We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fish On

Fish On
Ranked #67 of 88 Restaurants in Lewes
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

This evening three NY ladies had a wonderful dining experience ! Saturday at 8:00pm there was no wait, but they had a nice crowd. We started with "their" New England Chowder, and while not traditional, it displayed that the chef had a deft hand; no one ingredient overpowered the other- it was perfect ! My sister tried the sautéed scallops, which were spicy, but just right. Mom had the Lobster BLT, and loved the freshness. I had the fried soft shell crabs which came with the freshest salad with the lightest dressing, it was delicious. Everyone around us seemed to be enjoying and complementing their dishes. Wonderful ambience, and a great start to our vacation !

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lore G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoDelConceptsManager, Manager at Fish On, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your first experience at Fish On and that your vacation began on a high note. We encourage you to try one of our other restaurants in Rehoboth and Bethany Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    43
    17
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

One of few restaurants where meals have been consistently good and fresh.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank roseanne124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring, md
Level Contributor
556 reviews
414 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices, but bad service at the bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

This past weekend my wife and I decided to return back to Fish On! after a long hiatus. We did not have reservations, and so were content to sit in the bar area to have a drink while waiting for a table. The bartenders were overworked and it was very difficult to even order a drink. After ten minutes we finally succeeded in placing our order, but then we had to remind the bartender twice that we were waiting for service. Finally, we were seated at a dining table after twenty five minutes, and several minutes later the bartender arrived with our drinks. We were not happy to have waited so long and I nicely complained to the manager.

However, the waitress was terrific and so was the food. Our appetizers were mussels and flatbread. Both were delicious. My wife had the Lewes seafood stew (cioppino) and I had pan-seared sea bass. Both of them were very good. The manager responded to my complaint about the slow service at the bar by apologizing and by comping the drinks and the appetizers. That was a nice resolution and was much appreciated. Thus, despite the rough start, we enjoyed the evening.

The place has a nice feel to it, and we will give it another try.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IAP65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishOnManager, Manager at Fish On, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review of Fish On - we are so sorry you were disappointed with your encounter at our bar. It is our job to ensure that you have a great restaurant experience from start to finish. Unfortunately, especially on a weekend night, sometimes the bartenders can become overwhelmed with demands. However, this is no excuse for your wait time. We are glad that you were satisfied with the manager's response and that you enjoyed the food. We hope you will afford us an opportunity to serve you again in the future. Once again, thank you for your response - it allows us to improve our level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
293 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Great seafood restaurant, location...patio....service...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful food. Been at least 15 times to fish on. Great service and always good food. Wonderful outdoor patio and with kids its perfect. The lobster blt is my favorite as well as the house salad and their own bread before dinner makes me eat bread again!! Always a safe bet. Go, enjoy and relax, that's the vibe at fish on

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrem99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Downsliding Continues”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We have gone here regularly for years and have watched its quality and attentiveness slowly decline. Staff is young, inexperienced and self absorbed. They run out of specials early, and portions have become smaller. Out of a party of six, only one enjoyed their entree. On a prior visit, I ordered the Clam Dunk, in which 4 clams arrived unopened and the kitchen didn't notice before it came out. Was ill for two days. We have gone regularly to Sodel Concepts othre restaurants and have noticed the same decline. They appear to be more interested in volume and profit these days than quality and service. We'll me taking a break from their restaurants for awhile!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Fish On, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Hi, Jeff - thanks for taking the time to express your sentiments. We're so sorry that you were disappointed with your experience at Fish On. Anything less than great food and service is a failure to us. We hope that you will afford us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Thank you again for your comments - we take them very seriously and will be sure to share them with our management and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fish On? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing