We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room for Sports at the Beach Tournament”
Review of Atlantic Inn

Atlantic Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atlantic Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Millsboro
Vienna, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Room for Sports at the Beach Tournament”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you are looking for a clean room with basic amenities that is close to SATB, this is the place. Baseball travel team week-end so no need to be close to the beach. Atlantic Inn met our needs and our budget!!! Rooms were clean and the staff were very friendly. And being 8 miles away from the field was even better. FYI: if you did want to see the beach and boardwalk, only a 30 min drive.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda L, General Manager at Atlantic Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give our property a great review. We really appreciate it and the staff thanks you, we always enjoy any feed back. If you are planning any more ball touraments please keep us in mind. Again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    29
    9
    10
    13
See reviews for
25
17
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

stayed at this hotel for bike weekend in sept last year it was first time and we thought it might be to far out but it is perfect you ride into Maryland and then stop at all the other things going on and ride back to hotel in a big loop . hotel parking lot big enough for bike trailers and it is away from all the party noise just don't forget helmet must have for maryland

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celestia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda L, General Manager at Atlantic Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give our hotel a review. We appreciate the comments and always like good things said about our property. We look forward to your return next time and would like to thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

After reading the mixed reviews we approached this budget motel with some hesitation but went ahead and were glad we did. Not sure what all the fuss is about in the reviews. The room was basic but immaculately clean, which is our top priority. The beds and pillows were quite comfortable and the a.c. worked fine. Bathroom was very roomy and sparkling clean with lots of towels. Free wi-fi. The outdoor pool and patio was also very clean and we were the only ones using it. The breakfast was basically some sugary pastries but we did find some English muffins to go with our coffee. Despite this being the height of the beach season the motel was quiet and did not seem to be that full. It is a 20 minute country drive to Rehoboth, which we didn't mind since we avoided the noise and partiers at the similarly priced beachside motels. We would definitely stay here again on future beach trips.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda L, General Manager at Atlantic Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review. We appreciate all comments and we were glad you had a good stay. I will make sure the staff knows about your comments, they
like to hear any good news especially after a long busy season. We hope to see you again and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Terrible bussiness! Took my card and reserved the room however when we showed up the room had been given away. They said the card didn't work. I had used the card all day after reserving the room. They were rude and did not care. They had my phone number and didn't call me to say it wasn't reserved. Horrible service and I will never go there again! Also not close to beach and near prison!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lwrcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda L, General Manager at Atlantic Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
In your review you stated that we are not near the beach, we do not advertise that we are near the beach. We are a budget hotel that offers an alternative location so people can have a less expensive stay then those offered at the beach. We held your room till late in the evening and since the card was declined we had no other option then to release the room and sell it to someone else. I am sorry that your room was not held but that is the policy of all hotels. As for the prison location it is 10 miles from our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

A great place to stay, clean, friendly employees, close to everything, very accommodating. Pool area clean. Do not believe the bad reviews. The hotel was clean and well maintained. They offer a continental breakfast, for a short stay it was nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda L, General Manager at Atlantic Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your next stay. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my family and other families for the USSSA (Softball) World Series. I was concerned when we arrived at the individuals that were loitering outside of their respective rooms, smoking and drinking in full view of the girls. I also dismissed the peeling paper in our rooms, and the bugs that were incessant, especially in the singular small bathroom. I dismissed the 8 construction workers leering outside at 5AM when I went to get coffee at the WaWa across the street. I also dismissed the sudden "failure" of my daughter's room to lock, necessitating a call to the maintenance man, who suggested that he would have to "fix" the battery. I could not, however, dismiss the fact that a little girl on our team was robbed of $300+ of cash and gift cards by that very same maintenance man - who admitted to the police that he was granted access and entry to the room by the assigned maid, rifled through the drawers and stole said items. I travel extensively for work, and have stayed at 5 star hotels as well as those hotels where I have had to sleep with a chair bolting the door closed. This was a most unpleasant experience, equaled only by the failure of the staff to recognize and address the urgent nature of the issue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Director of Operations at Atlantic Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you, Susan F, for taking the time to share your feedback. I was naturally disappointed you were unhappy with your experience at our hotel which is why we permitted the group to leave for closer accommodations to your event - at least this is the reason your group told us you wanted to leave. I'll add this was also before the incident you referred to at the end of your review. I'm sorry you didn't share your concerns with your specific guest room until using this public forum, but we are now aware and can work to improve the situation for future guests.
Again, I only wish you had shared your concerns about the wallpaper, bugs(?) and "leering" guests so we could have addressed them proactively, versus reactively. Wallpaper is surely an easy fix and we would have been happy to address that. This is the first I've heard of any bugs - I do wish you would have elaborated on that as we have contracted preventative treatment (by Ehrlich) every month and would report any oddities for immediate remediation. As far as "leering" hotel guests, unfortunately they were just as entitled to "loiter" outside their rooms as your girls/children, or another other guests, would be. If potentially predatory behavior by the other paying guests was a concern, I would hope you asked the girls to remain in their room or perhaps use other hotel facilities so not to be "leered" upon. If their behavior, verbiage or actions were more sinister or invasive, the Front Desk and/or management needs to be made aware immediately to address.
Lastly, you are mostly correct about an extremely serious incident involving a newly hired maintenance man. There was indeed a theft, and was admitted to by this new hire as a result of the hotel having called the police. It goes without saying this person has been terminated from employment with our hotel. The victim was returned all of her belongings and as additional compensation the parents were refunded their entire stay.
To clarfiy the fragmented information you provided, I wanted to share these additional facts. First, the hotel conducts background checks to determine eligibility for employment. This gentleman's record was clear. Secondly, it was the hotel who called the police to report and investigate the incident, not the guests. The hotel was just as eager to get to the bottom of the situation as was the guest impacted. I have personally followed up with the guest to express our sincerest apologies, and to reaffirm our position that we will support whatever legal action the guest wants to take against this former employee (it is our hope they will follow through with action). Unfortunately, since the hotel was not the victim, we cannot engage legal action on the guests behalf. You felt the hotel was negligent in our recognition and addressing of this situation, but I would be curious to know what you felt the hotel could have done differently to react to this situation? Employee theft has never been an issue for our hotel so this is indeed a training opportunity for us as well - we would welcome suggestions you have for what you feel would have been an appropriate response.
Again, thank you for your feedback. While I wish it were more positive, you have given us your areas of concern and we can work to address them immediately for future guest satisfaction. I hope your team had great success in the tournament and I wish you safe travels!

Chris Berg
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed at the Atlantic Inn in May of 2013 for an extended period. The room did not seem so bad at first, but there were little tiny bugs in my bed every night, the walls were paper thin so we could hear everything that went on in the rooms surrounding ours, including when the people upstairs were using the toilet. The hotel was priced as if it was close to the beach, however it is nowhere near it so the fact that they charge "seasonal rates" is outrageous. Every time I opened the curtains to the room there was someone peeping in and the manager, Brenda, was incredibly rude. I would not stay here again and I would NOT recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 17Lydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticGM, General Manager at Atlantic Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Our guest that have been staying as extended stays in the last few months have all been very gracious and appreciated our hotel and the discounted rate they were given. I have not had any complaints about any rooms or problems from our extended stay guest. I am unaware of any problems you may have encountered since you did not voice them to anyone during your stay. Our hotel does not start any "seasonal rates" until after Memorial Day and we do not advertise that we are close to the beach. We try and accomodate our guest with a clean and friendly environment and hopefully we succeed in doing that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millsboro
8.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Georgetown Delaware Beaches
10.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Georgetown
132 reviews
8.9 mi away
Brick Hotel On The Circle
Brick Hotel On The Circle
#2 of 4 in Georgetown
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#19 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
383 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Seaford
Hampton Inn Seaford
#1 of 6 in Seaford
306 reviews
13.4 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Inn

Property: Atlantic Inn
Address: 28534 Dupont Boulevard, Millsboro, DE 19966
Location: United States > Delaware > Millsboro
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Millsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Atlantic Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining comfort, unparalleled service and a central location, the Atlantic Inn Millsboro offers basic, budget-friendly accommodations and meeting room facilities in the heart of southern Delaware, just a short drive from the Delaware and Maryland beaches. Other nearby attractions include Sports at the Beach, Trap Pond State Park, Cape May Lewes Ferry, Dogfish Head Brewery and Brew Pub, and 16 Mile Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Atlantic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Millsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing