We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value.”

The Grille at Back Creek
Reserve with OpenTable
The Grille at Back Creek is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 90 Restaurants in Middletown
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newark, Delaware, United States
1 review
“Excellent value.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I'm a golfer and always have lunch after a round at The Grille. I get the turkey club and it is always excellent. I like this place so much that I have taken my wife and friends here just for a meal. Try their crab cakes. No filler, honest. And very reasonably priced. And the service is outstanding. What a hidden gem. Rate if 5 out of 5.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    28
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Townsend, Delaware
Level Contributor
165 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Worth the Search!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Been here three times recently,for lunch twice and dinner once. GREAT food! Fair prices,$10 burger,but BIG). The veal meatloaf around $14 was a 21/2 meals worth! Friendly waitresses/waiters.

Relaxing,but can get busy fast!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HonestGuyDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is a real find.t”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was the third time I have eaten here in the past month. The crabcakes were some of the best I've had and the wine list is excellent. The food is well prepared and presented in a pleasing manner. My only complaint is they offer no bread with dinner unless you want to pay $5.00 for a bread basket.My friend and I enjoyed our experience here and will return, but they really need to change the bread policy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
227 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good Food in an Unlikely Setting”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Grille is an-open-to-the-public restaurant at a golf course. On a recent visit, the dining area was packed with a noisy crowd, which likely slowed the service and made conversation a bit difficult. The menu and wine list have enough variety to please everyone and some daily specials add to the selection.

The food, however, was worth the wait as everything served at our table was very good. The crab cakes "without filler," for which the "East Carolina chef" is famous, were outstanding, the filet was tender and perfectly cooked, the salads and sides were very tasty and the desserts were plentiful.

While the Grille is a bit out of the way and not easy to find, make the effort and you will not be disappointed!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rolftowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Oh my god you have to go here the food is outstanding”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The pot pie was the best I've ever had and the calamari was outstanding You have to try this place The service was excellent the atmospheres okay but it is a golf course But the food is worth the trip

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jhajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grille at Back Creek also viewed

 

Been to The Grille at Back Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing