We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy brunch”
Review of The Buttery

The Buttery
Ranked #16 of 88 Restaurants in Lewes
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Classy brunch”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Often go there for brunch. This is an old world charm place. Interesting to walk around the building and admire the archetecture. Food is excellent; a "white table cloth" type of place. Not your typical beach dinning.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dryfly0618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    123
    67
    33
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good fare in Lewes”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

You should have a reservation, and this was a very nice restaurant for a romantic occasion, reminding us of the Villa Schratt in Bad Ischl, where his mistress entertained Kaiser Frans Josef. We also saw small family birthday celebrations. We asked before ordering and our waitress kept us from over-ordering. We split the pate plate, which is large and excellent, and each ordered a main course. My wife had the crab cakes, which were meaty and not the crumby ones served at many Delmarva eateries, and could not finish both. I had a special of the night, braised beef short ribs over polenta, and this was as perfect in taste and quantity as I can imagine. Desert offerings were very tempting and we shared a butterscotch shortbread treat. The bill with two glasses of Proseco was about 110, not cheap, but worth the price.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank wizinit_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finksburg, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic Special Dinner”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We just had the best dinner at the Buttery! They seated us at the best table in the corner window. Three people had the $30 fixe prixe dinner that included soup or salad, entree and dessert. Two had the salmon and one had breast of duck. I had the beef tenderloin. All meals were wonderful and the service was excellent. And the blueberry martini was out of this world. Loved it all!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Service and Attitude!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The waiter was sloppy, arrogant and inefficient. He literally spilled soup on me, with no apology. The food was mediocre and very overpriced. The Maitre de was uninterested in my bad experience and told me to go elsewhere if I did not like it there. Believe me I will! I suggest that you do also.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JRW333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Brunch at the Buttery”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

WIth a reservation (don't go without one), we had a lovely brunch at the crowded Buttery. Great coffee, pastry basket, fruit plate (could use a little sprucing up) and delicious entrees. We had the eggs benedict with spinach and crab and the crab nicoise salad. Service was quick, surprisingly so but the food came out hot and delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itsmyturnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buttery also viewed

 

Been to The Buttery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing