We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a five-star hotel...”
Review of Savannah Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Savannah Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Lewes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like a five-star hotel...”
Reviewed August 5, 2008

My husband and I spent two nights at the Savannah Inn to celebrate our anniversary. It could not have been better! The inn is lovely; the entire building is newly renovated and has magnificent public spaces (game room, large porch, living room) as well as beautifully appointed guest rooms. Our room had a wonderful bed with fluffy comforter, comfortable armchairs, a full-length mirror, and a large private bath with a huge shower. Everything is first-rate. Gina, the innkeeper, is an amazing cook, and the breakfasts were delicious. We enjoyed yogurt parfaits with fresh fruit and granola AND french toast one morning; the next day featured ham and egg cups with sauteed spinach and shallots, with grilled pineapple. The inn is just a block from the restaurants and shops in Lewes and an easy, pleasant walk. Beaches are all close; we visited beaches at Cape Henlopen, Indian Head, Rehoboth, and Bethany during our two-day stay. It was wonderful to have the Savannah Inn to come home to, and we can't wait to return.

  • Liked — Rooms and food
  • Disliked — Really loved it all
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Houseandhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
168
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bedminster, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2008

My husband and I stayed there the second weekend it was opened. Gina and her family were great. The place was extremely clean and very well restored....very zen like. Breakfasts were great! HIghly recommend this as a place to stay, away from the craziness at Rehoboth.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and the food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kjpcjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

What a wonderful inn! Beautifully restored on the outside, lovely on the inside! Easy walk to town, close to great restaurants, quiet and well appointed rooms, comfortable beds, delicious breakfast, very peaceful! Friendly and helpful innkeepers. Very easy to book on their website. Would stay here again. One of the best inns we have ever stayed in!

  • Liked — comfort
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mom3vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a two night stay in Lewes Delaware at this wonderful new B&B. If you are looking for a great location in Lewes, the Savannah Inn is it. It's about 2 blocks from the shops and many fine restaurants. The Cape Henlopen beach is a couple of miles away and the beach on the bay is even closer.
The hostess, Gina, was a delight and wowed us each morning with a delicious breakfast. The inn itself is a completely (and I do mean completely) restored large brick home. We were able to view each of the 5 rooms and they were all beautifully decorated and appointed. I kept thinking I was looking at the end result of a HGTV makeover. Excellent taste went into all the choices made to the furnishings and the colors used throughout. We had a large room with a heavenly bed and in spite of the fact it was facing the front street, it was very quiet. The large shower and spacious room made for a very comfortable stay. The common rooms include a great game table and a nice lounging area. They also provide an icemaker and small refrigerator for your use. Be sure to also check out Gina's handmade sea glass jewelry in the entrance. We can't wait to return to the Savannah Inn. A perfect stay.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and the fact that it was new
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Willy3477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#2 of 7 in Lewes
486 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
2.5 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#7 of 7 in Lewes
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
846 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
640 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Inn

Property: Savannah Inn
Address: 330 Savannah Rd, Lewes, DE 19958-1482
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savannah Inn Bed and Breakfast offers luxurious, coastal accommodations in downtown, historic Lewes, Delaware. A short walk to all shops and restaurants in town, and two minutes to the beach. The Savannah Inn is a newly renovated 1914 brick Victorian home that boasts an updated, elegant decor. Luxury amenities include gourmet breakfast as well as in-house massage services. All guest rooms have private baths. The expansive downstairs is perfect for an intimate reception. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Savannah Hotel Lewes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing