We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holly Lake Campsites
Nearby Hotels
Atlantic Inn(Millsboro)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast(Bethany Beach)(Great Value!)
$159
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach(Rehoboth Beach)(Great Value!)
$131
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$106
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveler rating
28
23
10
8
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
23
10
8
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat campingweekend activitiescamping trippig roastarcade roomfarm animalssplash padgoatsupgrades
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 99 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2007

The campground has not seen any repairs or cleaning for many years, we had to repair a picnic bench so we could use it. The bathrooms are barly useable and the uninvited guest we had all day long ( flys ).

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank willrenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2007

Friends of our family found Holly lakes campground while looking for another campground, the same ole scene came into play it was getting dark, kids were hungry and tired from the drive ,( back then we all tent camped), they had just wanted to find a spot to set up and eat and crash out for the night...The following day they found a cute lil diamond in the rough of a campground. Granted not many people expect everything to be 100% immaculate at a campgrounds near a sea shore ( sand everywhere), without paying the price $$. We started staying there in 1993 or 94 and then it was about 10.00 a night, which made a weekend getaway very easy to afford... We went there every summer sometimes 3-4 weekends a month if $$ was plenty and we always had a great time.. I never had ANY problems with staff , in fact I had them move us one time because we were surrounded by families with small screaming babies and we just couldn't stand it, and there was no problem at all with that... It's a decent campground, nice staff, and the prices are pretty good, your in a nice section not on top of anything, but not too far away either..

Stayed: June 2003
3  Thank crazycamper18218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2006

Clearly one of the worst campgrounds I've ever been to. (1) The staff was terribly rude. (2) The "restaurant" looked like it hasn't been cleaned in years (3) The "community room" consists of a beat up 30 year old couch and stacks of boxes floor to ceiling (4) Leave the sports car at home, because the huge potholes in the unpaved roads require a 4x4 (5) the playground consisted of a swing set on its side next to a huge pile of debris.

The bathhouses can be described in 3 words: Dirty, Disrepair, and Outdated. An earlier post from a seasonal camper blamed the transients for their condition....but these same transients are staying at campgrounds around the country and they all manage to keep the restrooms clean. I would also prefer more than a cheap shower curtain with hole in it to protect my privacy in the stall or in the shower.

Don't be misled. This campground is not close to the beach and the trip there includes miles of beach traffic. There are two other closer...nicer campgrounds.

We've stayed at a lot of campgrounds and generally prefer the more primitive places. However, this one is way below the bar.

It's clear that maintenance and facilities is not a priority, there isn't one part of the campgound that's not in disrepair. Unfortunately, I'm not sure what the priority was. There are other better choices at the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank delawaredan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2006

We like camping at Holly Lake. I was looking for a campground last minute and every where else near the beach was booked. We were able to go there without a reservation and got a nice private site. It wasn't crowded, the showers had hot water (that's all I ask for, lol ) Some of the permanent sites were a little bit scary, but all in all we had a good time and will go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank CREX1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2005

Holly Lake is a very nice campground. The sites are large and you can choose between open or wooded. The bathrooms are only as clean as the people that use them. We have been there for 5 years and have never had an issue with noise or traffic. In fact, it is the opposite. As far as the complaint that they don't rake the leaves, why should they, you are camping. If you don't want leaves, you should stay at a hotel. The wilderness is why you camp, isn't it?

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PHOENIXMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews