We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank god the beds were comfortable....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Middletown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middletown
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Thank god the beds were comfortable....”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Pro's: Clean hotel, front desk was polite and courteous. Bed was comfortable, and furniture was updated and new. Checking in and out was fast. Great location. All the components for a great stay.... but....

Cons: There was no hot water, AC unit made noise and went in and out throughout the night. Room key did not initially work.

I rated the hotel as a three. Had there been hot water, and a properly working AC unit. I would have given it a 5.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyCNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonmiddletown, Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. Although there were positives to your stay, we do apologize for the air conditioning noise and hot water issue. The issues as hand have been addressed. We are using the feedback from our guests to make necessary improvements to our guest rooms. Prior to your next visit please check back with us on the improvement process. We certainly appreciate you letting us know how we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    111
    35
    17
    12
See reviews for
121
73
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We stayed here overnight and overall had a very pleasant experience. The room was fairly large and clean. It had a nice desk and comfortable "office chair". The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom area was very large. The pool area was nice as was the fitness area. The breakfast in the morning was great...lot's of hot and cold items to choose from. The front desk personnel were very accomodating when we requested a later check-out time. There were a lot of shopping and restaurants within walking distance and the location was great right off of 301. We would definitely recommend staying at this Hampton if you're in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonmiddletown, Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for your positive response on your stay! We take pride in our hotel and all of its features that our guests enjoy. We are glad you found our hotel to be convieniently and centrally located. We hope that you will spread the good word of us and choose the Hampton Inn the next time you visit Middletown, Delaware.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

It's exactly what Hilton tells you — a simple, no frills hotel: it'll give you a nice room and a comfortable sleep with a few perks like free internet thrown in, but that's it.
The rooms were simply decorated but spacious. The staff are warm and smiley, but won't go out of their way to help you. The breakfast is decent. There's free wireless internet: a major perk. Overall, it's an amazing hotel for the area it's in. Book early though; this hotel get's full easily.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Str_Bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonmiddletown, Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. Our staff at the Hampton Inn strives to focus on our guests and their needs, we do apologize that you didn’t feel that way, however, we are happy to hear that you thought the stay was of good value overall. We hope that you allow us the opportunity to serve you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

We are pleased to write about our experience at the Hampton Inn in Middletown, DE
After a pleasant night's sleep in a delightfully decorated room followed by a hearty breakfast, we checked out. Five hours later we stopped for lunch in NC only to discover I had left my purse in the room back in DE! A phone call to Katie Tobin at the front desk did the trick. She checked the room personally, found the purse and Fedex-ed it overnight to the Hampton Inn in Bonita Springs, FL - our final destination. Because of her efficient, honest, can-do attitude, I had my license, passport, credit cards, daily medicine and $100 cash back safe and sound. We praise the Hampton Inn human resource department staff for hiring Katie Tobin, a woman of the highest caliber, and feel she has a great future in the hotel industry!
Barbara and Burke Leahey
Bonita Springs FL

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BAL98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonmiddletown, Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It gives us great feelings to hear that our front desk staff handled this packages situation for you in such a positive manner. Guest satisfaction is our top priority and it is clear in this situation that our staff member made sure that you were happy! We hope that you will choose us again when visiting Middletown, Delaware!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Because we had to stay near Middletown, we were so glad there was a Hampton Inn. This is a chain we rely on. We just wish this location had been more like the others. There was nothing seriously wrong, just a lot of little things. Part of me doesn't want to recommend, but there is really no where else to stay nearby.

Our check-in was fine, but when we opened the door to the room we were given, the TV was on, a drink and book were out on the table, and we didn't venture further. The front desk staff assured us the room was vacant...um, no...and brushed it off by saying the housekeeping staff must have been using the room...shouldn't they be working? She found another room for us on the 1st floor, and when we walked into that room there was no fridge or microwave. We thought these were standard at Hampton Inns, and fortunately, they brought a fridge to our room once we requested it. We later found out that others in our group had no fridge or microwave in their king bed rooms either. Other minor issues included a shortage of towels in the room, inoperable equipment in the fitness room, un-brewed coffee in the breakfast area.

The biggest problem just seems to be that while the Hampton Inn brand is apparent in the furnishings, the staff is lacking in Hampton customer service training. We could hear the staff griping at the front desk at various times during the day and night,and their first responses to our requests were more dismissive than accommodating. My sense is that these are good, well intended, workers who just need better training. If we can, we'll give the Middletown Hampton Inn another chance with the hope that the experience will improve.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaiaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonmiddletown, Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
It is the Hampton Inn’s intent to provide excellent service and hospitality to our guests, and not only meet, but also to exceed our guest’s expectations. A guest’s comments are always very important to us as they let us know how we measured up to their expectations. This is certainly a matter that will be looked into. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. Please allow us the opportunity to serve you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowtown
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We checked into this Hampton Inn after driving for 3+ hours around Maryland and Delaware trying to find a place to stay. Maybe because we were feeling a little frantic and desperate, but we were blown away by the room. Decor was great, it's obvious that thought went into the placement of furniture and electrical outlets. Bathroom was spacious with a large shower, bedding was out of this world. The breakfast included the usual continental items plus several different types of coffee, eggs, bacon and a waffle maker. Easily worth $30-40 for a couple. This was my first Hampton Inn stay but definately won't be the last!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jewelsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonmiddletown, Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Many thanks from our Hampton staff to you for the review of our hotel. We're delighted to know we met all of your expectations. Our staff takes great pride in the fact that you enjoyed our breakfast and décor. We hope that you will again choose us when visiting Middletown, Delaware
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall On Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
313 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

We stayed here one night when we were in the area for a special celebration. This is a relatively new property and reliably Hampton Inn-ish. We were concerned, though, when we arrived to discover that we (and several others in the area for the same celebration) could not check in until after 3 (the celebration was to start at 4 and there were showers to be taken and clothes to be ironed!). When the rooms became available they seemed to all come up at the same time. I don't quite understand how that can be and wondered about housekeeping management. Others were also more than inconvenienced when the elevator broke. We were in a nice room on the first floor - very quiet and comfortable - so we weren't affected by the elevator. I did overhear a hotel worker say, "Oh oh...we have a problem...the elvator broke again." Hmmmmm.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UMichAlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonmiddletown, Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for your feedback on your stay. We are happy to hear that you found the guest room to be nice. We do apologize that you had to check in at the same time as celebration goers. Sometimes, we do receive a rush of check in’s and the check in time at the hotel is 3 pm. If in the event we were booked the night before, then it does take housekeeping time all the way up in to check in time the next day to prepare the room to the highest standards. If in the future you do visit Middletown, Delaware, we hope that you will choose us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
13.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn
15.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
21.0 mi away
Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Best Western Smyrna Inn
16.8 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
19.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Middletown

Property: Hampton Inn Middletown
Address: 117 Sandhill Dr, Middletown, DE 19709-5813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Middletown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Middletown Hotel Middletown
Middletown Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing