We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back to the 70s but in a good way”
Review of Beacon Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beacon Motel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at the Beacon Motel for one night b/c we needed a place for only one night and that can be difficult in Lewes in the high season. The Beacon impressed us as a throw back to the good old days. It is not a chain. It is very clean and individual and the staff are helpful. We would definitely stay there again based on location, cleanliness, helpful staff. No real negatives from us. There is no elevator so you need to be able to walk up the stair with your bags to the 2d floor or even the 3d floor. We liked the fact that this was not a chain. We checked out on Sunday and were going to the beach. The staff on checkout inquired about our plans and volunteered that we were welcome to come back and shower at the motel before we headed back home. I think that expressed the service and hospitality of the place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank paulasween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 108 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had two double rooms for three nights starting 7/10/13. Clean, comfortable with a great location. Close to everything including beach and dining options. Staff is friendly and helpful even allowing my three grandkids to ride bicycles in the lobby during the rain. Pool clean and plenty of chairs and tables with umbrellas. Will return.

Room Tip: Rooms are on the second and third floor with either pool or marsh view, no elevator. Beach Deli on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JimfBearDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Beacon is a reasonably priced motel, no frills, comfortable beds, clean, very accomodating and friendly lobby staff. It is one of only four hotel or motel choices in downtown Lewes and just a short walk across the canal to the major area for dining and shopping. We did not use the pool but it looked clean and inviting. There is no elevator so you do have to pull your luggage up one or two flights on arrival. There is ample and free onsight parking.

I may be perceived as persnickity on this one observation but my only issue was a slightly not clean smell in the hallways.

All in all this was well worth the money spent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen-G-H-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We went to this hotel having found it recommended in the Lonely Planet. Great location and really friendly staff- like a home from home. The pool is great and there are some lovely restaurants just in walking distance and you are just minutes from the beach too. Comfortable room with a balcony too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BethDuffell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a positive experience, but we were only there to sleep. Staff were very friendly, hotel is dated but clean, rooms aren't cheap on the weekends for what you get, but they don't require 3 day stay. Would stay again (during the week), location is awesome!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Very noisey even with the heater running. Apparently the night management is Ok with people getting drunk out by the pool, which I am sure is fun for them but when you try to sleep at 2am it is a little difficult even with the AC running at full. And when you ask for a partial refund because you didn't get any sleep, they can't even get that right.

The rooms are par, but not worth what you pay.

Room Tip: Pick another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JimNotAHappyCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here on a wedding weekend. Funky, colourful hotel, no elevator, kids' tricycles and toys and huge blackboard in large lobby. Staff were very accommodating, friendly and helpful. our room had many towels (4) ,2 double beds, small table, fridge, balcony. Good breakfast place next door that is open from 6 am seven days a week. it is a general store, deli, that sells beach toys, NY Times and Washington Post, and serves fresh food on paper plates. good location as a short walk to main Lewes downtown.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
2.8 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#7 of 7 in Lewes
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#2 of 7 in Lewes
495 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn at Canal Square
Inn at Canal Square
#1 of 7 in Lewes
196 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#11 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
346 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Motel

Address: 514 E Savannah Rd, Lewes, DE 19958-1161
Location: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Number of rooms: 66
Also Known As:
Beacon Motel Lewes
Beacon Hotel Lewes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing