We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“February 2013”
Review of Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Blue
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

What a great find in Lewes, DE. My wife and I were traveling from NH to VA and had just gotten off the Cape May Ferry. We decided to stay overnight in Lewes and discovered this wonderful Hotel. The room was the best hotel room we have ever stayed in. The shops and restaurants are a short 5 minute walk away. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Any room is a great room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Blue
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 488 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

A last minute booking for a wonderful couples retreat. Bringing in the New Year overlooking the quaint town of Lewes, sipping the hotel surprise gift bottle of bubbly, and enjoying the dropping of the illuminated anchor from the town's prize lightship, the Overfall, was an absolute delight. The Hotel staff is very welcoming and friendly. Once you cross the Hotel Blue threshold you get this great feeling about the place from its in-room cozy fireplace to its colorful, warm decor and comfortable bed. This is our third stay at this hotel and we highly recommend it to anyone who wants to get away from the rat race and enjoy some time together.

Room Tip: The front rooms provide you a view of the town. The rear rooms overlook trees and open space.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C9ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a quaint little hotel perfectly situated within walking distance of shops and the beach. The staff was nice and the room well aportioned and very clean. All rooms have queen size beds but they are VERY hard. I tossed and turned all night because I felt like I was sleeping on a board. I contemplated moving to the couch but there weren't extra blankets. Moving would have meant truly stealing the covers from my partner. I personally won't stay here again but it had nothing to do with the hotel, staff or location. I just need a bed that's less brick and more feather.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trippllb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Hotel Blue does not disappoint--and this was our 5th annual (birthday) visit. The warm welcome, instant presentation of room keys, the glowing fire in the lobby fireplace and the always available fresh fruit/fresh HOT coffee set a relaxed vibe. Rooms are an absolute OASIS: large and clean, ours with a gas fireplace, comfortable seating area with a calming view/balcony, cozy sleeping alcove, and spa-like bathroom. A short walk (literally 5 minutes) across the channel to downtown Historic Lewes offers wonderful dining and shopping options. Or, take a 10 minute walk to the beach. Thanks HB for creating an inviting, comfortable and private hide-away! See you next year!

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking canal are quieter. In-room microwave/fridge.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8myshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My son was married in Lewes last month. We chose Hotel Blue for accommodations for my family and friends for the weekend, and we were not disappointed! The hotel is lovely, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and the owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. The decor is colorful and funky with an art deco feel. The lobby and guest rooms were spotless. The hotel is located across the canal (short walk) from the charming little town of Lewes, which has great restaurants and shops. We had warm, sunny weather for the weekend, but with the cozy feel and fireplaces in every room, this could also be a great spot for a winter getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We got married in DC and decided we wanted a close by escape for a few days after our wedding. This place was perfect! The owners and staff were friendly. They upgraded our room for free for a night. There was fresh fruit in the lobby. Our room was lovely with a beautiful view of the sunset (it was on the third floor, one of the corner rooms). It is close to the small downtown area and delicious restaurants. We look forward to returning on our anniversary. The only reason I give it four stars is because of how expensive it is. Seems like it is pretty standard in that area for August, but it is still super expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This funky hotel was very clean, with fun furnishings and luxury amenities, and large comfortable suite rooms on the canal in Lewes.
THe location is perfect for walking into the cute town, seeing (and hearing) fishing boats and walking to the beach.
We were not aware that it was not staffed at the front desk 24/7..however they were very gracious, and left our room key in the lockbox out front. This was not the least bit of a problem, but it is critical to inform them if you are coming after 10 pm at night. THis was during October...I don't know what their hours are at different times of the year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank switfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.1 mi away
Inn at Canal Square
Inn at Canal Square
#1 of 7 in Lewes
191 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
2.8 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#7 of 7 in Lewes
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
660 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Address: 110 Anglers Rd, Lewes, DE 19958-1105
Location: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range: $143 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a private and luxurious atmosphere in the historic first town of Lewes, Delaware. Enjoy a relaxed stay in this modern hotel that is less than a half mile walk from the beach. Escape the heavy traffic of Rehoboth, Dewey, and Bethany beaches at this upscale canal front hotel. The rooftop pool with a beautiful panoramic view of Lewes Beach is characteristic to this boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing