We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meh :-/”

Gilligan's Waterfront Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
2 reviews
“Meh :-/”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Wife and I stopped in for a quick lunch. Ordered the Tomato Napoleon (10$) and Shrimp Tacos (12$). The tomato dish was delish, highly recommend. However, the 'Shrimp Tacos' we found curious. The menu said "friend shrimp in a Baja cream sauce," but what arrived was shrimp salad on a potato roll. We asked the bar tender if this was in fact 'Shrimp Tacos,' he confirmed. Arriving home we checked the menu on Trip Advisor, alas, "Shrimp Rolls" are on it, exactly what we had. Bottom line, if you order fries shrimp tacos but get shrimp salad on a roll, don't expect your server to care.

Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    63
    33
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Neck, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
236 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Relaxing, Waterfront Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Gilligans is a small waterfront restaurant on the canal in Lewes. It's claim to fame are their crab cakes which are plump and delicious. My husband ordered mussels ($11) for an appetizer and although they were tasty they were rather small. Next course were the Spinach Salad ($10) and Wedge Salad ($10). They were ok. Main course was a Crab Cake Dinner ($25) and a Crab Cake Sandwich ($18), Both used lump crab meat and were delicious although a little pricey. House wine was $6.50 a glass and was a healthy pour. Our server Lynn was very friendly and efficient. Go for the view of the canal and the atmosphere. They do have inside seating but I had been told by friends that the chairs hurt your back. Gilligans has an excellent website that includes a menu with prices. There are also photos of the tables and chairs both inside and out. It's a fun place to eat, I would go there again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
932 reviews
399 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 715 helpful votes
“The problems with reviewing a restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

In any location, it depends on what kind of food and atmosphere you like. Rating a seafood place against a steakhouse is problematic. If you want 'cozy', maybe a marina dock isn't ideal. Personally, I was looking for waterfront, outside and seafood. Gilligan's gave it to me. Service was friendly, fairly fast and professional - accommodating an unusual request I intentionally made as a test. The chicken tortilla soup was good, though nothing extraordinary, except that this was one of the places smart enough to serve the tortilla pieces separately so they don' get soggy before you get to the soup. The crab cake sandwich was one of the two best I had on this trip.
Is this the best waterside seafood meal I've ever had? No, it was just very good.
I noticed that the diners at an adjacent table were not as thrilled. There were some difficulties the waiter attributed to "problems with the frier". The main thing is that he tried to make it right for them.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HowlnBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Avoid this place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

With so many good restaurants in Lewes, I would suggest you avoid this one. Both the service & food were poor. I ordered a simple salad topped with salmon (which was the fish of the day). It was advertised as a salad with fresh seasonal mixture. My partner ordered fish tacos. After being seated, it took the waiter 10 min to acknowledge us. It was not a crowded place. The fish tacos came out & a salad with chicken. The waiter did not serve it but took it away. Fast forward to 25 minutes later. No salad. So much for eating together. I complained to manager & she immediately brought me the salad with salmon. The salad was bland -absolutely no seasoning - & raw! The fresh seasonal consisted of just lettuce, 2 cherry tomatoes & I sliver of cuke. They did not charge me but it was a waste of an hour of my time & I had to go someplace else to eat (which was carry out) because I was starving. Avoid this place. No wonder it was empty.

Helpful?
3 Thank Sherry414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleeggharbornj
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best crab cake ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Went here on A Saturday night. Our owners at a nearby bed and breakfast made reservations for us for 7pm. You do need reservations. I had the crab cake, served with mashed potatoes and asparagus. Hubby had the fish and chips. Must try. Had a wonderful seat right outside by the water. Service excellent... will definetly go there again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leolady878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilligan's Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing