We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely hotel if you don't mind a hard bed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Blue
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel if you don't mind a hard bed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a quaint little hotel perfectly situated within walking distance of shops and the beach. The staff was nice and the room well aportioned and very clean. All rooms have queen size beds but they are VERY hard. I tossed and turned all night because I felt like I was sleeping on a board. I contemplated moving to the couch but there weren't extra blankets. Moving would have meant truly stealing the covers from my partner. I personally won't stay here again but it had nothing to do with the hotel, staff or location. I just need a bed that's less brick and more feather.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trippllb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    98
    25
    8
    10
See reviews for
23
349
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Hotel Blue does not disappoint--and this was our 5th annual (birthday) visit. The warm welcome, instant presentation of room keys, the glowing fire in the lobby fireplace and the always available fresh fruit/fresh HOT coffee set a relaxed vibe. Rooms are an absolute OASIS: large and clean, ours with a gas fireplace, comfortable seating area with a calming view/balcony, cozy sleeping alcove, and spa-like bathroom. A short walk (literally 5 minutes) across the channel to downtown Historic Lewes offers wonderful dining and shopping options. Or, take a 10 minute walk to the beach. Thanks HB for creating an inviting, comfortable and private hide-away! See you next year!

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking canal are quieter. In-room microwave/fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8myshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My son was married in Lewes last month. We chose Hotel Blue for accommodations for my family and friends for the weekend, and we were not disappointed! The hotel is lovely, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and the owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. The decor is colorful and funky with an art deco feel. The lobby and guest rooms were spotless. The hotel is located across the canal (short walk) from the charming little town of Lewes, which has great restaurants and shops. We had warm, sunny weather for the weekend, but with the cozy feel and fireplaces in every room, this could also be a great spot for a winter getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cgmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We got married in DC and decided we wanted a close by escape for a few days after our wedding. This place was perfect! The owners and staff were friendly. They upgraded our room for free for a night. There was fresh fruit in the lobby. Our room was lovely with a beautiful view of the sunset (it was on the third floor, one of the corner rooms). It is close to the small downtown area and delicious restaurants. We look forward to returning on our anniversary. The only reason I give it four stars is because of how expensive it is. Seems like it is pretty standard in that area for August, but it is still super expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This funky hotel was very clean, with fun furnishings and luxury amenities, and large comfortable suite rooms on the canal in Lewes.
THe location is perfect for walking into the cute town, seeing (and hearing) fishing boats and walking to the beach.
We were not aware that it was not staffed at the front desk 24/7..however they were very gracious, and left our room key in the lockbox out front. This was not the least bit of a problem, but it is critical to inform them if you are coming after 10 pm at night. THis was during October...I don't know what their hours are at different times of the year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank switfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Blue. Our suite (tower suite) was large, nicely decorated, very comfortable and had a perfect view of the canal. The staff was helpful, professional and friendly. The hotel is on the other side of the canal from the main shopping and dining area so is also very quiet. It is a very short walk across the canal bridge to that area.

Room Tip: There are rooms with and without views of the canal. We preferred one with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen-G-H-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north potomac
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Perfect for a getaway. Great accommodations...rooms very attractive, comfortable...fireplace!!..balcony overlooking the canal...walking distance to restaurants and shopping. We will definitely stay at Hotel Blue when we return to Lewes. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We called last minute and got one of the smaller rooms and even that was spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkomd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#7 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
5.2 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,333 reviews
2.9 mi away
Heritage Inn and Golf Club
4.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#16 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Property: Hotel Blue
Address: 110 Anglers Rd, Lewes, DE 19958-1105
Location: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a private and luxurious atmosphere in the historic first town of Lewes, Delaware. Enjoy a relaxed stay in this modern hotel that is less than a half mile walk from the beach. Escape the heavy traffic of Rehoboth, Dewey, and Bethany beaches at this upscale canal front hotel. The rooftop pool with a beautiful panoramic view of Lewes Beach is characteristic to this boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing