We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
WILMINGTON
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient but pricey”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We booked a suite for our family for a weekend night during peak season, so we knew the rates were going to be higher than usual---but it was still very pricey for a chain hotel. Its in a convenient location - on the main strip - near to all of the outlets and restaurants in Rehoboth and to Cape Henlopen State Park. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and spacious enough with a King bed and sitting area with a pull out sofa bed. Nice for a family. We opted to eat breakfast elsewhere, but saw that the room with the breakfast buffet was quite busy and very small. People had to wait for a seat. The only real downside of our stay was the smell. Whatever cleaning agent they used permeated the entire hotel. This was a Saturday night, so I don't know if they had just "cleaned" for the weekend or if it always smells this way. While bearable, it was not very pleasant. Could have just been a one-time thing - but it was prevalent enough write about it.

Room Tip: Room described as King Suite with pull out sofa bed actually had a sitting area too. Nice for a fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience. We apologize for any smell you experienced during your stay. We have addressed your concerns and there is no longer a smell. Our housekeeping staff had just completed a mopping session in the lobby and that is what you smelled. We strive for high levels of cleanliness in the hotel. We are happy to see that you found the hotel to be conveniently located in the heart of the Delaware beaches as well as feature spacious rooms. We hope that you will allow us to accommodate your lodging needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    93
    52
    24
    18
See reviews for
119
90
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
304 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The place smelled like wet dogs on all the floors as you get off the elevator.
Rooms are small even the suite we had.
Staff was nice to deal with when we needed help.
Heated Pool was dirty. (bugs)
Breakfast was nice and filling.
Just about as close as you need to be for shopping.

The thing that was a total mess for us was when we checked in to our room. It was infested with fleas in the room and in the carpet. There were so many that they were jumping all over. We got out as quickly as we could and ran as fast as we could. This is because of the dogs that are allowed in the hotel and the dog owners who dont take care of there dogs. The hotel acted quickly but the damage was done. We were given another suite but.... you start thinking what else is next.

We tried to get another hotel but on a holiday weekend it seemed that everything was booked.

I hate to write a bad review but people need to know the truth good or bad.

Jerry Ehrlich from the great City of Philadelphia

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. We are a pet friendly hotel, however, we strive for high levels of cleanliness in the hotel. We have taken your concerns and made sure that no odor is in the hotel. We have a dedicated staff member who services the pool on a daily basis and we apologize that you found bugs in the pool. We have also addressed this. We again apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused you and we are happy that we were able to move your room. We have addressed the room situation and promise this will not happen again. If and when you visit the area, we hope that you will give us another chance at providing lodging to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place was ok and located conveniently. Staff was extrememy nice. Hotel is dated, room was basically fine, tiny bathroom. Clean, just dated building. It worked for us as we were passing through. Wouldn't stay for more than a night or two as I would not consider it a vacation hotel. Thought it a little pricey for what it was. They did provide full hot breakfast buffet!!!

Room Tip: Ask them to a/c on before you get there! little damp smelling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for feedback. We are happy to hear that you found the Sleep Inn, Inn & Suites conveniently located in the heart of the Delaware beach Attractions. During holiday weekends customers may find that the rates are a bit highers than usual and we apologize for any inconvenience it may caused you. We are pleased that you enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast included in your rate, however. In the fall season, we do offer special rates and deals for guest to enjoy. If you can check out our website rehobothsleepinn.com for packages and deals. We hope that you will again choose the Sleep Inn when visiting the area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel was the only one available to book for our two night vacation with kids and grand kids.
What we liked: friendly and helpful staff, good pool area for small kids, near to Rehoboth and Lewes beaches and many shopping and dining options, family and pet friendly, clean facilities all around.
What we found disappointing : we reserved a suite, which turned out to be a regular room with double beds and one small sofa.We had to rent another room to accommodate all of us. This brought the cost to be $350 a night in a 2-3 star type of a hotel. The breakfast room was very small, was easily overrun with the morning rush so many people had to wait for tables or just find another way to eat. The breakfast menu was ok, not as good as at some choice hotel chain sites.
This can be an acceptable alternative if a couple travels with dogs or one or two children and does not want to pay the outrageous rates at Rehoboth. Otherwise, I would not recommend it.

Room Tip: The so called suite is just a small room with a sofa, definitely do not expect what is typically def...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank utka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I sincerely apologize for the confusion surrounding your room accommodations. Our hotel feature suites with king or double beds and a pull our sofa bed. In this case I believe this is what you were reserved. I apologize that you were expecting something different. We do have a two room suite which features a separate living space, however only a 1 king bed which in your case would not be sufficient. We are conveniently located in the heart of a variety of attractions and we are happy you found this to be true. In regards to our free hot breakfast, during the morning we can experience high volumes of guests dining at times and we apologize for that. We do appreciate your patronage and I am confident that your next stay at our hotel will be a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is clean and close to the beach. The staff is friendly and helpful. The pool area is small. The only complaint I have is the pillows are like rocks. If you are planning a short stay or want to be near the outlets and boardwalk but don't want to spend a lot of money then this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiebk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sleep Inn, Inn & Suites. We do pride ourselves on cleanliness. We apologize that you found our outdoor heated pool to be small, but we do feature both an adult pool and kiddie splash pool with activities to cater to all types of ages. We are happy to hear that you found out hotel location to be convenient with Tanger Outlets and several restaurants and amusements just a short distance away. We hope that you will allow us to accommodate your lodging needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

With what I would deem as an exorbitant rate, came an unimpressive stay. We checked in on 8/2/13 with a reservation for a King bed with a sofa in the room. What we got was “sorry, we are over booked, so we will upgrade you.” Our upgrade came complete with a Jacuzzi smack in the middle of the room. A Jacuzzi that would require quite the nimble guest!

Although we appreciated an “upgraded” status, it would have been nice to have a room that didn’t smell of chlorine and smoke. Our room was categorized as a “non-smoking” room, but the drapes, walls and carpet sure did speak otherwise!

We went to the front desk to ask for another room. The young man behind the desk..”R,” told us that since they were over booked, there were no other options. A baseball tournament was in town, and the hotel was filled with children who ran the halls till 10:15 every night during our stay. We repeated our request to change rooms and again we were told there was absolutely nothing available. As we turned away from the desk, a woman with 2 boys came to desk to check in, and she was given a King room with a sofa.

We returned to the lobby about 1 hour later and sat in the chairs for only a few minutes as we decided where to dine for the evening. A young man walked through the entry doors, over to the desk and asked for availability of rooms and rates. The very same desk person “R,” told him that they have rooms for $285 a night that were King beds. Guess they weren’t overbooked!

We asked “R” if there was a “Chili’s” or a similar type restaurant nearby. He said no. He said only small type eateries were in the vicinity. As we drove down the street, there was TGIF, Applebee’s, Ruby Tuesday, etc.

Our “upgraded” room came adorned with an ionizer and a TV that had been popular in the 90’s. See photos attached.

The included breakfast was minimal. The area where it was offered was kept clean and orderly. The attendant in charge of the breakfast worked diligently every morning making sure the items were plentiful and presented well.

The room attendants were very friendly and always had smiles on their faces. The pool area is great for kids!

This is a dog friendly hotel and that's the reason we reserved a room. Dog owners...just a side note, there is no place immediately close by to take your pet for a walk that is peaceful. Be prepared to look for something that will require a quick car ride. We found a single family neighborhood minutes away that was perfect.

Shopping nearby is great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realtoronthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to bring matters to our attention. We value your patronage and certainly want to know if you were dissatisfied in any way. We apologize that during your stay we had large groups staying with us. We do fill up during times when there is a local baseball tournament and in this case we upgraded you to offset any inconvenience it may have caused you. We do have ample grass located around the parameter of the hotel for your pet, but parks are a short driving distance away being that we are located on the main highway One. We have addressed your concerns about the smoke smell in the room and we have made corrections to this problem immediately. We again apologize for your dissatisfaction and hope that you will allow us to make it up to you in the future if you may ever need accommodations in the area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Wanted a two night stay in Rehoboth area. Prices were outrageous in town Rehoboth. Found Sleep Inn to be really reasonable and near all the restaurants and shopping on Rte 1. Easy drive to Rehoboth. Staff was awesome, rooms were really nice and breakfast is adequate. Pool area is nice for all ages including tots with 6 inch deep area. Would stay here again no question. If you want to pay big bucks to be in town do it. We chose to spend less on hotel and more on restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing with us your positive experience while staying at the Sleep Inn, Inn & Suites. We do strive to offer competitive hotel rates in the area. Although we are not located near the boardwalk, we offer a variety of other features to our guests such as a convenient proximity to all of the Tanger Outlets, Midway Amusements and Movie Theater, a variety of restaurants and shops. Our location is unique in that we are only 3 miles from Lewes Beach and Cape May-Lewes Ferry and Rehoboth Beach! We pride ourselves in being situated in the middle of all of the Delaware Beach Attractions! We hope that in the future when visiting Delaware Seashore, you will allow us to accomodate your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#1 of 7 in Lewes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inn at Canal Square
Inn at Canal Square
#2 of 7 in Lewes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach
Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Bea...
#15 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
Address: 18451 Coastal Hwy, Lewes, DE 19958-4930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn & Suites® Rehoboth Beach Area is centrally located in the heart of a variety of Delaware beach attractions, including historic downtown Lewes, Rehoboth Beach, Dewey Beach and Bethany Beach. Several restaurants, amusements, and retail shops are located within walking distance.Best of all, the Sleep Inn is just 1 mile from 140 tax-free shops in the Tanger Outlets. Hotel features and amenities include:Free Morning Medley Hot Breakfast and free coffee, Free local calls, Free high-speed Internet access, WIFI Lobby with Workstations, Family Home Theater where you can rent movies, Basketball, Outdoor heated pool and splash pool with water activities! Offering a variety of room types to suite our guests needs such as standard king, double, suites with sofa bed, two room king suites and sweetheart suites with jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area Hotel Lewes
Sleep Inn Lewes
Lewes Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing