We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit”
Review of Fish On

Fish On
Ranked #61 of 88 Restaurants in Lewes
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Second visit”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We really enjoy this restaurant and their interesting menu and will continue to visit when at the beach. The fried brussels sprouts are fantastic.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarylandJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    49
    17
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hellertown, PA
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I go into resturants with no expectations at all, that way I'm not overly disappointed. This place was a bit busy so there was a 20 minute wait. Typical for this area in August. The wait staff was friendly and knowledgable of the menu and provided good all around service. The food was good and everyone in our party was happy with the meal. Overall, a nice repast and we were pleasantly sated.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TJPeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoDelConceptsManager, Manager at Fish On, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thanks for the great review! We appreciate you waiting for a table - often, August is very crowded. We're thrilled you were happy with our service and staff, as well as with your meal. We will look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“third year review”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were back in Lewes this year, and again went to Fish On twice. The lobster BLTs were still good, the beer selections were still interesting, the crab cakes were still good. This year's revelation was lobster mashed potatoes. What a crazy wonderful notion! The portion is absurd as a side dish unless shared among four or more people. Even then, it is, for practical purposes, an entree. Warning - what Fish On calls chowder is a meal, not a soup. It's more a seafood stew with a lot of seafood in a creamy sauce, not liquid. You do not need what they call add-ons, unless you plan to share. The only disappointment was the bread - mushy and tasteless. Fish On should find a better source or perhaps put this bread in the oven for a while and serve it warm. For dessert, we once again ordered what Fish On calls chocolate cake, which is like calling Everest a hill. We asked our server if one person ever ordered it and ate it, and, indeed, she said she'd never seen it done. It takes at least four eaters, six would be better. It *is* chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream, but it's more like chocolate bliss, hot and cold, gooey and solid, a once-a-year indulgence. Fish On is open only for happy hour and dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nonaccidentaltourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media PA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great value”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

First visit here, and we will be back. The servers were pleasant, the service was lightning fast (Sunday night after Labor Day), the portions were very generous, and the food tasted great.

We started with drinks - grey goose vodka martini for him, margarita on the rocks for me. If you are sensible, you will stop with one. My margarita -served up in a pint glass - lasted through the whole meal. As I said - generous portions.

The bread was the first clue about how good the food would be - it was dense, soft and warm.

If you are very, very lucky, the New England seafood chowder will be on the menu the night you visit. At first, I thought $10 a bit steep for a bowl of soup...until they served it up - in a pasta bowl - and I tasted it. Rich, creamy, lots of layers of flavor - and little flavor surprises, like the bits of sweet corn mixed in. My husband had the beet salad - another generous, tasty portion. We probably could have ordered a starter and a salad each and been very satisfied, but the entrees looked too good.

Both of us ordered the baby lobster tails stuffed with crab imperial. Three lobster tails - lump crab in the imperial - served over haricots verts and creamy mashed potatoes. We enjoyed every morsel. If we had been sensible, we could have eaten half and taken home the other half, but why be sensible when you're on vacation?

A little bit of common sense prevailed, and we shared dessert - apple pie with streusel topping, served with cinnamon ice cream and caramel sauce. This was the only slight disappointment, because I felt the apples were a bit underdone. But the ice cream and the rest of the pie were first rate.

Sunday night the restaurant offers a 3 course special for $19. If you are going out on a budget, grab this! We saw it being served to many tables. First course was a mixed salad. Main course was BBQ ribs - a full rack - with sides,and dessert was a normal sized apple crisp. There were enough ribs on each plate for at least two big meals.

We are really looking forward to stopping back during happy hour and sampling that menu!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“4th visit still great”
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Had dinner with the wife. Did 2 appetizers and wife had fish sandwich. Fried oysters one of the best I 've had anywhere with fresh oysters fried in a light coating. Smoked seafood salad also. Excellent. Wife 's fish sandwich very tasty. Portions big so plan on a lunch too . Nice ambience,serve staff. No reservations but have never had an issue. Folks who own this also have several other innovative seafood places in the area. Menu has good variety with a few specials. Great place.

Helpful?
1 Thank waterlogged65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoDelConceptsManager, Manager at Fish On, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you very much for the nice review! A consistently great dining experience for all of our customers is our goal. We are delighted that you have had this experience. We will look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fish On? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing