,cost :8RM but you must book online absolutely!
Rooms are spacious ,clean bathroom but this resort is old and not yet modernize ,however we were pleased with the cleanliness and the golf course inside this resort.
Only complain is there are no taxis service,so you are lost here completely,knowing that downtown Johor Bahru is almost 30km from this hotel resort.The only way to go downtown is paying the hotel a shuttle service (in fact it's a 7 places car ) ,for a short distance to Johor Premium Outlets (7km only from this hotel,will charge you 25RM per head)
Foods served in the restaurant,especially the noon buffet (38 RM) are quite good,at night there is a live music band singing in the Bar ,it's OK !

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd floor for a better view of the Golf Course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have stayed at this resort many times when I travel to Malaysia for business. The staff there are very accommodating and friendly. The rooms have undergone some major renovations over the past couple years which has overcome some of the maintenance issues which had been ignored for far too long. TV reception still is bad sometimes, but when it works there are a couple of English channels.

They have a very talented band that plays in the bar every night except Monday. They perform a wide variety of music to entertain nearly anyone that comes in, which is a vast group of people. The sound and stage lighting systems they have to work with is not very good, and they do there best to overcome it. The other night I was sitting there and the right speaker kept cutting in and out. Since there are only 2 speakers it was very distracting. Even the stage monitor does not work so the band rely on the same 2 speakers as the audience. I also stayed there in December of 2012, and the stage lighting was working the same as it has over the past 4 or 5 years. Rather hokey, 4 color lights cycling in sequence of which only 3 worked. Now those lights are gone and they replaced them with 2 lights right next to the singers feet. Talk about a hot foot, really silly and probably dangerous. Considering the amount of money me and others spend there, they could make this place much nicer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BElwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We spent two nights here on a weekend break from KL. Overall we enjoyed our stay, though the experience was a bit of a mixed bag. On the plus side, the resort is set in a lovely, spacious environment, with an atractive golf course and jungle surrounds. The rooms were large and comfortable (though the decor has certainly had its day), the pool area quite clean and relaxing and the breakfast (although quirky) was bountiful. The staff were generally friendly and obliging. In terms of value for money, it really isn't bad.

Tainting the experience somewhat were several factors: the musty smell that hit us the moment we entered our room, as if no one had stayed there for a few months (not unlikely, given the size of the hotel) and the lack of maintenance of the room. Over the course of two days the hand towel rail in the bathroom fell off, the TV stopped working, a light bulb blew and smashed and a fuse went, stopping all lights bar one. On top of this, we had muddled orders both times we used room service and the rate they charged us upon check out was wrong. In terms of service, it's not really a slick operation. A bit of a comdey of errors really.

However, as I said above, we did have a good time here. People are friendly and there's a nice vibe. I'll finish off by saying that if you enjoy quirky, take the walk through to the 'sports complex', which proudly boasts a video games arcade left over from the 80s. Odd, but kind of fun. The good news is you'll probably have the entire facility all to yourself!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsExpat_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I've stayed in 2 golf-resort hotels in Johor, this one and the Pulai Springs and I think I prefer this one better. Both are out of the way in isolated locations, but this is slightly more convinient. It's a stone's throw from the Senai airport, so you could even call it an airport hotel. If you're coming from the city and want peace and quiet, this should do it. The hotel itself is large and sprawling with Malay style decor, wood predominates. Somewhat dated to my eye, but upkeep is decent. Rooms are clean. There is however, poor sound insulation with the thin wooden doors letting corridor noise come through. Wifi is free and the tv has channels from Singapore. Can't say much about the food as all we had was the breakfast buffet, which was simple. There is a bowling alley, fitness center and of course, the golf course to keep you occupied. If your objective is the Outlets, it's about a 10-15min drive away. All in all, enough for a relaxing weekend away from the congested, dirty chaos that is KL

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lipita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I had a company retreat there last weekend. The resort is about 35 minutes away from Tuas checkpoint and 25 minutes away from Woodlands checkpoint. It is kind of isolated so ideal guests should really be there for only for golf/relaxing. They only have a tiny gift shop and that's it. Pros- The resort has a sprawling complex, nice pool, very good service from the hotel staff, and the rooms were also very spacious and big. Cons- Agree with what other reviewers wrote, that the hotel has seen better days. The furniture is quite old. During my stay, our room TV was not working, wifi was always on and off, our toilet flush broke and we had no shower curtain so our bathroom was always wet after shower. In addiiton, the food at their breakfast buffet and other restaurants were very average. Overall it is really a nice resort but if you look closely you will start to notice all it's faults. Still, I enjoyed my stay there as the staff were really quite attentive and nice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeemandMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Senai
14.7 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
2.5 mi away
Perth Hotel
Perth Hotel
#2 of 3 in Senai
20 reviews
14.4 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#3 of 109 in Johor Bahru
921 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
4.1 mi away
Impiana Hotel Senai
Impiana Hotel Senai
#3 of 3 in Senai
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor

Address: Jalan Persiaran Golf | Off Jalan Jumbo, Senai 81250, Malaysia (Formerly Mercure Johor Palm Resort & Golf)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Senai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Senai
Price Range: $49 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor in Senai, Johor is one of the most complete resort destinations in the country, with a luxurious deluxe-category hotel, award-winning golf courses, spa, M.I.C.E., adventure village, sports and leisure facilities and much more. Veritably, it is where you can do anything and everything, or simply do nothing at all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor Hotel Johor Bahru
Mercure Johor Bahru
Mercure Johor Palm Hotel
Sofitel Johor Bahru
Johor Bahru Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing