We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Pizza and Italian Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caruso's Bistro Cucina Italiana & Pizzeria

Caruso's Bistro Cucina Italiana & Pizzeria
Ranked #3 of 89 Restaurants in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 302-449-0097
Middletown, Delaware
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Pizza and Italian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

The pizza is really good here, as is the Italian food. I am always pleased with my food, however the service is usually slow. If you want to eat-in, expect to wait... but take it would be fine. Definitely great Italian food, but needs to be faster and friendlier to get 5 stars!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    22
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pizza....Everything is great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Love love love the pizza here - Hand tossed, thin and crispy crust with some chew too - all main dishes (pastas, strombolis, garlic bread cheesesteaks, veal and eggplants) are fantastic...their antipasto salad is also great...Wonderful place to eat good food!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TerriCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Level Contributor
191 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“BEST PIZZA IN DELAWARE IT'S NOT PIZZA UNLESS IT'S HAND TOSSED”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We moved to Delaware 11 years ago and having lived in Wildwood and Philadelphia for many years we were used to great food especially great pizza. We had tried most of the surrounding pizzerias and were extremely disappointed in the fact there was little or no hand tossed pizzas not only in Middletown , but Delaware. We discovered Caruso’s which was only a few miles from us around 6 or 7 years ago and were very happy to have found it. I wish I had found it sooner, the pizza is excellent, thin crispy and chew crust with the right amount of toppings. Prices are fair and service is always efficient and friendly. We’ve tried some dishes which were all good, but we mainly go there when in the mood for pizza. I will go anywhere else for pizza in Delaware. The restaurant is on the small side and a little loud because it is popular, but it is my number on for a great pizza in this state.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carbs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDDLETOWN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Italian food in the country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Caruso's makes the best pizza in the MOT area. Fresh dough makes the pizza a meal in itself. And their Italian sit-down menu is wonderful. Italian food that rivals restaurants in the bigger cities. Just come early, because the secret is out!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeonGMOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Middletown pizza king!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Grandmom pizza is worth the trip alone. It does get busy but it's the price of great food. The garlic bread cheesesteak is a treat. Can't go wrong here!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caruso's Bistro Cucina Italiana & Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Caruso's Bistro Cucina Italiana & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing