We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice, Terrific Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Middletown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We stayed here overnight and overall had a very pleasant experience. The room was fairly large and clean. It had a nice desk and comfortable "office chair". The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom area was very large. The pool area was nice as was the fitness area. The breakfast in the morning was great...lot's of hot and cold items to choose from. The front desk personnel were very accomodating when we requested a later check-out time. There were a lot of shopping and restaurants within walking distance and the location was great right off of 301. We would definitely recommend staying at this Hampton if you're in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonmiddletown, Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Thank you for your positive response on your stay! We take pride in our hotel and all of its features that our guests enjoy. We are glad you found our hotel to be convieniently and centrally located. We hope that you will spread the good word of us and choose the Hampton Inn the next time you visit Middletown, Delaware.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 332 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2010

It's exactly what Hilton tells you — a simple, no frills hotel: it'll give you a nice room and a comfortable sleep with a few perks like free internet thrown in, but that's it.
The rooms were simply decorated but spacious. The staff are warm and smiley, but won't go out of their way to help you. The breakfast is decent. There's free wireless internet: a major perk. Overall, it's an amazing hotel for the area it's in. Book early though; this hotel get's full easily.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Str_Bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonmiddletown, Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. Our staff at the Hampton Inn strives to focus on our guests and their needs, we do apologize that you didn’t feel that way, however, we are happy to hear that you thought the stay was of good value overall. We hope that you allow us the opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

We are pleased to write about our experience at the Hampton Inn in Middletown, DE
After a pleasant night's sleep in a delightfully decorated room followed by a hearty breakfast, we checked out. Five hours later we stopped for lunch in NC only to discover I had left my purse in the room back in DE! A phone call to Katie Tobin at the front desk did the trick. She checked the room personally, found the purse and Fedex-ed it overnight to the Hampton Inn in Bonita Springs, FL - our final destination. Because of her efficient, honest, can-do attitude, I had my license, passport, credit cards, daily medicine and $100 cash back safe and sound. We praise the Hampton Inn human resource department staff for hiring Katie Tobin, a woman of the highest caliber, and feel she has a great future in the hotel industry!
Barbara and Burke Leahey
Bonita Springs FL

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BAL98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonmiddletown, Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It gives us great feelings to hear that our front desk staff handled this packages situation for you in such a positive manner. Guest satisfaction is our top priority and it is clear in this situation that our staff member made sure that you were happy! We hope that you will choose us again when visiting Middletown, Delaware!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Because we had to stay near Middletown, we were so glad there was a Hampton Inn. This is a chain we rely on. We just wish this location had been more like the others. There was nothing seriously wrong, just a lot of little things. Part of me doesn't want to recommend, but there is really no where else to stay nearby.

Our check-in was fine, but when we opened the door to the room we were given, the TV was on, a drink and book were out on the table, and we didn't venture further. The front desk staff assured us the room was vacant...um, no...and brushed it off by saying the housekeeping staff must have been using the room...shouldn't they be working? She found another room for us on the 1st floor, and when we walked into that room there was no fridge or microwave. We thought these were standard at Hampton Inns, and fortunately, they brought a fridge to our room once we requested it. We later found out that others in our group had no fridge or microwave in their king bed rooms either. Other minor issues included a shortage of towels in the room, inoperable equipment in the fitness room, un-brewed coffee in the breakfast area.

The biggest problem just seems to be that while the Hampton Inn brand is apparent in the furnishings, the staff is lacking in Hampton customer service training. We could hear the staff griping at the front desk at various times during the day and night,and their first responses to our requests were more dismissive than accommodating. My sense is that these are good, well intended, workers who just need better training. If we can, we'll give the Middletown Hampton Inn another chance with the hope that the experience will improve.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NaiaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonmiddletown, Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

It is the Hampton Inn’s intent to provide excellent service and hospitality to our guests, and not only meet, but also to exceed our guest’s expectations. A guest’s comments are always very important to us as they let us know how we measured up to their expectations. This is certainly a matter that will be looked into. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. Please allow us the opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We checked into this Hampton Inn after driving for 3+ hours around Maryland and Delaware trying to find a place to stay. Maybe because we were feeling a little frantic and desperate, but we were blown away by the room. Decor was great, it's obvious that thought went into the placement of furniture and electrical outlets. Bathroom was spacious with a large shower, bedding was out of this world. The breakfast included the usual continental items plus several different types of coffee, eggs, bacon and a waffle maker. Easily worth $30-40 for a couple. This was my first Hampton Inn stay but definately won't be the last!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jewelsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonmiddletown, Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Many thanks from our Hampton staff to you for the review of our hotel. We're delighted to know we met all of your expectations. Our staff takes great pride in the fact that you enjoyed our breakfast and décor. We hope that you will again choose us when visiting Middletown, Delaware

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

We stayed here one night when we were in the area for a special celebration. This is a relatively new property and reliably Hampton Inn-ish. We were concerned, though, when we arrived to discover that we (and several others in the area for the same celebration) could not check in until after 3 (the celebration was to start at 4 and there were showers to be taken and clothes to be ironed!). When the rooms became available they seemed to all come up at the same time. I don't quite understand how that can be and wondered about housekeeping management. Others were also more than inconvenienced when the elevator broke. We were in a nice room on the first floor - very quiet and comfortable - so we weren't affected by the elevator. I did overhear a hotel worker say, "Oh oh...we have a problem...the elvator broke again." Hmmmmm.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UMichAlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonmiddletown, Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Thank you for your feedback on your stay. We are happy to hear that you found the guest room to be nice. We do apologize that you had to check in at the same time as celebration goers. Sometimes, we do receive a rush of check in’s and the check in time at the hotel is 3 pm. If in the event we were booked the night before, then it does take housekeeping time all the way up in to check in time the next day to prepare the room to the highest standards. If in the future you do visit Middletown, Delaware, we hope that you will choose us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

We enjoy the Hampton Inn chain as we know what to expect and are rarely disappointed. This property was no different. A great stop on the way to Annapolis. The service was professional, room clean and well stocked and best of all a good nights sleep in pleasant surroundings. Can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bseashore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonmiddletown, Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your feedback is a vital part of our success and we value all the feedback we receive from our guests. Our staff looks forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
13.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Newark South
13.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkton
Hampton Inn Elkton
#1 of 8 in Elkton
354 reviews
13.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newark - Elkton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
19.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 20 in Dover
151 reviews
23.8 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 2 in Chestertown
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Middletown

Address: 117 Sandhill Dr, Middletown, DE 19709-5813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range: $125 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Middletown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hampton Inn Middletown, DE and enjoy a choice of thoughtful extras. Centrally located in Middletown, this hotel is conveniently situated close to a variety of attractions such as the University of Delaware and the city of Wilmington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Middletown Hotel Middletown
Middletown Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing