We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Grandeur Palm Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Senai
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Le Grandeur Palm Resort”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

To start the desk staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is spaceous and the rooms are clean and comfortable. All 6 in our group ate at "The Grill at Cocomo". The menu appealed to a variety of appetites and the meal was great. We then visited the lounge and were greatly entertained by the band who played a variety of music to appeal to a full range of tastes. Often they played music from requests given them by the audience. Our plan was to stay and hout but we were so entertained we stayed through the last set. The evening was capped off by a great nights sleep. What a value for the price!

Room Tip: I cant say any one room was better. At one point, while the band was playing, I had to go to my room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dljackso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    212
    141
    34
    23
See reviews for
165
70
23
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stayed at Le Granduer three times in the last 6 months, 2 to 3 weeks per visit, over the past 30 years I have stayed in hotels from America to the far east including all the big chains (Hilton, Sheraton etc.). The attentiveness/friendliness of all the staff, from porters to central management, is amongst the highest I have ever experienced, ideal surroundings and leisure activities to suit any taste, my only regret is due to business/work commitments when I am out there leaves me little time to enjoy the facilities that are available. Some previous reveus remarked on lack of food choice, they must have stayed in a different place, the breakfast carries a range from prepared fresh fruit and cereals, various types of sausage,hash browns,fried potatoes beans etc, eggs/omlettes cooked fresh while you wait, toast and preserves. plus curries, fried noodles and other eastern dishes. A multi filling omelette and Pendang beef may sound strange for breakfast but it tastes rather good, the evening choice ranges from various bar type meals to the A La carte (steaks grills etc) or the in house Chinese Restaurant, (the Ostrich in black bean sauce with chicken and ham floss rice has to be eaten to be believed) all in all it.s like a home from home

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger_Smith01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Room was nice & spacious although the furniture appeared a bit worn out.
Enjoyed the overall resort-like feel and large open spaces to wander around.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gnom:o)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

It was quite disappointing stay I must say. The room is fine. But service at the check-in counter left much to be desired. Breakfast was also on a decline, compared to the previous operator. Food quality (room service) very poor.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AhmadRizal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Yes they have renovated their rooms, nice interior design (resort syling) but most public area still looks like the 80s. Have to walk about 200 meters to get to my room from the lift.
Agreed, the pool area is fun but NOT superb. Location wise is far from the city. If you have a car, McD and airport malls only about 5 minutes drive.
Management is too calculative (only one breakfast per one paid room) while other hotels in Malaysia would not restrict their free breakfast buffets to only one person, and the choices of food was not that great at all.

Room Tip: Insist on the room that is located not very far from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeachBoys_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed here over New Year's Eve for two nights. Got a good deal through Hotels.com at around S$120 a night. Usually cheaper on other nights.

Check-in & out was a breeze. Parking & security was no issue. But the room was in bad condition and in need of a major renovation.

Size of the room is generally big. Free Wifi I thought was very useful especially when there's nothing to do.

Toiletries, floor mat and hand towels were not there until the second day, the balcony and tops were dusty.

Apart from the pools which wasn't fantastic, there are nothing appealing to do. The Sports Centre has a very 90s feel to it. And I do remember staying here 10 over years ago when I brought conference groups.

Buffet breakfast was a total mess. Food, cutleries, condiments were not replenished. We chose not to have breakfast there the next day. Room service food were tasteless despite coming on time. Chinese restaurant was a saving grace, the food was excellent, but the service could have been better. The price is very affordable for F&B.

This place would be ok if on a budget for conference or special interest groups. If for a getaway or holidays, and if you are used to better hotels, I strongly don't recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank watertay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Senai hotels

ilovediving
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Rooms - stayed 3 nights and took 2 rooms as there were 7 of us. Staff very friendly all around. Rooms were pretty big, I could place 2 inflatable beds for my kids on either side of the king-sized bed without any problems. Was a bit surprised there isn't any safe in my room. Had a mini-fridge in good working condition, adjustable air-con control. Tiny 14-inch tv and we could get channels 5 and 8 from Singapore. The room was clean, because if not, we would be sneezing our heads off as all of us suffer from sensitive noses. Bathrooms were pretty huge, there was a tub, a separate enclosed shower area and a separate enclosed wc. Bathroom was clean too. Clean towels were given, a hand-towel and a floor-towel-mat provided too. Basic toiletries like shampoo, body wash and soap were provided as well. Electrical outlet for shaver and hair-dryer in the toilet, we even had an iron and ironing board and 2 sets of complimentary slippers in the wardrobe. 2 bottles of complimentary mineral water were given daily, as were complimentary coffee/tea satchets to make in your kettle.

Lobby Shop - you can buy your snacks, little knick-knacks or souvenirs from here. Also sells ice-cream.

Service - Other people have complained about the slow service, we did call for extra pillows, blankets, toilet paper and sometimes we had to call twice as it seemed to take forever for them to deliver these items, but when the items were delivered, it was delivered courteously and with a smile. Reception staff, wait staff, bellboy, security all friendly and professional.

Food - The Japanese and Chinese restaurant was closed the entire time we were there. So only 2 restaurants were left, the main restaurant for a-la-carte meals and the expensive restaurant serving only western meals, steaks going for about RM65. The other place you can eat is at the Golfer's Terrace. Just to give a rough idea of prices at Golfer's Terrace, beef noodles RM14, fried rice with fried egg & chicken wing RM12, lime juice RM5. The coffee costs slightly cheaper at the Golfer's Terrace compared to the restaurant at the main Hotel. A cup of coffee latte costs RM6, while at the main Hotel, it costs RM9. The only catch is you have to pay cash for your meals at the Golfer's Terrace.

Pool - Huge pool but strangely not enough deck-chairs to go around. I didn't see anyone cleaning the pool the entire time I was there and didn't detect any cholorine smell in the pool, so I doubt the pool is really that clean. There were some dirt at the bottom of the pool but that didn't deter us from using it everyday. The kiddy-pool is only ankle-deep. Pool-towels are available at a kiosk near the pool area. There is a swim-up bar but strangely, we were told by the lady manning the counter we could only order drinks from 4pm. Can drinks cost RM7.

Sports Centre - 10-min walk from the main lobby, it's a little run-down. Dart board with no darts, the ping-pong table was covered in bird-poo. They had a pool table, couple of squash courts, tennis courts, bowling alley. The man manning the counter was very friendly, buy your ice-creams from him, all types of ice-cream only cost RM3. There is also a 9-lane olympic-sized pool near the sports centre, with a kiddie-pool, but no deck chairs.

The driving range - you can drive all the way into the driving range, as it's a long walk from the carpark. It's pretty small, only 9 lanes and out of the 9, 4 lanes are reserved for members. RM3 for 50 balls. They provide rubber tees FOC. You can buy can drinks from them too. All the players we met were Koreans, in fact, I would say 90% of the golfers we met were Koreans. For those who want to buy golfing clothes or accessories, there is a shop just outside the Golfer's Terrace, there was a sale going on and ladies/mens shirts were only RM48 which is pretty cheap.

Spa - didn't use their services but pretty expensive ranging from RM35 for pedi/mani up to RM200+ for 2-hour massages.

Driving out - there are 2 places you can go for cheap meals. At the Johor Premium Outlet there is a foodcourt about 10 minute drive away, or at the IPO Mall, also about 10 min drive away. Get maps for both places from reception. JPO has more luxury brands like Zegna, Ralph Lauren, Burberry, etc. IPO is a regular mall with fast-food like Pizza Hut and KFC and local restaurants. There is even a Giant supermarket at IPO. You can also drive to Senai Airport which is just round the corner. There is a Secret Recipe restaurant. Kids pasta meal RM12. Thai noodles RM16. Teas/Coffees for RM6. There is also a MacDonalds, 2 min drive away, if you are a big group, the bk'fast is incredibly cheap at RM25 for 4 meals.

Overall impression - the hotel is a bit old-fashioned and tired looking. Rooms nothing fantastic but clean. Staff friendly and there was enough to keep us and the kids entertained. Yes I will stay here again and can overlook the slow service and shabbiness.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovediving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Senai
14.7 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
16.2 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
15.3 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 109 in Johor Bahru
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,280 reviews
2.5 mi away
Perth Hotel
Perth Hotel
#2 of 2 in Senai
16 reviews
16.1 mi away
Somerset Puteri Harbour Iskandar Puteri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor

Property: Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor
Address: Jalan Persiaran Golf | Off Jalan Jumbo, Senai 81250, Malaysia (Formerly Mercure Johor Palm Resort & Golf)
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Senai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Senai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor in Senai, Johor is one of the most complete resort destinations in the country, with a luxurious deluxe-category hotel, award-winning golf courses, spa, M.I.C.E., adventure village, sports and leisure facilities and much more. Veritably, it is where you can do anything and everything, or simply do nothing at all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grandeur Palm Resort Johor Hotel Johor Bahru
Mercure Johor Bahru
Mercure Johor Palm Hotel
Sofitel Johor Bahru
Johor Bahru Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing