We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Questionable”

Hing Wang Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 89 Restaurants in Lewes
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Questionable”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

On our way back to Lewes, spotted this little family owned place. So decided to try it.
Not really a restaurant, more a walk in, order then take home or back to your holiday accomodation.
Ordered our all time favourite, sweet and sour chicken,$7:95, which came with a huge box of white rice, far too much rice and the roast pork egg foo young $6:75.
To be honest, these choices where o.k on the flavour side but, NEVER have we ever seen or tasted anything like the sweet and sour sauce that comes in a seperate container. It tasted like weak sludgy gravy, not a sweet or a sour in sight. Promptly flushed the sauce down the toilet and ate the other items dry, sighhh.
Gordon Ramsey, please pop in and show them how to make a proper sauce.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PansyPotter02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware, United States
2 reviews
“Great food, great price”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is definitely not an eat in restaurant although they have a few tables. Our family has been getting take out from Hing Wang for years. Small family owned restaurant. Food is great, prices are good and quantities are large. We have recommended this to other friends who all love it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnC1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach
Level Contributor
318 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Best Chinese takeout at the beach! Go there you won't be disappointed.”
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We were so happy when we found this place. It is a great deal for the dollars. And the food is so tasty, made to order, always good quality. Recommend the soups, spare ribs, and crab wontons. Delicious! Just do not eat there -- this place is for takeout.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shirley0415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great cheap takeout - guaranteed”
Reviewed December 4, 2010

I'm compelled to write a review, because this take-out place is really consistent and great. They give tons of food for cheap. If you want seafood, it's about $10 a dish, otherwise, about $7.50. They are super nice. It is not really an eat-in place, although they have some tables that are barely as good as picnic tables. So if you are expecting ambiance, it will rate a 1 out of 100. Locals ALL takeout. It's the best in the area, and even though this is a small town area, it's as good as anywhere, having lived in Philly and DC and dined in many, many places.

    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joejkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place is seriously great.”
Reviewed October 10, 2010

I have never found a cheap Chinese restaurant that even compares to Hing Wang. There food is legitimately delicious and good quality. The food is really cheap, but also really good. You get an incedible amount of food for your money- and they even throw in a free appetizer for larger orders (I think it is orders over $25)!

My absolute favorite dish is the szechuan bean curd. Unlike most Chinese restaurants the tofu is un- fried and the sauce is actually spicy. The tofu is is an awesome, spicy black bean sauce with mushrooms, carrots, peas, water chestnuts, baby corn and scallions. I cannot get enough of this stuff.

Their fried dumplings are also amazing. The pork filling is flecked with ginger and scallions and the dipping sauce is ridiculously good.

My dad always gets the crispy chicken in orange flavor. The name is kind of odd but the dish is great- lean chicken in a think sauce with orange rind and broccoli.

The cold sesame noodles are also great- very flavorful with a nice sweetness.

If I lived in Lewes full time I would get Hing Wang at least once a year. This is a restaurant that I tell my friends about!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KCrawfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hing Wang Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hing Wang Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing