We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas Delight”
Review of Cafe Azafran - CLOSED

Cafe Azafran
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tapas Delight”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

With friends we went to Lewes and tried out Cafe Azafran. We had a late seating and ordered salads and 4 small plates. They were cooking paella that night and had some left over which they shared with those arriving late. The paella was delicious as were the other plates. I very much enjoyed their beet salad. Good friends, good food and good wine made a wonderful evening. Check it out when you are at the shore.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandywiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    36
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Millsboro, DE
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tapas and Music on Thursdays”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great samplings and wonderful entertainment- a locals favorite worth stopping in an enjoying. The only complaint is that the porch area can be very cold in winter- sit near the bar!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MillsboroTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bistro dining perfect for a summer evening”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Cafe Azafran has been a regular breakfast stop after biking from Rehoboth to Lewes, but this was our first dinner. We liked sitting outside, in the casual/rustic courtyard on a warm summer night. Service was pleasant and attentive without intruding, the house sangria was all that our waiter had promised, and our meals were tasty and the portions generous. Fresh, fresh seafood and a beautiful salad of local heirloom tomatoes to start. We shared a decadent affogato (sp?) for dessert, coffee and chocolate, and the perfect end to an excellent meal...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwoToGo_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Still making some of the best sandwiches around!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Whenever I make it to Lewes I have to get a fix at Cafe Azafran. They make fabulous tasty sandwiches and dangerously good desserts. They also do a great job of making a simple sandwich my daughter will love, which is saying a lot! Great salads and wonderful charcuterie and cheese plate as well. One of my favorite stops anywhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prontoeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a treat in a little town.....”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We happened upon this small restaurant in Lewes, Deleware which is just a few miles from Rehoboth Beach and just off the Ferry from Cape May. My daughter had the Gourmet Grilled Cheese and announced it as the best sandwich she has ever had. Our other daughter, a very picky eater, had the kid's grilled cheese and ate almost every bite including the crust. My wife had the brie salad and ate every scrap. I had the Spanish Platter (ham, manchego, Romesco, olices) and couldn't get enough.

The food was plentiful and powerfully flavorful. Worth a stop if you are in Rehoboth or nearby.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ARuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Azafran also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing