We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful makeover”
Review of Rose and Crown

Rose and Crown
Ranked #27 of 88 Restaurants in Lewes
Cuisines: American, British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful makeover”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We really missed the old Rose and Crown. It was a long time coming, but now there is an upscale improvement. The service was great. The calamari was tender and nicely spicy. Short rib sliders were a very pleasant change from burgers. Tasty and tender. The bar looks very open and inviting. Can't wait to go back

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lewesdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    88
    35
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“It's Back and It's A Winner”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I had lunch with 3 lady friends recently. We were all totally delighted. The menu has many nice choices in addition to the typical British fare. Nice beer, wine and cocktail selection, too.
The decor is delightful with a bright, airy open look while still managing to look like a pub. Good service, too.

I had a special request which was not done. Not only was the mistake quickly rectified, but the manager came over and profusely apologized and didn't charge for my sandwich. I hope they don't do this too often because I want them to stay in business!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue in reho K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Incredible crab cake dinner”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

A light, crab-filled crab cake sandwich with unique flavors, including tangerine slices: a pleasant surprise. There was so much crab in this sandwich that it could have easily been two! I ended up removing most of the bread and just savoring the crab. The butternut squash soup was delicious. Other meals ordered that got rave reviews at our table were the five-onion soup, the salmon, and the shepherd's pie with duck comfit. The service was stellar; our server gave excellent suggestions and was wonderfully attentive. We finished our meal with the apple cobbler a la mode: tender-crisp apples, nicely spiced; a perfect ending for a perfect meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teri99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEWES
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“The Rose and Crown is back - and Better than ever”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

It is now open and running strong. Two weeks now into its new season, Rose and Crown is serving some righteous food and incredible beers and wines. We've been there four or five time and have sampled the menu: fish and chips, crab cakes, short rib burgers, beef and bacon burgers, the best calamari I've eaten, shepherd's pie. This is a pub/restaurant that has to be experienced. The clientel is local, tourists, and diners looking for the best food and finest drinks. Don't miss this gem.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroadagain09_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Md
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“A nice pub like restaurant”
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Kind of an English pub type of place. We thought the food was great and the prices are as well. Good selection of beers and after dinner drinks also.
You have to try the cinnamon apple cobbler for dessert

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose and Crown also viewed

 

Been to Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing