We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Savannah Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Savannah Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Lewes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a joy,plain and simple.
This updated home away from home is impecable.It is clean,with contemporary touches, comfortable rooms and a host family that truly enjoys what they are doing.
A perfect place in a perfect town !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goingbackhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 229 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is an historic house that was completely remodeled and refurbished to have all the modern conveniences while keeping its late-19th-century charm. The room we had was spacious, the bathroom well appointed, and the whole house decorated with taste and simplicity. It is absolutely spotless! The breakfasts were generous and beautifully prepared, and the host, Gina Hastings, is very attentive to guests' food requirements (allergies, etc.). It's also conveniently located close to the small commercial center of Lewes and within blocks of the beach and Cape Henlopen State Park.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LibraPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is among the best B&Bs we've ever enjoyed. The Copper Beech Suite is the perfect private getaway. Our first visit was for a two night stay last autumn - it was our first visit to Delaware. We are now back for a week-long stay and we are loving it. Cape Henlopen State Park is magnificent and just minutes away - we've spent hours beachcombing and walking the une trails. Rehoboth and Bethany Beaches are a short drive down the coastal highway - had a great lunch at OTH in Bethany today. Downtown Lewes is a 3 minute walk through lovely neighborhoods - shopping and dining enough to keep us busy. Can't possibly say enough good things about our charming hosts and the suite is impeccable in every way.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quahaugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Savannah Inn has become our home away from home. We are treated like family, the Inn is spotless, the hosts are among the best, and the breakfast delightful. The Inn's location is perfect for a stay in Lewes, as it's close to everything downtown. It's a place for couples, and a place to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimc107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is the fourth time my wife and I have stayed at the Savannah Inn. The quality has been excellent every time.

Gina and her family have made this 100 year old home feel my my home. It is tastefully decorated, fully functional, and extremely comfortable. I could live in this home. The beds, baths, porch, and common areas are all beautiful, comfortable, and functional.

The family also seems to be the ideal innkeepers. Warmth and hospitality naturally flow from Gina, her mother, and the whole family, even Auggie the doggie. They always make us feel welcome with just the right touch of hospitality and privacy.

The inn is in a perfect location - walking distance to great food and the beach. The homes in Lewes are a delightful break from suburban architecture. My wife and I love just walking around Lewes enjoying the sights. There are too many good restaurants and cafes to mention. Rehoboth is a 10-15 minute drive for even more great food and a boardwalk beach if one cares for that. The Lewes ferry will take you across to Cape May NJ for another beach town experience. My wife and I especially enjoy Quest Fitness, a great gym just a mile or so from the inn with weekly passes.

We have traveled to many countries and stayed in dozens of inns and resorts. The Savannah Inn is by far our favorite. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We like the Copper Beach suite the most. All the rooms are great, but this suite gives you a private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fbstrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our experience at the Savannah Inn was one of unpretentious comfort. The place is beautiful and perfectly clean. Our room (Sol) was the perfect size for my spouse and I, and the shower was particularly enjoyable. The stay was made more pleasant by Gina and her mom because they seemed genuinely excited to have as their guests. Gina is a good innkeeper, but also a good cook! Omelets to order, pancakes and sausage, fresh fruit salad, frittatas, smoke salmon, fresh bagels, everything was delicious. We particularly liked that there was no fuss; Gina was there to check us in, give us a quick tour, and check out was a matter of leaving the room key on the counter at breakfast. I should mention that this was our first time to DE beaches, and we found wonderfully quaint shops and excellent restaurants (with a little internet research) in Lewes and nearby Rehoboth.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilaWeekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

If you visit Lewes Delaware, you will not find much nicer accommodations or nicer people than Gina and Rose. Our second visit to the Inn was in November 2012 and we brought our best friends with us from New York to spend a weekend in Delaware.

We were greeted like family and were treated the same way throughout our two night stay.

We hoped to make a good impression on our friends who had never been to Lewes, and they loved it. The rooms are spotless and the breakfast excellent.

It is very nice to walk around town or eat supper knowing you only have to walk two blocks until you are home.

We look forward to returning to the Savannah in late winter or early spring.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimc107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#2 of 7 in Lewes
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Canal Square
Inn at Canal Square
#1 of 7 in Lewes
192 reviews
2.5 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#7 of 7 in Lewes
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Inn

Address: 330 Savannah Rd, Lewes, DE 19958-1482
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Price Range: $135 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savannah Inn Bed and Breakfast offers luxurious, coastal accommodations in downtown, historic Lewes, Delaware. A short walk to all shops and restaurants in town, and two minutes to the beach. The Savannah Inn is a newly renovated 1914 brick Victorian home that boasts an updated, elegant decor. Luxury amenities include gourmet breakfast as well as in-house massage services. All guest rooms have private baths. The expansive downstairs is perfect for an intimate reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Savannah Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Hotel Lewes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing