We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beacon Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beacon Motel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2007

We rent a cottage in Lewes every June, but we usually can't resist visiting at least a few other times during the year.

During those 'mini-vacations' we used to stay at the Blue Water House - but they changed ownership a few years ago and it's a lot less fun there now (still a gorgeous place though, probably good if you don't have kids). The Beacon, teeny little motel that it is, has become our lodging of choice for quick trips.

You do have to know that you're getting a motel. No room service, no restaurant, no bellman, not much in the way of amenities. BUT you do get a clean room in a great location at a CHEAP rate, with a small but clean rooftop pool that my kids love to dive in after a long sticky day at the beach. You can walk to town or the public bay beach. You can drive or ride a bike to Cape Henlopen if you want the ocean. In fact, a great bike rental shop is right next to the Beacon.

When in town, there is no better restaurat than Striper Bites. We live 2 hours away and we FREQUENTLY drive to Lewes for the day to eat lunch at Striper Bites (Rockfish Club = Best Sandwich Ever!), browse the Kids Ketch (Best Toy Store Ever), have a cone at Kings Ice Cream (Best...well, you get it), and walk on the beach. Bliss.

If you're looking for luxury, I recommend the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel in Rehoboth. But if you're looking for a cheap clean well-located place to spend a few nights in a quaint and wonderful town - The Beacon is it.

  • Liked — Location, price
  • Disliked — No amenities
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brookemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    53
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
51
26
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wilmington, de
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2006

This was absolutely a wonderful surprise! I usually shy away from "motels", but this was was very, very nice. It is a family run motel/hotel with a lovley pool and only a couple of blocks from the beach. I would recommend this most for families. Our room was clean, the beds were comfortable enough and my son had the best time ever! we hope to stay there again as soon as possible.

  • Liked — location and value
  • Disliked — the big spot on the carpet
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ms-jwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2005

We have stayed at the Beacon Motel for the last 5 years, I do not like to stay anywhere else. Very close to great place to eat and town. Just a very nice cozy place to stay. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2005

Walking distance to beach and town, clean, most of the usual amenities available and in working order (well, the A/c seemed to be on the fritz when we were there but they were working on it. The hallways were hot but the room units worked)

Staff was exceptionally friendly and kind.
Plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whomoi?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2003

I "discovered" the Beacon several years ago and have been a frequent visitor since that time. The location was one of the selling points, and the people associated with the hotel are friendly and helpful. The rooms are always clean and the motel is within walking distance of downtown Lewes. Lewes's public beach is also a short distance away.My only complaint? That the Beacon is closed in the winter months.

Helpful?
9 Thank All_Things_English
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shiloh, nj
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2003

Our stay was fine. The motel is a short walk from downtown Lewes. The accommodations were as one would expect, but the price was exceptional for the Lewes area. The staff was also accommodating. We have stayed at many of the places in Lewes (including the Inn at Canal Square overpriced) and plan to stay at the Beacon for now on.

Helpful?
19 Thank cben2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#1 of 7 in Lewes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
4.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
2.8 mi away
Heritage Inn and Golf Club
5.2 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Motel

Property: Beacon Motel
Address: 514 E Savannah Rd, Lewes, DE 19958-1161
Location: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Number of rooms: 66
Also Known As:
Beacon Motel Lewes
Beacon Hotel Lewes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing