We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great crab cake sandwitch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Striper Bites

Striper Bites
107 Savannah Rd, Lewes, DE 19958-1437
302-645-4657
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 88 Restaurants in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great crab cake sandwitch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stopped in for a quick bite on our way back up from Rehoboth Beach DE. The service was excellent and the for was great. At the end of town but worth the walk after you've seen the shops.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    117
    42
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Modern but classic seafood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We went to Striper Bites last week and enjoyed both the atmosphere and the food.

The decor has a New England feel, with clapboard outside and a warm but modern interior. Each section is small but that keeps it from having the cavernous feeling of a typical restaurant. It almost feels like a beach house that's been converted, with a bar area, an indoor (small) dining room, a porch and an outside seating area.

Both of our meals were very good though a little boiler plate. I had the seafood fra diavolo and my wife had a shrimp and rice dish. We also had a very good nacho plate which is unusual for a seafood restaurant but worked with the casual atmosphere.

There was a little bit of a wait, but that's expected. It's the week following July 4th so we expected that. The waitress we had was very good, friendly and helpful. It's a borderline 4-5 star place, only 4 stars because there are many good restaurants in Lewes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good LEWES food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The atmosphere and food was so good. Definitely try the Nor'easter or the Blackened Tuna Pasta. While visiting the bar make sure you sample the Pinnacle Whipped Crush as well!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveVT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our first visit ever to Lewes, DE. Charming little village. We couldn't get in to Striper Bites on Friday night - long wait - so we tried again on Saturday night. Enjoyed the tuna-on-wonton appetizer - sooo yummy! The Amaretto Chicken was great; my husband really enjoyed the seafood pasta dish. The atmosphere there is so up-beat and friendly. The mix of all age groups makes it a welcoming place for families, couples, and friends. We enjoyed it so much, we ate there again on Sunday evening!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skylrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Food was tasty, but wait was very long”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Our recent meal was good, but the service was incredibly slow: 1) 25 minutes for drinks, 2) at 1 hour we received our starter; and 3) our main course arrived approximately 30 minutes after that. Many tables were empty and yet we were told that the kitchen was backed up. Be prepared to wait.....

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Striper Bites also viewed

 

Been to Striper Bites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing