We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Friendly”
Review of Heritage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heritage Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean and Friendly”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Clean, friendly, large rooms. The parking lot view is also noisier since the hotel is on route one. The hotel needs to upgrade its TVs. The breakfast is just ok. Nothing hot other than toasting bagels, English muffins.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JASPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    40
    29
    22
    20
See reviews for
68
43
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
PHILADELPHIA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We took our grandchildren for a pleasant stay at the Heritage Inn. The children loved the pool and we enjoyed a nice sized room. Staff was friendly and helpful.
The downside included old time tvs which need to be updated with flat screen models. We wanted to see World Cup matches and ended up heading to Grotto Pizza in order to be able to see the action.
Free breakfast is nice and handy right there at the inn but there were no hot items and most things served were loaded with carbs. An egg dish and more fresh fruit would have been welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Heritage Inn is the only place I stay when in the Rehoboth Beach area. It is centrally located close to the beach, restaraunts and outlet shopping. The rooms are very spacious, always clean and the prices are very reasonable for the accomodations you get. The King suites are my favorite with a king size bed, balcony overlooking the pool and golf course and a seperate room with fieplace, bar and sitting area. The staff is friendly, professional and accomodating. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: the Kings suites are the best and not that expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Basic but friendly hotel. The rooms are fine.

Outlet stores (zero sales tax in Delaware!) are nearby.

Dear Heritage Inn and Golf club the breakfast is well below par.

Otherwise a good stay and wonderful sunset view from the balcony.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PieterBloemendaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Heritage Inn has what we need when we travel to the Delaware shore points. It is centrally located between Lewes/Cape Henlopen State Park and Rehoboth Beach where we like to hang while on vacation. The rooms are large, quiet and clean, the beds are comfortable, the bathroom is spacious with good water pressure, there is a refrigerator, the wifi works great in the room and the air conditioning works well when needed. There is also an adequate workout facility and a nice pool. Plus the price is reasonable. There is also a good ice machine on the third floor. Really - that is all we need as most of our time is spent on the beach, exploring the park, eating great food at area restaurants, shopping in town, checking out a film across the street at Midway or drinking great beer at Dogfish Head.
The down side? The breakfast is the typical useless carbohydrate fare with NO fruit and dishwater-like coffee. But hey, this isn't Germany. A good breakfast from a hotel in the US is hard to find...anywhere. The answer? Bring your own Mr. Coffee and use the refrigerator for leftovers.

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony cost more but it is great in the summer to hang out your wet towels from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bearlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We asked for a quiet room and we were given a huge room overlooking the pool and golf course. It was spotlessly clean and extremely quiet and very comfortable. We had a small kitchen area - very convenient as we were on a road trip.
The staff were really friendly. We stayed three nights and would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would certainly return if we are ever in the area again.

Room Tip: The rooms are themed...we had 'Big Bend' - lovely room on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We recently decided at the last minute to head to the beach for two days, so accommodation was limited. Booked at Heritage Inn.

It was fine... we spent almost no time there, so it did serve its purpose to us. However, I'm not sure that I would recommend it.

The bad:
1. The location simply isn't that great. Sure, it is central to the different Delaware beach areas, but it isn't all that close to any of them. It is right on the highway in the middle of all the outlets. You need to spend a good 10 minutes to get to slightly more "fun" areas"

2. The smell. The room smelled like an odd combination of cleaning agents and old food. I have stayed in some pretty stinky hotels in the past, but Heritage Inn is also 10x more expensive than any of them.

3. The sounds. The walls must be paper thin. I was kept up by what sounded like large children sprinting up and down the floor above me. However, I was on the top floor. Not sure how that happens. I also kept hearing other rooms' plumbing.

4. Breakfast was super basic. We walked down in the morning, took one look, and hopped in the car to go find something else. If you are fine with cereal and bagels, have a feast. Otherwise, plan on going out for breakfast.

5. The bed. Not comfortable. It is perfectly sleepable, but they really need to place an order for mattresses if they want to compete with some of the other chain hotels.

The good:
1. It seemed to be clean enough.

2. It was a friendly environment.

3. Rooms are very spacious.

If you get a good deal and just need a place to crash, this may be a good option. Otherwise, I would say to shop around.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms may be nicer than those that look out over the parking lot and highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#11 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
333 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#2 of 7 in Lewes
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
1.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#18 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
383 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn

Property: Heritage Inn
Address: 34521 Postal Lane, Lewes, DE 19958
Location: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Heritage Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Inn And Golf Club Hotel Lewes
Heritage Hotel Lewes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing