We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay!”
Review of Savannah Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Savannah Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Lewes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were looking to spend two nights over the weekend in Lewes, and after a delightful stay last fall at the Savannah Inn decided to book a return visit. Gina was a wonderful host, as was her mother Roseanne. The remodeled rooms are attractive with well appointed bathrooms, the house is well located for both a walk into town, or a bike ride into Rehoboth, and the breakfasts are delicious. Gina also gladly accommodated some dietary needs, which I was very much appreciated. There are lots of common areas to read a book or play a game, and there are small refrigerators on the first and third floors for you to store any snacks or purchases, which came in handy after we bought some things at the weekly summer Farmers Market. We had forgotten to bring a beach umbrella, and they gladly loaned us one for our visit to Henlopen Park. This is truly a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherylbaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 229 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

We spend 3 nights in the Copper Beech Suite and enjoyed not only a beautiful room but also our private wooden deck. Gina and her family are the best hosts ever and their breakfasts are outstanding (our favourites: peaches with honey and mascarpone!). Lewes is a charming little town and the Savannah Inn the perfect place to for a get-away. We would return ANYTIME!

Room Tip: All rooms are charming but the Copper Beech Suite has a private entrance and deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trailsnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a joy,plain and simple.
This updated home away from home is impecable.It is clean,with contemporary touches, comfortable rooms and a host family that truly enjoys what they are doing.
A perfect place in a perfect town !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goingbackhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is an historic house that was completely remodeled and refurbished to have all the modern conveniences while keeping its late-19th-century charm. The room we had was spacious, the bathroom well appointed, and the whole house decorated with taste and simplicity. It is absolutely spotless! The breakfasts were generous and beautifully prepared, and the host, Gina Hastings, is very attentive to guests' food requirements (allergies, etc.). It's also conveniently located close to the small commercial center of Lewes and within blocks of the beach and Cape Henlopen State Park.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LibraPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is among the best B&Bs we've ever enjoyed. The Copper Beech Suite is the perfect private getaway. Our first visit was for a two night stay last autumn - it was our first visit to Delaware. We are now back for a week-long stay and we are loving it. Cape Henlopen State Park is magnificent and just minutes away - we've spent hours beachcombing and walking the une trails. Rehoboth and Bethany Beaches are a short drive down the coastal highway - had a great lunch at OTH in Bethany today. Downtown Lewes is a 3 minute walk through lovely neighborhoods - shopping and dining enough to keep us busy. Can't possibly say enough good things about our charming hosts and the suite is impeccable in every way.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quahaugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Savannah Inn has become our home away from home. We are treated like family, the Inn is spotless, the hosts are among the best, and the breakfast delightful. The Inn's location is perfect for a stay in Lewes, as it's close to everything downtown. It's a place for couples, and a place to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimc107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is the fourth time my wife and I have stayed at the Savannah Inn. The quality has been excellent every time.

Gina and her family have made this 100 year old home feel my my home. It is tastefully decorated, fully functional, and extremely comfortable. I could live in this home. The beds, baths, porch, and common areas are all beautiful, comfortable, and functional.

The family also seems to be the ideal innkeepers. Warmth and hospitality naturally flow from Gina, her mother, and the whole family, even Auggie the doggie. They always make us feel welcome with just the right touch of hospitality and privacy.

The inn is in a perfect location - walking distance to great food and the beach. The homes in Lewes are a delightful break from suburban architecture. My wife and I love just walking around Lewes enjoying the sights. There are too many good restaurants and cafes to mention. Rehoboth is a 10-15 minute drive for even more great food and a boardwalk beach if one cares for that. The Lewes ferry will take you across to Cape May NJ for another beach town experience. My wife and I especially enjoy Quest Fitness, a great gym just a mile or so from the inn with weekly passes.

We have traveled to many countries and stayed in dozens of inns and resorts. The Savannah Inn is by far our favorite. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We like the Copper Beach suite the most. All the rooms are great, but this suite gives you a private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fbstrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#2 of 7 in Lewes
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Canal Square
Inn at Canal Square
#1 of 7 in Lewes
192 reviews
2.5 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#7 of 7 in Lewes
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Inn

Address: 330 Savannah Rd, Lewes, DE 19958-1482
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Price Range: $135 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savannah Inn Bed and Breakfast offers luxurious, coastal accommodations in downtown, historic Lewes, Delaware. A short walk to all shops and restaurants in town, and two minutes to the beach. The Savannah Inn is a newly renovated 1914 brick Victorian home that boasts an updated, elegant decor. Luxury amenities include gourmet breakfast as well as in-house massage services. All guest rooms have private baths. The expansive downstairs is perfect for an intimate reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Savannah Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Hotel Lewes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing