We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Atmosphere”
Review of Rose and Crown

Rose and Crown
Ranked #27 of 88 Restaurants in Lewes
Cuisines: American, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sterling, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Atmosphere”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We came here for drinks and appetizers and it was all quite tasty! The best part of this restaurant is the atmosphere. I definitely want to go back and try their dinner menu.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McCat98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    88
    35
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware, United States
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner in Lewes”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We visited the Rose and Crown for dinner and were pleasantly surprised. We used to eat at the original one but had not tried the new one in their new location. The atomosphere was very much in keeping with the original--brick walls, lots of wood. Since it wasnt crowded,we ate in the bar area. The menu was diverse and the food was delicious. I had the pot roast which was perfect and my husband had the fish and chips, which he said was great. Our server was attentive and pleasant. We will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Very disappointed in the food. Server was very good, however the kitchen didn't seem to care my food was not done properly. Wouldn't recommend this restaurant . Sad because it's in the perfect location.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Another dinner spot to try in Lewes”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We were given a gift card to this restaurant so we figured that we would give it a try.
We had only a short wait and we were taken to our table. We placed our order and the was served in good time.
The platters were all presented well and the portions were generous.
Dinner was enjoyable and we would return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed...”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We shouldn't have gone to a British-style pub for Irish coffee. Stopped in on a chilly evening before attending an event in Lewes after a lovely dinner in Rehoboth hoping to warm up with a coffee for "dessert." We wanted to sit at the bar, but none of the available seats were together so we were directed to lounge seating that extended in the hotel lobby. The coffees had some sort of cream "cake" floating on top with green food coloring (?) on top of that. The drink was very bitter and we only took a few sips before determining that they weren't going to be enjoyable. I took the drinks up to the bar and explained the problem to the waitress. She assured me that they weren't made with instant coffee or coffee made earlier in the day and suggested that they were just too strong. I've never known Irish whiskey to be bitter, maybe it was the food coloring. A bill was presented with no apology or offer to replace the offending drinks. We'll be looking for another place next time...not sure if we want to try the restaurant considering the low level of concern for customer satisfaction.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrisea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing