We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes the nicest surprise is in your own backyard.”
Review of Hotel Rodney

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Rodney
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2009

I recently planned a "Get Re-acquainted with Our Town Weekend" as a surprise birthday gift to a friend. I had watched with great interest the extensive renovations being made to the Hotel Rodney and delighted in both the design and the execution. The concept of a boutique hotel, small and cozy, is most appealing, and certainly a concept most appropriate to our charming, seaside, jewel of a community. I asked to see several of the rooms and marveled at the integration of the building's former Victoriana with its new clean and edgy contemporary sophistication. From window treatments, bed linens and upholstery to the stunning black and white marble baths, flat screen televisions and accent lighting, the effect was as soothing as it was aesthetically pleasing. I selected a spacious, open suite with sitting area that would have made a fabulous New York apartment. The views reinforced the diverse architectural beauty of Lewes, and the canal, one block away, shimmered. The handsome lobby, convenient restaurants and attentive,professional staff, provided an overall wonderful experience. The perfect winter escape. We hope to make it an annual tradition, if not more frequently. P.S. I've reserved five rooms in mid-April for a long weekend when my entire family arrives from New England to celebrate Mom's 90th birthday.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdwardLewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 201 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2009

Stayed on Saturday (Valentine's Day) with wife. Found hotel to be in a nice area with nice shops and restaurants. Reminded me of staying in the East Village (NYC).

Liked how they've renovated the place and settled on hardwood floors. Decor is chic and urban.

Only complaint.... Ventilation between the ground floor restaurant and the rooms. We had a room right above the restaurant and the ventilation was not the greatest. We smelled the restaurant and cooking grease in our room. We had the staff move us to another available room (a downgrade) which was smaller but nice. Staff recognized the ventilation problem and in addition to discounting our room for the downgrade, they took additional off for the inconvenience.

Would recommend to a friend but the ventilation problem of the restaurant "smells" getting into the rooms and hallways needs to be addressed. Other than that, I like the place and would stay again. Also, with the hardwood flooring, the place is not the quietest. So if you are looking for absolute peace and quiet, this place is not for you.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roybus14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2009

I had a wicked time at this small hotel. The staff were amazing, they went out of there way to make us feel really welcome. The restaurant was lovely, both the staff and food was great, we really enjoyed it and would 100 percent stay again and recommend!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BelfastVicky1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel Rodney this summer. There was a wonderful charm to this historic hotel. The rooms were simple, clean and classy. The hotel staff were very hospitable and the service was exceptional! We had a few extra requests during our stay and each of the requests were met. The location of the hotel is extremely convenient to all the wonderful little shops Lewes has to offer, many within walking distance.

The next time my husband and I vacation in Lewes, we will be staying at the Hotel Rodney. We highly recommend this hotel. We have encouraged all of our family and friends to make a trip to Lewes and stay at the hotel.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank kendelala1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

Great stay at the Rodney!! The hotel is beautiful and the people were so friendly. Our room had the most amazing walk-in shower. The bed was luxurious. All the details of the rooms were carefully thought out. From the large, flat panel tv to the ipod docking station, to the stylish furnishing, we loved our stay and have highly recommended the hotel to all our friends!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank web2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We were there for a two day midweek getaway. It had been recently renovated. The rooms were very small, and the hardwood flooring squeaked up a storm. We heard everything, and I mean everything, from the guest above us. The staff was practically invisible. The restaurant in the same building was very good and way too expensive. Would not stay there again nor recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pepper5Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2008

We love this hotel - I don't know why others have bad things to say about it. We "discovered" it last summer, when we wanted ot head out to the beach at the last moment. The Comfort Inn was over $200, and I happened upon this place, which was less expensive and sooooo much nicer. Yes, the rooms are small, but beautifully redone and the beds a comfortable. You are away from the noise and teenagers in Rehoboth, and Lewes is just the most charming cute little town.

I consider this to be a still partially undiscovered gem, so nicely renovated with a mixture of modern and "antique-style" furnishings. Who wants to be checking their email when they're at the beach, anyway??

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caligirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#2 of 7 in Lewes
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Canal Square
Inn at Canal Square
#1 of 7 in Lewes
192 reviews
2.6 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#7 of 7 in Lewes
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
3.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rodney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rodney

Address: 142 2nd St, Lewes, DE 19958-1396
Location: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range: $99 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rodney is a boutique style hotel fashioned after classic New York style hotels. The hotel has its home in the heart of historic Lewes, Delaware, which is known for being the first town in the first state. The hotel is located in a building built in 1926, on the Historical Registry, on property originally owned by members of the historically famous Rodney family. At the Hotel Rodney the staff and management strive to meet all of our guests needs and offer a gym and business center as well as 24 hour front desk service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rodney Hotel Lewes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing