We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Celebrating wife's birthday at Le Granduer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Senai
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Celebrating wife's birthday at Le Granduer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

I checked in together with my wife on 28/09/2012 night after work... Check in was fast even though I just made the booking in the afternoon of 28/09/2012.. Planned to give a special surprise for wife the next day with Legoland trip & a good spa at the in-house,"Le Spa"... As usual, i met Mr Akmal at the reception counter and even after my last stay at Le Grandeur was months ago,he still remember my name... This is what i call superb staff... One in a few hundred thousands.... Dinner at Cocomo was also great as they have great staffs with excellence service... Great salad bar & steak...

Went to Legoland Malaysia the next day on 29/09/2012. But before that,i made a reservation at Le Spa (in house Spa at Le Grandeur) before heading for bfast at 0910hrs... Was greeted by a friendly Indian lady who took our booking which will be at 5pm later after the Legoland trip. We head for breakfast and later driven to Legoland by a friendly driver,Mr Ismail. Journey took about 40mins to Legoland from Le Grandeur. Fyi,Legoland is a must to visit.. I bought the Le Grandeur Legoland package at RM$488/-++... Package include 2 days 1 nite including bfast,2 adult legoland tickets & discounts on F&B & spa.

Back to hotel at 1630hrs after we have to wait for another group who visited Legoland earlier with us... They made us waited for 10mins until Mr Ismail called them & they said that they are still inside Legoland & they will make their own way back to the hotel.. We went up the room,kept our valuables & took a quick bath to freshen ourselves after the "hot" trip to Legoland Malaysia.. The moment of the stay at Legoland comes next... We went down to the Le Spa & we were there 10mins late... We were told that somebody just booked for spa treatment at 5pm just now & its the same Indian lady that served us in the morning. I was shocked & freaking disappointed with what she has explained as we were late for 10mins & somebody walked in & got the 5pm booking of spa session.. There was no call to our hotel room to confirm whether are we still interested in the soa session. Normally,spa booking will be reserved for 15mins..& it will later open to the next available customer.. No doubt she apologised for it,but I guess she should have tackled the problem in a more tactful way.. With sored body after Legoland trip,we head back to our room with full of disappointment. It would have been a great trip to Le Grandeur but it was spoilt by a staff who knows how to apologise but was not pro-active in going to the extra mile in service like some of the staffs at Le Grandeur.

Extended the stay at Le Grandeur in order to give another birthday surprise after the spa failure. Ordered a chocolate cake at abt 8pm,with special request that it will be delivered to the room at 11.55pm. The cake came at 12.15pm after I called them (Room service) at 12am,then they quickly send it to the room... Second attempt to surprise my wife failed... Haaaiiiizzzz... Disappointing 31st birthday for my wife I guess...

Overall,i will stay here again. Been a regular customer since its under Mercure & the current management. A quiet & nice hotel to stay away from the busy city of Johor.. Near Senai airport but no airplane sound... Be rest assured... My advice is do book early if you are planning to give a surprise to someone important & avoid the in house Spa... You can get better service outside the hotel at the town of Johor or at neighbouring hotels...

Not complaining but just a feedback as I'm very particular about service especially Le Grandeur is a reputable hotel...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    210
    139
    34
    22
See reviews for
160
68
23
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Organized a large group of friends for a 2 night trip over a long weekend. The hotel itself is in a great location just off the main highways and next to the airport. It has decent resort facilities, including some nice pools for the kids and decent tennis courts that we used. Surprisingly, the resort was pretty quiet despite being so close to the airport.

Its location is the best thing going for it. Only 10min from the Johor Premium Outlets and about half an hour on the highway to the newly opened Legoland. It is very easy to get in and out of the resort and in fact, you can avoid JB town completely if you want to by just using the highway network.

We found service to be very pleasant other than one night at the Chinese restaurant. We were having a late dinner and the staff were clearly more interested in getting everything packed away. To be fair, the food was actually pretty decent considering the lack of patronage.

The main negative is that the rooms and some of the public areas are clearly in need of some refurbishment. Everything is perfectly useable but it just feels old. The owners should really look at doing some reinvestment to bring back the shine. With its great location and resort facilities, this could be a standout in the area if some money were put into updating it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SRFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in the Executive room. The room came with free breakfast & wifi. We decided to stay here because we wanted to go to Legoland, which was 20 minutes drive away. Our room was massive, with separate living area, 2 bathrooms & a balcony. The price was reasonable too. Hotel facilities were reasonable. The hotel itself has seen better days but it's not that bad for a weekend holiday. The staffs were friendly & foods were decent. The staff gave extra effort decorated our room with balloons & gave complimentary birthday cake & card to my husband, which was a lovely gesture. Overall, good experience.

Room Tip: Executive room & above
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cahayapagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

It is good traveling with family. The golf course is next to the resort. There is one big swimming pool and one wading for kids, the depth is only 1 feet and it is suitable for small kids. JPO is just 10 mins away, you must visit JPO if you stay in Le Grandeur. There is live band at night as well. The room is spacious for family as well. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaneLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

This hotel was once owned and operated by Sofitel. It is easy to see how once it was a beautiful property.
However, after arriving after a long drive from KL, you drive through Senai airport to the hotel, we were greeted (ignored) by a decaying Welcome sign arching across the entrance.
The reception is dark and old fashioned. Not one member of staff welcomed us to the hotel.
Decaying Malaysan hotels is something we are getting used to. This was another example. Our room smelt musty, had fixtures from the 1980's and no balcony furniture at all. The room was clean if dated but the balcony flower bed seemed home to various pieces of junk from the room.
The pool was stylish but sadly the childrens fountains were not working (and looked like they hadn't for years). A lovely mosquito breeding ground of standing water was nearby. Using traffic cones to hide broken tiles/holes isn't very classy.
Other communal areas were antiquated and unkempt. The pool staff made no attempt to assist. You had to get your own mattress for the rock hard loungers.
We had 1 breakfast, didn't bother the second day. The food was very poor, uncovered and full of flies. Yuk.
The staff appeared totally dis-interested and unaware of any customer service obligations.
On a plus side, the hotel provided a lovely cake for a birthday & 1 girl at reception smiled twice.
A false economy to stay here for a trip to beautiful Singapore. 45 minutes to the border controls.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Senai hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have recently stayed in the hotel for company's event. The outlooks of the hotel does not look that grand and a bit run down for a resort. We smell a not so pleasant smell when we reached the lunch area in basement and was prepared to expect the worst of the rooms since we have not checked in. The welcome by the hotel was good with serving of welcome drink and a green apple.

I stayed on the third floor. The resort, being big, my room was allocated to the very end of the resort and was quite a distance from the lift.

The room was antique but did not have any unpleasant smell. I love the bathroom! it was big and the bath rub was seperated from the shower room and toilet which was splendid! The bed and pillow wasnt that comfy but overall, it was a good stay. I didnt have time to check out the tv programmes so cant comment much on the selection. The room is big too and my room faces the greenery, so it was beautiful.

I cant comment much on the wifi reception but it cost RM35 for 1 day of usage so I didnt bother to get it.

The resort is quite far from the city and very near to tuas 2nd link in Singapore. you will need to engage transport to get out of the resort. Good for family stay or for the rest and relax couples. the resort offers team building activities for the fun and adventurous which I enjoyed quite a bit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IcezHotelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hotel room is big enough, just abit of carpet smell. Service is excellent, we asked for extra bed and baby cot, it was arranged fast. Even better they didn't charge us for the extra bed upon check-out.
Room come with free wifi,
The food at Xin Shan Long is nice, just that the portion is abit less.
There were 3 pools, kids pool, adult pool and Olympic pool. The Olympic pool is like hidden somewhere, you need to ask the staff there where is it.
Overall, is a good place for short trip.

Room Tip: try to request nearer room, our room is far far away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guraisonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Senai
14.7 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
16.3 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
14.4 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Perth Hotel
Perth Hotel
#2 of 2 in Senai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
17.1 mi away
Kota Rainforest Resort
Kota Rainforest Resort
#6 of 10 in Kota Tinggi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
13.5 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor

Property: Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor
Address: Jalan Persiaran Golf | Off Jalan Jumbo, Senai 81250, Malaysia (Formerly Mercure Johor Palm Resort & Golf)
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Senai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Senai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor in Senai, Johor is one of the most complete resort destinations in the country, with a luxurious deluxe-category hotel, award-winning golf courses, spa, M.I.C.E., adventure village, sports and leisure facilities and much more. Veritably, it is where you can do anything and everything, or simply do nothing at all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor Hotel Johor Bahru
Mercure Johor Bahru
Mercure Johor Palm Hotel
Sofitel Johor Bahru
Johor Bahru Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing