We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great historic tour by trolley”

Lewes Historical Society
Ranked #14 of 51 things to do in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great historic tour by trolley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

A most informative tour of the historic district led by a member of the historical society. Air conditioned trolley...it's not big so reservations are recommended.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank happybooker46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    12
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Oldest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Great little historic colonial house(I believe the original part 1665), which houses the historical society. Very engaging staff.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank dougiefresh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quaint But Enthusiastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

On a recent stroll through downtown Lewes one saturday morning my wife and I stopped into the Lewes Historical Society museum and were greeted by a enthusiastic young lady who then proceeded to give us a private, 45 minute tour of the museum house and it's history, along with the history of Lewes itself. We had a genuinely enjoyable time and walked out smiling about our new home. The whole arrangement, which includes an area of town designated a Historic District was a peaceful, relaxing respite and we were happy for our choice.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hqdepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, MD
Level Contributor
122 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful Old Buildings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

The Lewes Historical Society offers docent-led tours through a complex of historic buildings, most of which had been moved to the site. The tour took us through a couple of homes, a general store, schoolhouse and doctor's office. The buildings were all furnished with appropriate historic furnishings and artifacts. The general store and doctor's office were especially fascinating! A must for history buffs!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jrepok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Historical Society of Lewes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Very knowledgeable and accommodating folks staff this venue. Well worth visiting.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Valkyrie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewes Historical Society also viewed

 

Been to Lewes Historical Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing