We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Millsboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holly Lake Campsites
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Holly Lake is a nice family oriented place to camp. It's not up scale and if what your looking for is to go and do some actual camping holly lake is the place for you. I went with my family and children and the kids had so much fun with the kids games that the campground has on the weekends and they loved swimming in the pool. The entire staff was pleasant and were always ready to help if we needed it. Althought the roads could have been a little better and smoothed out some more. But as I said before if your going camping your not going to want a five star hotel. I would recommend holly lake campsites to anyone who is looking for a nice place to go for a family vacation!
Also the campsite is connected with Nassau Valley Vineyards which have wonderful wine! They were the first vineyard in Delaware and have received many awards!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 96 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2010

My family stayed at Holly Lake Campground during our recent trip to the beach. Hotels very expensive and a cabin at Holly Lake turned out to be a fabulous alternative. I was very skeptical about what the conditions might be after reading other reviews on this site but we were more than pleasantly surprised. We rented a 4 person cabin which was very clean and perfectly suited for me, my husband and our two young children. The refrigerator, microwave and air conditioner were a definate plus. The bathhouses were not the "greatest" but they were mostly clean and had hot water-suitable enough to wash up after a day on the beach. The pool was very nice and the staff was very friendly. We will definately book another trip to Holly Lake Campground next year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bzerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Worst condition of any place I have ever camped. Probably will cost me $1500 to $2000 to repair my motor home due to the overhanging branches and limbs all everywhere. I would never take a motorhome of any substantial size into this place ever again! the management could care less if you are having problems. They do not care! Bathrooms were disgusting and not air conditioned. Sewer backed upa dn I barely was able to dump. It took me 1 hour to dump my sewer and grey water. These people obvioulsy do not care what the place looks like or whether things operate or not. This by far was the worst experience I have ever had at a campground. Do not stay there. No security either.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hhughesjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stay at holly Lake often and now have a permanent site there. Our site is HUGE, if you have been to other campsites in the area you are stacked on top of each other, literally. You get the best of both worlds at Holly lake! You are within 15 minutes drive from Rehoboth Beach (that's only because of traffic on route 24) and still secluded in the trees at the campground. For people that have complained about dirt~you are camping, in the trees, and the forest land, there is dirt and leaves :)

The campground has tons of activities for the kids, a petting zoo, games, hayrides, bingo for adults, a pool, DJ's and more, all for NO charge. They have people at the gates so not just anyone can drive into the campground. The cabins are too cute!! If you looked into hotels lately, it's well worth considering having a permanent site, a week stay in a hotel can come close or surpass the cost of a yearly fee for Holly lake, for UNLIMITED use!
OH and if you have a laptop, you can sit in the office parking lot/restaraunt and use your internet too.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

I've been going to Holly Lake for years. This year we decided to take my nephews. They had a blast. The wagon rides and petting zoo. The best part is that its so close to the shops and the beach. I think Holly Lake could improve a little bit but whats the fun in camping if your not going to get dirty. You complain because the bathrooms are dirty. They clean the bathrooms in the morning when they open. There's no sense in cleaning them all day long if they are just going to keep getting dirty plus there's ALOT of bathrooms in the campground to clean. All I have to say is that I'm going to keep going until they shut down.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovelyTravels25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

I have a permanent site at Holly Lakes, however it is a scary place! We only keep our camper there because we are in a nice section and it has been there for so long that moving it would be worse than staying.

We have been there for 5 years now and have seen all kinds of things. I should say they have taken steps to improve the quality of the campground, although very slowly! The place is LOUD, lots of drinking all the time. Even though quiet hour is 10pm we have seen parties go on until 3-4 in the morning. One year there was even a gang hanging out. I dont use the bathrooms so I cant speak for their condition. The staff is very rude and unhelpful. They dont seem to like anyone and are not consistent when it comes to enforcing their policies for year round campers. One year the camp staff cut my neighbors string lights down, because they didnt like them. No warning.

We have decided to sell our camper this year. Most of our friends have left the place because they couldnt take it anymore...

Do not waste your time!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank octoberswirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

my family went down to holly lake and stayed for a week in aug.'09.bad month for mosquitos.but all in all we had a pleasant stay.took a pop up w/ac of course.stayed at site 743 and loved it.very secluded.bathouses aren't the greatest,but hey it's a campground.stayed there in '06 too,in one of their cabins.PLACE IS GREAT!!!!!!.if you people can't hang at a campground,stay in a motel!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fellertact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millsboro
11.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Georgetown Delaware Beaches
10.8 mi away
Brick Hotel On The Circle
Brick Hotel On The Circle
#2 of 4 in Georgetown
467 reviews
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#12 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
1,037 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
11.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Georgetown
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Lake Campsites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Lake Campsites

Address: 32087 Holly Lake Rd, Millsboro, DE 19966-4472
Location: United States > Delaware > Millsboro
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Millsboro
Number of rooms: 1100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 1100 sites designated for your RV, Trailer and Tent camping needs. We also have Yearly/Seasonal Sites! Cabins also available! Large swimming pool. Activities/ Arts and Crafts/ Bingo/ Pool Parties- on weekends during summer season. Farm animal petting zoo. There is also Wi-Fi available throughout the RV section of the Park! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holly Lake Camp Sites Hotel Millsboro
Holly Lake Camp Sites Millsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing